Microgaming Software Glitch?

Simmo!

Paleo Meister (means really, really old)
Joined
May 29, 2004
Location
England
Hey guys

Following the latest release of the new games, who's noticing, particularly on the Video Pokers, that graphic animations are choppy, kinda stuttering along?

Its broke innit?

WinXP, PIII - happens here.

Simmoan!
 

Slotster!

I predict a riot.
Joined
Oct 17, 2004
Location
Location, Location!
Simmo! said:
Hey guys

Following the latest release of the new games, who's noticing, particularly on the Video Pokers, that graphic animations are choppy, kinda stuttering along?

Its broke innit?

WinXP, PIII - happens here.

Simmoan!


Yep, definitely broked!! Although I did hit a four of a kind on double bonus, so they can leave it broked as far as I'm concerned ;) Like you say, choppy and "flicky" graphics.

A far greater catastrophe is what they've done to Spring Break!! :eek: :eek: :eek:

I've checked this at three different casinos and it's the same at them all... I reckon all the programmers are spending too long staring at the Mermaids norks and took their eye off the ball.
 

Dewberry

Dormant account
PABaccred
Joined
Jan 13, 2005
Location
Vancouver Island
Yep, there seems to be some problems. Some of the 3 reels slots are absolutely painful to watch :eek: . The only place I played at that doesn't have the problem is Vegas Slot - but then as of yesterday, they didn't have the new games.
 

jetset

RIP Brian
Joined
Feb 22, 2001
Location
Earth
These problems have been reported and Microgaming has been alerted to this thread. They have a tech team reviewing the difficulties reported here.

Please post other related technical hassles as they will be monitoring this thread as part of the process.
 

Simmo!

Paleo Meister (means really, really old)
Joined
May 29, 2004
Location
England
jetset said:
These problems have been reported and Microgaming has been alerted to this thread. They have a tech team reviewing the difficulties reported here.

Please post other related technical hassles as they will be monitoring this thread as part of the process.

Nice one. Knew you or CM would get here eventually Jet :thumbsup:
 

jetset

RIP Brian
Joined
Feb 22, 2001
Location
Earth
I've been monitoring the thread as I didn't want to "cry wolf" too early - let's hope this is sorted out fast.
 

Casinomeister

Forum Cheermeister
Staff member
Joined
Jun 30, 1998
Location
Bierland
AHHHH!!!!! Microgaming!!!

What the hell happened to my video poker?????? :eek:

I'm begging you on my hands and knees to fix this please!

'nough said.
 

Simmo!

Paleo Meister (means really, really old)
Joined
May 29, 2004
Location
England
In webmaster circles, everyone refers to the occasional major Google algorythym updates by names - like the "Florida" update or the "Allegra" update, which is when major changes happen and things go pear-shaped on rankings for a lot of people.

Maybe we'll come to look back at the "Lara" update and the "Mermaid" update one day with similarly fond memories :)

:D
 

quber

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2004
Location
Europe
i've had a few problems on the slots at Maple and 7 sultans. some games play very slow, cpu is constantly over 90% usage, and yesterday playing tomb raider every time a win came in the software completely closed down.

and i can't win a thing on Mermaid
 

LRDell

Experienced Member
PABaccred
Joined
Feb 25, 2004
Location
East Coast, USA
Programmer thinking

Don't you wonder sometimes if they think that if they make the old favorites so horrible to look at, then you will try the new games? You can bet somewhere some programmer thought the backgrounds were boring and livened them up with that "lovely" green color. UGH!

I am also in agreement about the multi-hand video poker. Take back the lightning speed and let us see what is happening with the cards.
 

big_mac

Dormant Account
Joined
Nov 10, 2004
Location
uk
quber said:
cpu is constantly over 90% usage, and
I think they have some sort of 'busy' loop in there, I find that it stays on 100% even if sitting in the lobby doing nothing (with a 2.8ghz p4). Every time I run MG software, the fan on my laptop kicks in, and stays on until I exit. That's just poor programming, I'm afraid.

The bright green colour was probably a chroma-key of some sort. I guess that it was supposed to be automatically replaced by some sort of background image or transparency, but for some reason that hasn't happened. Sometimes these things only happen on certain graphics cards, which might explain why it got past testing.
 

jetset

RIP Brian
Joined
Feb 22, 2001
Location
Earth
Quick question to those of you experiencing these difficulties, which are proving hard to replicate I'm told.

Do any of you play on laptops?
 

Simmo!

