1. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies .This website or its third-party tools use cookies, which are necessary to its functioning and required to achieve the purposes illustrated in the cookie policy.Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Follow Casinomeister on Twitter | Facebook | YouTube | Casinomeister.us US Residents Click here! |  Svenska Svenska | 
Dismiss Notice
REGISTER NOW!! Why? Because you can't do diddly squat without having been registered!

At the moment you have limited access to view most discussions: you can't make contact with thousands of fellow players, affiliates, casino reps, and all sorts of other riff-raff.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join Casinomeister here!

flash player install on Microgaming startups

Discussion in 'Online Casinos' started by bernynhel, Sep 18, 2007.

    Sep 18, 2007
  1. bernynhel

    bernynhel Dormant account PABnononaccred PABnoaccred

    Occupation:
    Loafer
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Every time I open a Microgaming casino, I get the please install flash player message and my browser opens, etc.
    What setting am I needing to address to end this once and for all? I go months with no problem so I must be doing something I'm not aware of. Thanks!
     
  2. Sep 18, 2007
  3. LeJoueur

    LeJoueur Dormant account

    Occupation:
    Star gazer.
    Location:
    UK
    Have you tried completely uninstalling your flash player and reinstalling it?

    That should do it.
     
  4. Sep 18, 2007
  5. bernynhel

    bernynhel Dormant account PABnononaccred PABnoaccred

    Occupation:
    Loafer
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    "Uh, heh heh." - Butthead

    Every time I have probs w/casino software I automatically uninstall the casino, remove the software, wash any traces left that come up in search with Windw Washer w/ bleach and re-download and reinstall. You'd a thought I wudda done the same with Adobe Flash, right? So I did all that (thanks LeJoueur!) but, uh, no that wasn't it.

    Next!
     
  6. Sep 19, 2007
  7. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    NEXT! Please come in & take a seat.

    The usual uninstall of the FLASH player does not remove everything. There is a utility available to get rid of ALL traces of the Flash player, and another to reinstall from scratch from the desktop rather than through the browser.
    Internet Explorer tends to block the installation of FLASH directly, IE7 will show a bar above the page telling you than an "ActiveX control has been blocked" This is the attempt to install the Flash player. You can click on the bar and accept the ActiveX control and the Flash player should install. Once installed, you should see a short Flash movie telling you "installation successful". One problem is that when installation fails there is no error message as such, so it is easy to think installation has been successful when it has actually failed.
    With IE6 there is absolutely no indication that it has blocked the control, and it is therefore very easy to miss the fact that the installation has failed.
    This happened a while back when MG set the casinos to demand the new flash player, while at the same time Microsoft had introduced an update to IE that turned off ActiveX support. This unfortunate combinations had serious consequences for many users, and Microsoft had to unpatch IE so that it was compatable again with most of the internet.
    It MIGHT be possible to just close the message instead of attempting to install the flash player, and get the casino to launch anyway.
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. Sep 23, 2007
  9. bernynhel

    bernynhel Dormant account PABnononaccred PABnoaccred

    Occupation:
    Loafer
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Yes, the casino does open if I just close the window...

    ...like a Microgaming Site will still uninstall if you just close the browser when it tries to open for the little "Let's Take a Break from this Uninstall for a Quick Why-Do -You Hate-Us? Survey" (I HATE that! Microgaming! Just go away if you're asked for crissake!!) BUT, I'm trying to eliminate the snag. It happened a while back for a while and then went away. I don't remember how . But thanks! You gave me an idea! I have Window Washer from Webroot (makers of SpySweeper) and after an uninstall, if I run a search and any files of file frags that remain that the "search" can identify, Window Washer will eliminate any remaining traces just by right clinking the items in any search result list and selecting "Shred (Wash with Bleach)" from the pull-down. I'll uninstall Flash, shred any frags, then re-download to my desktop before re-installing. And I'll do it from going to their website instead of opening a Microgaming and having the browser open as a result of the casino software not recognizing that Flash is already installed AND working adequately enough to run the casino software. That is the real problem, as far as I'm concerned, not anything in my settings or how well all the bits of Flash may or may not be installed. RIGHT MICROGAMING!?!? Nowhere ELSE I go has a problem with how my Flash is installed! GET ON THIS PLEASE AN EDUCATE YOUR CUST SERV PEOPLE A LITTLE!! AND LOSE THE SURVEY ON UNINSTALLS GODDAMMIT!!!
     
