1. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies .This website or its third-party tools use cookies, which are necessary to its functioning and required to achieve the purposes illustrated in the cookie policy.Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Follow Casinomeister on Twitter | Facebook | YouTube | Casinomeister.us US Residents Click here! |  Svenska Svenska | 
Dismiss Notice
REGISTER NOW!! Why? Because you can't do diddly squat without having been registered!

At the moment you have limited access to view most discussions: you can't make contact with thousands of fellow players, affiliates, casino reps, and all sorts of other riff-raff.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join Casinomeister here!

The Microgaming Tournament server farce continues - not at all happy.

Discussion in 'Casino Complaints - Non-Bonus Issues' started by vinylweatherman, Jul 17, 2016.

    Jul 17, 2016
  1. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Totally unplayable this morning, was fine all last week.

    Tried THREE TIMES this morning to get the 32Red 20K Tournament to run, but it was having none of it. Loaded OK, could buy continues, but almost every damn spin had extended lag, and finally, after over FIVE MINUTES of waiting for the return with the reels just spinning aimlessly (again), it gave up the farce and logged me out "lost connection with casino server).

    It's happening simultaneously at Dash, so both are lagging in tandem like identical twins, suggestive of this being a casino or Microgaming server issue.

    I also notice that in the 32Red lobby, the "Reel spinner" promo won't load, it displays as a "broken image" with a text description instead - could be related, and may have something to do with the previous problems that 32Red had with their servers a couple of weeks ago.

    Whenever there are problems, it's always the MPV tournaments that get hit the hardest, lobby games tend to be more resilient.


    Good job it's only day 2 of this 14 day tournament, not the final day!

    I managed to post this OK, so not a problem with internet in general.
     
  2. Jul 17, 2016
  3. mcgameboy

    mcgameboy Screenieholic & Essayist mm2

    Occupation:
    Casual Stocktaker (Inventory Counter)
    Location:
    Belfast
    I've been doing my Sure Win Cup run today mate and it was working perfectly fine. :confused:
     
  4. Jul 17, 2016
  5. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    It might be specific to particular tournaments. The 20K is a "casino special", whereas the sure win cup is a "network tournament".

    I could test by playing one of the free network tournaments next time I have trouble to see whether it's all tournaments, or just a specific one. I probably should also have played one of the ordinary slots from the lobby at the same time to see whether the fault was specific to tournaments.

    It's odd that sometimes I get the "connection has dropped" error almost the instant I try to log in, yet at other times the reels will spin for several minutes before the client decides that the connection has dropped. Why the vast difference, surely the connection has dropped or it hasn't, so it suggests that the reels spinning for 5 minutes were NOT the result of a complete loss of connection to the casino server, but a loss of connection to the tournaments only, or even just a lack of reply from the tournament server whilst still retaining the connection.

    There is some pretty strange behaviour at times from the tournament server. Lag isn't random, it's either almost non existent, or it's suddenly 5-6 seconds between bet and result, and then suddenly near instant again. This doesn't look like internet congestion, but a specific issue or bug with the tournament setup, either client side or server side. This does not happen with the normal slots, when they get laggy, the length of each lag is all over the place and pretty random. I wonder if when it just stops replying completely it's not an actual disconnection, but a third and less common manifestation of this no lag/5-6 second lag dual state, a third state where something has shut down completely. Often, coming out of the tournament and immediately reloading it cures the problem, at least for a while. It looks to me as though the MPV servers offer a very low bandwidth, and can't cope with anything like the level of betting that the main lobby games can. I even see server lag on the tournaments when very few participants are playing.
     
  6. Jul 17, 2016
  7. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    ...and again.

    Managed about 3 continues, no obvious lag, then BANG! Total instant disconnect. This is a HUGE deterioration in performance compared with last week, and right through much of Saturday. Again, the "broken image" is there in the 32Red lobby rather than the banner for the new games promo. When it was working fine, so was this banner, surely the two are connected. Can't get a connection to the marketing server, so no banner, just the broken image, and also can't maintain a stable connection to the tournament server.

    Incidentally, there was a "triple launch" of the lobby right at the end of the previous 20K tournament, and now things are suddenly not working properly. So, what Microgaming update did the damage? and why?
     