Paleo Meister (means really, really old)
Joined
May 29, 2004
Location
England
jetset said:
Quick question to those of you experiencing these difficulties, which are proving hard to replicate I'm told.

Do any of you play on laptops?

Not me - Pentium 3 tower PC with XP :)
 

spearmaster

RIP Ted
Joined
Jan 12, 2001
Location
Heaven
It's possible that the problems have to do with the latest service pack for Windows XP - which has caused Microgaming Flash casinos to be inaccessible. Likely an Active X problem - which would also affect the download casinos.

I have noticed, however, that on my notebook (XP) and my old computer with new LCD screen (Win2K) that the text is suddenly not as clear as it used to be - perhaps the entire display.
 

Simmo!

Paleo Meister (means really, really old)
Joined
May 29, 2004
Location
England
spearmaster said:
It's possible that the problems have to do with the latest service pack for Windows XP - which has caused Microgaming Flash casinos to be inaccessible. Likely an Active X problem - which would also affect the download casinos.

Dont think thats the case with me - not updated from XP since 2003 and i can still access the Flash casinos SM.
 

Slotster!

I predict a riot.
Joined
Oct 17, 2004
Location
Location, Location!
I do sometimes play on a laptop, but it's not just there where the problem is. Also, if it helps, I sometimes play under Windows 98 - where it looks exactly the same as in XP!... Definitely the software itself as opposed to the environment in my humble, non-techy opinion!
 

spearmaster

RIP Ted
Joined
Jan 12, 2001
Location
Heaven
Simmo! said:
Dont think thats the case with me - not updated from XP since 2003 and i can still access the Flash casinos SM.

You said choppy... LOL... that's been happening for ages... and always been the case for me no matter what computer or O/S. I have been talking to them about this for quite some time now.

Are you seeing the greenies as well? It's apparently only the most recent updates for XP that are causing the problem with Flash...
 

spearmaster

RIP Ted
Joined
Jan 12, 2001
Location
Heaven
big_mac said:
I think they have some sort of 'busy' loop in there, I find that it stays on 100% even if sitting in the lobby doing nothing (with a 2.8ghz p4). Every time I run MG software, the fan on my laptop kicks in, and stays on until I exit. That's just poor programming, I'm afraid.

This point I agree with, though I'm not so sure what causes it. It may also be the reason for the choppiness. My instinct says it has something to do with Active X.

The bright green colour was probably a chroma-key of some sort. I guess that it was supposed to be automatically replaced by some sort of background image or transparency, but for some reason that hasn't happened. Sometimes these things only happen on certain graphics cards, which might explain why it got past testing.

Also a good point - but the green color wasn't there in the past that I'm aware of. So whatever happened this time around was recent. The point about the graphics cards is quite valid, though.
 

Simmo!

Paleo Meister (means really, really old)
Joined
May 29, 2004
Location
England
spearmaster said:
You said choppy... LOL... that's been happening for ages... and always been the case for me no matter what computer or O/S. I have been talking to them about this for quite some time now.

Hmm i only just noticed it tho SM and I play a lot of VP. I had seen it in the past when i had NETeller open - the java gui they used to use (thankfully no more) seemed to screw up graphics on both my PC's.

Are you seeing the greenies as well? It's apparently only the most recent updates for XP that are causing the problem with Flash...

I can't check Spring Break - my PC closes itself down in protest if i ever try any slot other than Thunderstruck. But i'll buy it a small USB enabled present tomorrow and see if I can blag my way in. :D
 

Gluten

Dormant account
Joined
Dec 7, 2004
Location
DK
Some other things I have discovered about the new update:
I removed one of my MG casinos and apparently FLASH was also removed, so that I had to install it again in order to fire up another casino! Strange...

Number two thing (this has happend 4 times now - any confirmation would be nice)
Playing pow gow poker (for fun): It can only play 1000-1300 games before the software crashes. Everything set to max speed. WinXp SP1 here...
 

vinylweatherman

You type well loads
Joined
Oct 14, 2004
Location
United Kingdom
Microgaming have screwed up haven't they.

I couldn't even get into many of my casinos at first. The software froze at 89% loading menu. This then corrupted the files and rebooting could not fix it as parts of the old and new were left in place, along with uninstalled CAB files.
It was not just a game update though. VCORE.DLL and CASINOLOBBY.DLL are new versions, it is the underlying Viper software that was also changed, not simply an addition of new games.
Casin Action have slipped in some EXTREMELY NASTY changes to T&C with this, and have NOT told the players. I was tipped off on 'winner screenshots' and found it to be true - I will start a thread on this as they are Casinomeister casinos.
 
Top