Softwares that don't remember your bet size (I'm looking at you NetEnt)

Balthazar

The Governor
Joined
Aug 14, 2012
Location
Woodbury
I like NetEnt but it sucks that you have adjust your bet size every time that you go back to a slot. Yesterday I goofed up and hit the "max bet" button that's sitting right next to "coin size" on Starburst. Result: €20 spin on a €23 balance :rolleyes:

I got lucky, hit a star and got €96 back from that spin so I wasn't too upset but it's still "dangerous".

Please NetEnt, it shouldn't be that hard to fix since each individual slot remembers some of the other settings (like graphics quality).
 

ChopleyIOM

Hearthstone Addict
webby
Joined
Mar 25, 2012
Location
IOM
There was a thread a while ago where someone (think it may have been jasminebed) accidentally spent their entire deposit on a single maxed spin on a NetEnt slot.

It's one of the surprising rough edges on NetEnt software, like the 'CONGRATULATIONS YOU WON 0 COINS' message that appears after a zero-paying bonus round - I mean, really, no one picked that up in QA?
 

Tirilej

Still a Lady
CAG
MM
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Location
Sweden
There was a thread a while ago where someone (think it may have been jasminebed) accidentally spent their entire deposit on a single maxed spin on a NetEnt slot.

It was a Swedish girl, if you're thinking about the same as I do. That ended with her closing all of her accounts at Netent casinos and she left this building too.
I will never understand why they don't change it either. It's lazy and bad for their customers not to.

I lost my whole bankroll once on 32Red when I was tired. Pushing the wrong button on my keyboard. 25 spins later I had no idea what had happened :rolleyes:
 

Balthazar

The Governor
Joined
Aug 14, 2012
Location
Woodbury
It happened to me once, ended up making a £250 spin with a £0 win! Had only deposited £500. That was one fast play session, lol :eek:

£250?? That's unacceptable and would be enough to make me not want to play on this software ever again. IMO the "default" bet size for any slot should be under $1 and after that, it should remember your bet size from the previous session.
 

RikkiGT-R

Non-Gambler
Joined
Jan 19, 2013
Location
Northern Ireland
£250?? That's unacceptable and would be enough to make me not want to play on this software ever again. IMO the "default" bet size for any slot should be under $1 and after that, it should remember your bet size from the previous session.

This, in a nutshell. Pretty sure all MG slots (at least I'm certain in the downloaded casinos) even remember exactly which lines you were playing last as well, on top of your bet.
Simple enough really.
 

petr1

Banned User
Joined
Aug 24, 2011
Location
Finland
This, in a nutshell. Pretty sure all MG slots (at least I'm certain in the downloaded casinos) even remember exactly which lines you were playing last as well, on top of your bet.
Simple enough really.

Microgaming is bad too. Pressing space on your keyboard is same as pressing Max Bet. CS claimed that this is written in the game rules, after asking where exactly, he decided to refund me the bet (25€).

I've lost approx. 20-30 euros on NetEnt by accidentally clicking the Max bet -button.
 

Gremmyboy

Dormant account
Joined
Feb 25, 2011
Location
Australia
I got stung by this at Nordicbet(Netent) too! The casino lost connection for a second or two, I logged back on, opened the slot I had used last(think it was Starburst?), went to adjust the coin size down because it had defaulted to 50c a line, hit max bet by accident and BAM..... $50 gone in one spin with no win! Only deposited $20 or $30 and had my balance up to just over $50 so was left with only a few dollars! I was really pissed off!
I contacted Ben and he refunded it for me as he could tell it wasn't my usual bet of less than $2. He made it quite clear that it was a one time gesture of good will and wouldn't happen again in future and told me to be more careful! (God he was an amazing rep! :thumbsup: It really sucks he's not a rep anymore! I don't play Nordicbet at all now since he left!).

At Microgaming I have lost large bets so many times by pressing the spacebar! Got so bad at one point(I get quite easily distracted when tired and when playing slots online, etc...) that I used to move the keyboard out of reach so I couldn't make bets by mistake!
At least on Microgaming it only maxed your bet to the coin value you were on at the time(usually 1 or 2 cents for me) so the damage wasn't as bad as at a Netent casino!