  8. Jul 18, 2016
  9. Brockie

    Brockie Experienced Member

    Occupation:
    Warehouse operative
    Location:
    Somewhere in Englandshire!
    I have managed to play this evening without any problems of note, the odd lag here and there but that is always the case.
    The broken image is also missing for me but it has not affected the way the tournament is playing.

    I had the triple update when the previous Gold factory tournament was playing and I was affected with loads of lag each spin meaning it would take almost triple the time to play 1 continue. With the odd disconnect also.

    I had another couple of updates to when I logged in today so maybe these have corrected the issue for me.
     
  10. Jul 18, 2016
  11. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    It seems we both have had similar issues, but at different times. I didn't find too many problems in the last day of the Gold Factory tournament, and managed an unexpected victory, just making it to the top on my final continue, half expecting that the leader had something left in reserve and was going to get me right at the end, but either they too had nothing left, or they couldn't play for some reason.

    I was also running a few tests on Windows 10, and here I DID encounter a problem. I was playing the tournament, and went back to the lobby to check how much time was left to run. The instant I clicked in the lobby, it went completely black, and stayed that way throughout, even though the tab with the tournament running was unaffected.

    I had hoped that by now all the bugs had been ironed out for Windows 10 and casinos, but I may be wrong. Good job I have the original Windows 7 disks for at least one of the PCs, and the product keys for two of them. The one without was Windows 8.1, which made it well worth the risk of it being the test bed for Windows 10 upgrading.
     
  12. Jul 18, 2016
  13. Brockie

    Brockie Experienced Member

    Occupation:
    Warehouse operative
    Location:
    Somewhere in Englandshire!
     
    1 person likes this.
  14. Jul 18, 2016
  15. hedgehok

    hedgehok Senior Member mm3

    Occupation:
    self-employed
    Location:
    Germany
    May I ask how you did play so quickly on the last day?
     
  16. Jul 18, 2016
  17. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
     
  18. Jul 18, 2016
  19. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Doing nothing else whatsoever, no browsing Facebook, checking the weather etc whilst the casino is running in the background. Normally I DO work on other things whilst the tournament is running, and just check back occasionally to see whether I have to start a bonus round or buy another continue. This all wastes time because if I find the tournament is waiting for my input when I check on it, playing time has been wasted that could have been spent spinning.

    On a "final sprint" I give all my attention to the tournament, so when it stops for input, I give it input immediately.

    I also had no connection problems that day, they kicked in Saturday afternoon, and have bedevilled me since then. Something has changed to make these problems appear. I have done a few tests, but they are showing no problems my end.

    I have even done the OFCOM app WiFi test, and it says my home WiFi is not a problem, even though OFCOM now recognise that this is a problem that 1 in 6 homes have, and has not been properly addressed in the past because all the focus was on the ISPs and the quality of the service as it enters our homes.

    I will be upgrading this PC to Windows 10 in the next couple of weeks, and before the deadline, so this might present an opportunity to beat me in the next tournament if the update screws things up. Of course, the opposite could happen, it could make my PC even better and faster at what it does, including managing the internet.
     
    1 person likes this.
  20. Jul 18, 2016
  21. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Tournament Cancelled!!!

    Just logged back in and the Immortal Romance 20K now shows "Cancelled"!!!!!

    Looks like this was "their end" all the time, and now it's Monday (Office hours) they have begun to address the problem.


    Of course, the issue now is the money players have already spent on this, and given my problems I am nowhere near the top scorer, so there are going to be some pretty annoyed players trying to get hold of 32Red CS.
     
  22. Jul 18, 2016
  23. Brockie

    Brockie Experienced Member

    Occupation:
    Warehouse operative
    Location:
    Somewhere in Englandshire!
    Tournament is still running for me, i have just logged back in from having lunch and bought a continue which I am now playing!

    I have had a few problems today though, with some really long spins to the point of not stopping at all.
    I am on a different computer from the weekend though, as I have this running on my 'work' computer, they both run windows 7 so I am not so sure why this has problems and my 'home computer was working flawlessly.
     
