Feedback Attachment limit?

chayton

aka LooHoo
webmeister
PABnonaccred
CAG
Joined
Jun 5, 2006
Location
Edmonton Canada
I was just trying to do a post and upload a graphic and it wouldn't upload - I tried with a couple other graphics (in case it was a problem with that one) and got the same thing, it looks like it's uploading and then gives me a little circle with an exclamation mark. The graphic is quite small but maybe I've reached my limit? Is there a limit?
 

dunover

Unofficial T&C's Editor
Staff member
webmeister
PABnonaccred
PABnononaccred
CAG
mm3
Joined
May 22, 2012
Location
the bus shelter, opposite GCHQ Benhall
yes, read the last post in my birthday thread and you'll see I've already had this issue too. 'undefined error' if you hover the red exclamation. I thought that too and deleted a couple of old photos but it made no difference.
 

Casinomeister

Forum Cheermeister
Staff member
Joined
Jun 30, 1998
Location
Bierland
The backend (via Linux) has disabled the uploading of attachments. Webzcas is looking into this at the mo'.

A temporary fix is to upload an image somewhere else and "insert" it from that URL.
 

vinylweatherman

You type well loads
Joined
Oct 14, 2004
Location
United Kingdom
The backend (via Linux) has disabled the uploading of attachments. Webzcas is looking into this at the mo'.

A temporary fix is to upload an image somewhere else and "insert" it from that URL.

I find that members who do this often have images that don't display (broken image symbol). An additional problem is that if the remote hosting service makes any changes, you get a permanent bad link in the forum. I therefore always upload images directly to the forum, rather than link from elsewhere.

There are many posts in the archives that have missing images due to this issue, and in some cases the image is an important part of the post as a whole.

However, importance of a post is relative, what one sees as an important post ruined by a lost image, another will see as not a great loss.

The problem with deleting our own images to make space is that we are creating our own broken posts somewhere in the forum. Even if we wanted to, we can't "fix" the posts that would get broken by the deletion of images.
 

Casinomeister

Forum Cheermeister
Staff member
Joined
Jun 30, 1998
Location
Bierland
Webzcas is still on Xmas break and hopefully can get to this as soon as he gets back.
 

Webzcas

Winter is Coming!
Staff member
Joined
Mar 31, 2005
Location
Block S25, South Stand, Ashton Gate, BS3
Ok this is now working. I do sincerely apologise about this. I had disabled php file uploads on the server, not realising that the forum here needs it enabled. :rolleyes:

Sorry it hasn't taken me so long to get around to resolving this issue!
 

Mousey

Ueber Meister Mouse
Joined
Sep 12, 2004
Location
Up$hitCreek
Ok this is now working. I do sincerely apologise about this. I had disabled php file uploads on the server, not realising that the forum here needs it enabled. :rolleyes:

Sorry it hasn't taken me so long to get around to resolving this issue!

Thanks for the repairs!! My holiday avatar/costume was beginning to get a bit ripe.... LOL
 

Googobucs

Dormant Account
Joined
Sep 18, 2013
Location
Florida, USA
Cant select image in PM

I noticed that when trying to attach an image in a PM, I do not get the option upload from computer. Only point to a URL. Not sure if it has always been this way or if this is something new. it works fine here as you can see.

Capture.JPG
 

Tirilej

Still a Lady
CAG
MM
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Location
Sweden
I noticed that when trying to attach an image in a PM, I do not get the option upload from computer. Only point to a URL. Not sure if it has always been this way or if this is something new. it works fine here as you can see.

I have always wanted that option in pm.

Please Bryan :)
 
Top