  10. Sep 24, 2007
  11. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    When this happened a while back, it was a case of the MG installer not recognising Flash, in fact, a new Flash update had been relesaed, and it was this that was not recognised as a LATER version than the one the install was checking for. This got fixed.
    I have not installed any MG for ages, so have not seen this error recently, although there have been a couple of Flash player upgrades.
    MG is absolutely stuffed with little bugs such as this, often they are intermittent, and when brought to the attention of MG by a casino CS desk they just trot out the usual line about Antivirus software, disabling firewalls, reinstalling this & that..........
    They never mention the other option though, PLAY ELSEWHERE:rolleyes:
     
  12. Sep 24, 2007
  13. winbig

    winbig Keep winning this amount. webby PABnononaccred

    Occupation:
    Bum
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    This is fixed?

    Just reinstalled AllJackpots for a tournament tomorrow, and this error STILL comes up.

    Although annoying, the casino still loads and plays just fine. You know why? The actual "Flash" movies/whatever KNOWS that you have the correct version installed, and plays the animations just fine. It's the MG programmers that can't get it right :)

    What happens is an IE page (C:\Microgaming\Casino\AllJackpots\local\en\clientconfig\flasherror.mht) comes up telling you to install the flash client, which is already installed.....EVEN AFTER (re)INSTALLING IT AND RESTARTING THE CASINO.

    What a PITA.


    Edit:

    Don't even bother with trying to uninstall/install/re-install the Flash player. MG programmers apparently don't know their ass from a hole in the ground.

    Version of Flash player you're downloading from: You must register/login in order to see the link.

    Version: 9,0,47,0
    Date Posted: 7/10/2007
    File Size: 2,257 K
    Download Time Estimate: 2 minutes @ 56K Modem

    And they're looking for.....:rolleyes:
     
    1 person likes this.
  14. Sep 24, 2007
  15. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    It's not fixed:mad:

    This is the same error as before back to haunt us. It is even the old message, Macromedia were taken over by adobe, and it is now the Adobe Flash player.
    MG must have done a "bodge" not a "fix" the last time, and it is now getting confused again.
    It hasn't happened to me (yet!), but last time it started happening with casinos that were already installed after one of the new game updates.
    Something must have come unstuck with the release of the new slot class "sneak a peek" (or mild porn bonus slots:D).
    It's a con though, there is no chance of getting more than 4 items off the nurses, and the best I have managed is 2.
     
    1 person likes this.
  16. Sep 24, 2007
  17. winbig

    winbig Keep winning this amount. webby PABnononaccred

    Occupation:
    Bum
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    That's because they're more interested in getting as many new slots (read: skins of old slots) out every month, instead of running some quality control tests of the completed software they're sending out.
     
  18. Sep 26, 2007
  19. bernynhel

    bernynhel Dormant account PABnononaccred PABnoaccred

    Occupation:
    Loafer
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    OK I get it...

    Ran a disk clean-up, a de-frag then uninstalled and WiondowWashed Macromedia Flash, re-downloaded to desktop and re-installed then uninstalled and WindowWashed a MG casino and re-downloaded to desktop and re-installed and then guess what happened? :what:
     
  20. Sep 26, 2007
  21. winbig

    winbig Keep winning this amount. webby PABnononaccred

    Occupation:
    Bum
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Yea...it's because they're looking for a different (older) version of Flash that's actually non-existent now :)

    Read up a few posts...:D
     
  22. Sep 26, 2007
  23. bernynhel

    bernynhel Dormant account PABnononaccred PABnoaccred

    Occupation:
    Loafer
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    WRONG!!!!!

    Disk cleanup, de-frag, un-install Flash Player which WAS listed as Macromedia Flash in the Add/Remove Programs on Control Panel, go to Adobe, re-download/install new version 9,0,47,9 and the problem goes away!!!. No un-install of MG casino necessary.
     
  24. Sep 26, 2007
  25. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    This is similar to the solution I found before. I uninstalled Flash using the total uninstall utility rather than add/remove programs. This would do the same as a system cleanup. Flash leaves traces behind when uninstalled with the add/remove programs utility. I also used the remote installation version, intended for network managers, that allows Flash to be installed while offline from an "exe" desktop installer utility. I then found I did not need to reinstall any MG casinos.
    My new PC automatically detects Flash updates, and installs them. I have not experienced this error so far on already installed MG casinos.
     
    1 person likes this.
  26. Sep 26, 2007
  27. bernynhel

    bernynhel Dormant account PABnononaccred PABnoaccred

    Occupation:
    Loafer
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    De-frag seemes to have been key...

     

Share This Page