  24. Jul 18, 2016
  25. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    This is just getting even weirder:confused: How can it show as "cancelled" in the lobby yet still be running?. Surely this is something set on the server, and nothing to do with anything my end. I have never seen this error before, but plenty of times a tournament has been cancelled, often for no obvious reason, but sometimes because it's not working properly for a significant number of players.

    The 32Red lobby is still "downloading/updating", so I'll leave it running until it's done and then see if it makes a difference. It's been updating for a while, so this must be a significant update, not just one tournament game.
     
  26. Jul 18, 2016
  27. Mark_32Red

    Mark_32Red Affiliate Manager for Accredited Casinos

    Occupation:
    Head of Marketing
    Location:
    32Red Marketing Dpt
    Hi Guys,

    Sorry to hear you are having issues with some of the tournaments. For the record we haven't altered anything this end, nor cancelled the tournament. I have let MG know about the issue and they are investigating.

    I'll post any feedback here.

    Cheers
    Mark
     
    1 person likes this.
  28. Jul 19, 2016
  29. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Worked for a bit, then died again.

    Quite a big bit though, about 2 hours, then the reels started to lag, then the entire screen suddenly went black with the error message "casino error". I tried reloading the tournament, but it just wouldn't load up. I was playing at Dash at the same time, and as 32Red started to play up, sure enough Dash followed with increasing lag followed by the reels just spinning and spinning. Dash didn't throw an error, I decided to give up again for now.

    Nothing wrong with the internet in general again, as I can post this.
     
  30. Jul 19, 2016
  31. dionysus

    dionysus can turn wine into water CAG MM

    Occupation:
    n/a
    Location:
    I'm a Canucklehead
    Tried to play today's turnies at 32Red- none would load.
    They loaded fine at GoWild
     
  32. Jul 19, 2016
  33. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    That's about 2 hours after the problems started for me. I gave up, watched a bit of telly, then went to bed.

    It may be working again now, even if for just 2 hours:rolleyes:

    It narrows it down a bit if they load fine at GoWild, but not at 32Red. This would also exclude the problem being at your end.

    After I get the long spinning reels, I often find that the tournament tab is empty when I immediately try to get back in by reloading the casino. It suggests that the problem is between the 32Red site and the Microgaming tournament servers. The client in such cases can see and load the normal games, but cannot see anything to do with tournaments.
     
  34. Jul 19, 2016
  35. dunover

    dunover Unofficial T&C's Editor CAG PABnononaccred PABnonaccred PABinit mm3 webmeister

    Occupation:
    International Money Launderer
    Location:
    the bus shelter, opposite GCHQ Benhall
    All credit for your persistence with this antiquated and error-strewn Viper nonsense. I'd have given up ages ago. Just happens too often, too much computer clutter and always running some update which then means the casino reinstalls and the games you had previously thought were fully downloaded suddenly get the progress bar next time you open them.

    Viper needs to be reworked from the bottom up. These updates are like installing a stainless 1k exhaust on a rusting old banger worth 150 quid.
     
  36. Jul 19, 2016
  37. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    With a £4000 first prize, and £3000 second prize, this dogged persistence pays;)

    I have noticed that whenever the errors get more severe, the level of competition falls off, making it statistically more likely that MY run of all 999 continues will beat the others, mainly because errors mean fewer people have the determination to work through so many continues.

    Ideally, a fix would give all players a better experience, but a downside for me would be greater competition at the 900+ continue end. Often there are only 3 or 4 players battling it out at this point, which means a 1 in 4 chance of being top, and a 50% chance of turning a profit. Any more than 4 competing all the way and these tournaments become -EV with this "all in" approach. 3 or less going all the way makes it +EV longer term.
     
  38. Aug 31, 2016
  39. Brockie

    Brockie Experienced Member

    Occupation:
    Warehouse operative
    Location:
    Somewhere in Englandshire!
    Troubles with this fortnights 20k freelroll

    I have been trying for most of this evening to continue with the latest 20k freeroll (gold factory) and I can't even get the tournament to load up, let alone buy a continue, has anyone else had this problem tonight??

    I have even tried the older browser version to see if that works and it goes to the loading page and nothing happens.
     

Share This Page