I truly believe that neither softwares bothers fixing the problem because it makes them money when players make ludicrous $50 ~ $250 bets!
What incentive is there for them to sit down and recode the software when they have nothing to lose(other than a bunch of pissed off players that never return to the software again at ANY casino!! :p)?
If it was losing them money(presuming that they are too stupid to realise that lost players equals lost revenue!) They'd be straight onto the problem in a heartbeat!
An hour or two of coding to fix a problem that costs players money and leaves them unhappy and dissatisfied with the entire software is apparently not worthy of effort or attention of any form at all?


Cheers
Gremmy
 

weplant

Dormant Account
Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Location
napa, ca
Bovada does the same thing..The coin size always changes to max if you leave that slot and come back..
 

akrus88

Dormant account
Joined
Aug 6, 2012
Location
Finland
I think playtech casinos are the worst. As the default bet size is ridiculous, hundred of euros.
My father actually had a bankroll of 350€. He hit the autoplay button and was wondering why his balance is going down to 100€ and up to 500€ and down to 200€. Then he realised he was betting 125€/spin on autoplay :D.
 

spoton

Dormant Account
webmeister
Joined
Dec 28, 2011
Location
Right behind you
Netent sure has some work to do. They are good at making new fun slots/games but shouldn't be allowed to forget to maintain their old one. One thing i pointed out to a Netent casino was their poor translation of the phrase where you get 5 extra freespins if you hit all the wilds on Dead or alive, which in the Norwegian translation could be interpret as if you "hit one or more wilds you'll get 5 extra rounds". But after 3 weeks, nothing happened.

And that the slots dont remember your bet size is pretty much terrifying, and should be fixed ASAP. However im sure they are aware of it, and that alot of their customer have done erronous big-bets cause of it.
 

KasinoKing

WebMeister & Slotaholic..
webmeister
PABnonaccred
CAG
MM
Joined
Aug 25, 2004
Location
Bexhill on sea, England
min coin max lines should always be the starting point, covers everyone from over or under betting
Absolutely agree :thumbsup:
Also, I agree that ALL softwares should remember your last bet level (like MG do) AND they should have a warning the first time you hit max bet "are you sure...?", also like MG do on their 1 reel re-spin slots.

KK
 

Jasminebed

Game old gal
Joined
Mar 13, 2008
Location
Ontario
One of the really big dangers is if you are playing with a bonus, an accidental max bet can void your play and winnings.

There has been a few times I've gotten a "save" with you don't have enough coins for this bet.
 

Richas

Dormant account
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Location
UK
As I mentioned before I play poker and blackjack not slots so this thread was a bit of an eye opener to me.

I have a suggestion for you. The UKGC are soon going to be licencing any site that offers remote gambling to the UK. This is such a big market that most will be seeking and getting a UK licence. Indeed the whitelisted or EU sites will get a transitional UKGC licence whilst the rules are sorted out.

This will mean that the UKGC will be having a consultation on remote gambling. they don't really have a choice, they will have to. One of the advantages of the UK system over say Gibraltar is that the software suppliers have to have their own UKGC licence and their software has to meet the UK technical standards.

This issue is clearly quite a nasty failure for consumers. This and any other software failings could be brought to the attention of the UKGC and they could include restrictions on max bet options within their technical standards to avoid it happening by accident.

The UKGC don't currently really regulate any remote gambling. In a few months they will be regulating pretty much all of it. If someone set about putting together a list of issues along with a wishlist of things that the UKGC technical standards could improve for slots (this and clear rtp figures spring to mind) then the consultation that is definitely coming is the oppiortunity to tell them what you as slot users want.

I could help a little but I will be working on a poker submission primarily. Anybody think working on input for the UKGC on slots is worth starting?
 

Balthazar

The Governor
Joined
Aug 14, 2012
Location
Woodbury
slots dont remember your bet size is pretty much terrifying, and should be fixed ASAP.

Redbet-Andy said before that Netent were reading forums. Hopefully they will see this thread (or maybe Andy or another rep will let them know).
 
Top