NetEnt! How in the world is this not fixed yet?!

Balthazar

The Governor
Joined
Aug 14, 2012
Location
Woodbury
Can't find the old thread from last year so I'm posting a new one. It happened to me again yesterday: playing a new game and hitting the max bet button by mistake instead of the "coin size" one, for a $25 spin on a $60 balance.

Come on now! It's bad enough that we have to change the coin size every time that we load a slot, please don't place the small button right next to the max bet one that will steal half your bankroll if you accidentally click on it! Talk about a piss poor design!
 

mattsgame

Meister Member
webmeister
CAG
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Location
Out Of Town
Can't find the old thread from last year so I'm posting a new one. It happened to me again yesterday: playing a new game and hitting the max bet button by mistake instead of the "coin size" one, for a $25 spin on a $60 balance.

Come on now! It's bad enough that we have to change the coin size every time that we load a slot, please don't place the small button right next to the max bet one that will steal half your bankroll if you accidentally click on it! Talk about a piss poor design!

Which casino was this? and which game?

I have only been playing at GUTS lately and noticed most of them are set between $2 - $5 but it could be a game I do not play.
 

dionysus

Good(w)ill Ambassador
CAG
MM
Joined
Apr 27, 2009
Location
the land of snow and maple syrup
A lot of land based casinos seem to have opted for this as well - and it's worse, because so many no longer have physical buttons, but video computer buttons on the panel...which have hair triggers...I mean, even the bloody players card bungee can trigger it, which it oh-so-conveniently drapes across.
 

Balthazar

The Governor
Joined
Aug 14, 2012
Location
Woodbury
Which casino was this? and which game?

Guts (Thunderfist) but they are all the same IIRC.

Here's a screenshot of when you load the slot. As you can see, coin value is $0.10 and you have to change that if you don't want to play at least $2.50/spin. If you hit max bet at this point, it's a $25 spin.

Capture.JPG
 

mattsgame

Meister Member
webmeister
CAG
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Location
Out Of Town
Guts (Thunderfist) but they are all the same IIRC.

Here's a screenshot of when you load the slot. As you can see, coin value is $0.10 and you have to change that if you don't want to play at least $2.50/spin. If you hit max bet at this point, it's a $25 spin.

View attachment 42831

Ahh my bad, I thought this was about the problem where the slots would load at max bet :) I should have read your op a bit slower :lolup:
 

1366613

Senior Member
Joined
May 29, 2008
Location
A
So sorry i know how you feel, one time it did the same but the max bet size was $500, from $1600 balance, :mad::mad::mad:
 

chuchu59

gambling addict
PABnonaccred
CAG
PABinit
Joined
Sep 26, 2004
Location
SOMEWHERE IN ASIA
Of all the software I have played only Netent does not set the bet and coin size to the ones that were played previously. MG, RTG Playtech, Crypto all set the bet sizes to those previously played. Needless to say, I had been suckered to place bets quite big relative to bankroll. Its the nature of any gambler. Playing right after you download the slot and especially true after a tiring day at work.
 

naththo

Dormant account
Joined
Jul 24, 2011
Location
Adelaide, South Australia.
Yeah its good idea to watch out for when you just load game. Always double check bet size, adjust if requires before you start playing. There not much you can do but having max bet too close to other button is a bad idea of course though. I agree to that! I think it would be a LOT safer to remove Max Bet button altogether and only leave out as a normal spin button and just bet size/coin size button. So that way it can reduce accident prone especially for those who is with sticky bonus. If you are on a sticky bonus, if you accidentally bet too high once you can just stop playing, go to live chat straight away and let them know to reverse it back for you so it does not void the term/condition bonus.
 

De Beuker

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2009
Location
Netherlands
I can live with the max. bet on Microgaming, as that one leaves the coinsize as it is and only goes to max. coins.
It can be useful for people if a slot is hot, I can imagine people using it.

But the NetEnt Max. bet also raises the coinsize to max. and thus so triggers a for most people INSANE spin, often a huge chunk of the balance.
Ofcourse you can get lucky, but it really feels like a trap, as no one exept for a few ultra highrollers will play 25.- per spin or more.

So why is that button there in the first place?
And agreed it should be fixed/removed.
 

KasinoKing

WebMeister & Slotaholic..
webmeister
PABnonaccred
CAG
MM
Joined
Aug 25, 2004
Location
Bexhill on sea, England
But the NetEnt Max. bet also raises the coinsize to max. and thus so triggers a for most people INSANE spin, often a huge chunk of the balance.
Errrr.. no it doesn't!

I have hit "Max Bet" both by accident and on purpose on NetEnt slots and it has NEVER changed the coin size.
Which slot do you think you saw that on?

KK
 

Balthazar

The Governor
Joined
Aug 14, 2012
Location
Woodbury
I have hit "Max Bet" both by accident and on purpose on NetEnt slots and it has NEVER changed the coin size.

I don't want to answer for this guy but while it doesn't change the coin size during the play, it does reset to $0.10 every time that you load the slot. That's when you have to be extra careful because you have to lower your coin size AND to not click that max bet button. After many hours of play, I tend to become more careless and got caught twice in the last year. It's my fault, but I'm not alone. It IS poor design.
 

De Beuker

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2009
Location
Netherlands
Errrr.. no it doesn't!

I have hit "Max Bet" both by accident and on purpose on NetEnt slots and it has NEVER changed the coin size.
Which slot do you think you saw that on?

KK

My bad, it doesnt.. :oops:

But it does reset to default (which is too high for me) every time you log in to a game, thats especially annoying at Mr. Green, where you get kicked out of your game after every hour just to tell you that you played for xx hours.
Then you need to open the game again, and thats when I usually forget to change the coinsize back.

