Speed Issues & Locations. Any feedback?

Simmo!

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2004
Location
England
Hey chaps (& chapesses!!),

I've been doing a bit of testing on a few casinos recently to see if past speed issues have been dealt with. I'm running from the UK and have had issues in the past with Ladbrokes & Gaming Club running slowly (ie: 10-30 seconds or more for a spin).

I'm trying to get a feel for which casinos suffer from speed issues in different locations so i can feed some info back to the operators (who always seem to shrug it off as a problem at the players end!) if there is a common problem in a particular location. I met someone also from the UK at ICE who has exactly the same problem with Ladbrokes, and we both agreed that it gets frustrating to the point where we go somewhere else.

What I am interested in is any casino(s) where you feel gameplay is sluggish but ONLY if you find other casinos using the same software (ie: Microgaming) run smoothly on your connection. By "sluggish", I mean to the point it impacts your enjoyment.

I'm not looking for "perceived" sluggishness where its slow by design (ie: Crypto slots) or you just assume it is slower than it should be. I'm trying to see if there's a correlation between server locations, host bandwidth and player locations.

Any feedback, from all parts of the world, would be greatly appreciated so I can collate it and see if there are any common themes woth passing on.

Cheers,

Simmo!
 
Last edited:

Pinababy69

RIP Lisa
Joined
Oct 15, 2004
Location
Toronto, Ontario - Canada
Well Simmo, I had been going to reply..but it seems you only want the "chaps" feedback. Maybe next survey, lol. :D
 

Simmo!

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2004
Location
England
Pinababy69 said:
Well Simmo, I had been going to reply..but it seems you only want the "chaps" feedback. Maybe next survey, lol. :D
Yup. No Canadians either thanks. Or mad ppl :)
 

Pinababy69

RIP Lisa
Joined
Oct 15, 2004
Location
Toronto, Ontario - Canada
Simmo! said:
Yup. No Canadians either thanks. Or mad ppl :)
:lolup:

Mad angry? Or mad insane? LMAO. Thank God you have a sense of humour Simmo. :D

To answer your question, I have had zero issues with speed and connectivity in the last year or so. However, I noticed that you mentioned Belle Rock and when I used to play there (maybe a bit more than a year ago), the speed thing used to kill me. I could get up, make a pot of coffee, go to the bathroom, come back and the reels would still be spinning. I finally gave up on them even though my luck there had always been good. And of course the standard answer from CS/Tech support (when you got one) was that it was my ISP. I have DSL, and never had this problem at any other group of Micros, so that answer was totally bogus.

Just saw this - Pressure from minority groups? Ha ha ha..... :)
 

cheekymonkey

Dormant account
Joined
Oct 24, 2005
Location
Back at my mums
Hi Simmo

Im in NW London, UK and I have 2MB connection with BT.

I only use 4 casinos:

32RED - Always excellent connection.
LADBROKES - Touch and go. Severe lag sometimes. When playing the slots, sometimes the reels spin for ever and I have to log out and back in again. (Very frustrating, especially when you are losing).
PHOENICIAN - Good.
WILLIAM HILL - So, so. Seems to stick sometimes.

EDIT

5 casinos:

BET365 - Pretty good. Sometimes have to log in a few times before I can get in.

CM.
 

Simmo!

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2004
Location
England
cheekymonkey said:
32RED - Always excellent connection.
LADBROKES - Touch and go. Severe lag sometimes. When playing the slots, sometimes the reels spin for ever and I have to log out and back in again. (Very frustrating, especially when you are losing).

Hmm. Snap.
 

vinylweatherman

You type well loads
Joined
Oct 14, 2004
Location
United Kingdom
Recent deterioration

I have noticed that I am getting far more MG "casino error 2" disconnects since the new interface came along. I also find that when I load a game with the new interface it will not accept mouse actions for a few seconds after loading. My internet connection has not changed, nor my PC, so I presume the change is related to the new interface.
The MG casinos that have given most problems are Jackpot Factory and Casino Action. The one thing these have in common is having the servers based in Kawanake. It might be that the Kawanake connection is becoming overloaded, but is affecting first those users whose ISP has a poorer connection to USA/Canada.
I believe that Kawanake utilises a trunk connection between Canada and the USA, but does so without the blessing of either country. I would expect performance to be poorest during the day and evening based on US and Canadian times, and best for UK players in our mornings, this is not always so though.
 

-z-

Dormant account
Joined
Sep 26, 2005
Location
usa
Location - western USA
Connection - DSL
You asked for only "problem sites" but since others mentioned some names i'll add some more points on your existing graph.

32red - only minor delays, rarely need to reconnect
ladbrokes - no USA players :(
william hill - only minor delays
bet365 - good

starluck - jams up sometimes.. have to reconnect. sometimes I just quit and come back another day.

-z-
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top