The games do remember your preferences, like quickspin enabled or spacebar to spin, so why not the preferred coinsize?:confused:
 

Nate

Paleo Meister (means really, really old)
webmeister
CAG
PABinit
Joined
Feb 14, 2007
Location
Cyberspace
I know all too well about it...

Got disconnected at Betsafe and forgot to change my betsize - Looked again and half my balance was gone as I had DOA on auto play for $2.25 a spin. Disastrous for a bankroll ;)

NetEnt implemented the 'remember my betsize' on that stupid chicken game.... Hope they can implement it on other slots.

Nate
 

chuchu59

gambling addict
PABnonaccred
CAG
PABinit
Joined
Sep 26, 2004
Location
SOMEWHERE IN ASIA
I don't want to answer for this guy but while it doesn't change the coin size during the play, it does reset to $0.10 every time that you load the slot. That's when you have to be extra careful because you have to lower your coin size AND to not click that max bet button. After many hours of play, I tend to become more careless and got caught twice in the last year. It's my fault, but I'm not alone. It IS poor design.

Really, I would love to take a survey from Netent players. Whoever has not bet more than at least once due to this design please respond.
 

incrediblestuff

SearchingForTheHolyGrail!
webmeister
CAG
Joined
Mar 22, 2010
Location
Mostly the Netherlands
Really, I would love to take a survey from Netent players. Whoever has not bet more than at least once due to this design please respond.

Been there done that:)
Not too happy about it either, but since the one time it depleted all of my balance (like Nate put it on auto) in less then a minute, it never happened again, since i am now way too wary ...
I do agree with Balth and the rest that responded that this should be fixed, Netent is one of the big guys now, and they should set standards: instead of pushing out a lot of new money eaters no one is waiting for, they should get their development team working on this, i personally can't imagine it being hard.
 

Nate

Paleo Meister (means really, really old)
webmeister
CAG
PABinit
Joined
Feb 14, 2007
Location
Cyberspace
I do agree with Balth and the rest that responded that this should be fixed, Netent is one of the big guys now, and they should set standards: instead of pushing out a lot of new money eaters no one is waiting for, they should get their development team working on this, i personally can't imagine it being hard.

That statement says a lot - Instead of improving a great product, Development teams will spend more time on developing ways to fleece you faster - That's what they get paid for - to come up with innovative ideas and make slots that outperform previous releases in terms of revenue.

NetEnt should actually release a new slogan 'Ensuring you don't win BIG since 2012' :rolleyes:

I wouldn't hold my breath on the improvement though. We have already seen how difficult it is for MG to fix their flash problems.

Nate
 

Redbet-Andy

Dormant account - New account: AndyB-MrGreen
Joined
Jun 22, 2010
Location
Malta
It happens to the best of us. And it happens to me too :)

I had it bad on Ghost Pirates, where the Max bet button is directly below the spin button.
I've set auto spins, then pressed play and popped off to fetch the Pringles.

On my return I'm amazed to see my 300 balance has dropped to less than 100 in no time.
I would have complained to someone, anyone, or at least let out a little sigh, but before i could stop it I decided (being a slot player), this must be fate!
So I let it play through my balance.
It ran through it pretty quickly without another win, absolutely nothing, until...
On the very last spin, I watched in disbelief as the reels all dropped in one by one and then... Yes, You guessed it, I won absolutely nothing.

I've passed this thread onto NetEnt, they do listen.
 

incrediblestuff

SearchingForTheHolyGrail!
webmeister
CAG
Joined
Mar 22, 2010
Location
Mostly the Netherlands
NetEnt should actually release a new slogan 'Ensuring you don't win BIG since 2012' :rolleyes: <--:lolup:

I wouldn't hold my breath on the improvement though. We have already seen how difficult it is for MG to fix their flash problems.

Nate

This would be a good chance for them to show they can handle things better and/or faster?
I am sure they are following this forum, and i am also sure that this should be easier solvable then those flash related issues.

It's supposed to be something like setvalue>0.10/lvl1(or some code)=true, in the initial loading of the slot, and these values should be easily changed to minimum, the question is will they do that?

It might be a bit harder to set the slots to recall individual preferences, but that would of course be better.
 

Balthazar

The Governor
Joined
Aug 14, 2012
Location
Woodbury
I've passed this thread onto NetEnt, they do listen.


Thanks Andy. They could easily fix it by either remembering the bet size or having the slots start with a $0.01 denomination instead of $0.10. So if you fuck up and hit max bet, it would cost only $2.50 instead of $25.
 

007sam

Dormant Account
Joined
Jul 3, 2013
Location
uk - NorthWest
That button I have hit a few times, it's the stuidist button in the stupidest place...... Designed by robbers or idiots, you decide.....
 

Mouche12

Kitty Lover
PABnonaccred
PABnoaccred
PABnononaccred
Joined
Jul 25, 2007
Location
Amsterdam
This has only happened to me once, $20 instead of $2, bad enough though. I am usually very careful, but accidents happen. NetEnt would have to re-design most of their slot games in order to move the Max Bet button to the side (instead of next to or right below the spin button). Glad that they will look into it.
 

dunover

Unofficial T&C's Editor
Staff member
webmeister
PABnonaccred
PABnononaccred
CAG
mm3
Joined
May 22, 2012
Location
the bus shelter, opposite GCHQ Benhall
Ahh my bad, I thought this was about the problem where the slots would load at max bet :) I should have read your op a bit slower :lolup:

Yes, like some MG casinos do - I remember somebody saying they opened Isis and it was on $40 a spin by default, nasty! They played a spin and lost.
 
Top