Feedback Shockwave stopping me from viewing CM in Chrome...

KasinoKing

WebMeister & Slotaholic..
webmeister
PABnonaccred
CAG
MM
Joined
Aug 25, 2004
Location
Bexhill on sea, England
For the last several days I have been unable to view Casinomeister using Chrome... (See screenshot)

On Googling the problem, I found this:
As far as Adobe is concerned the bug that causes Shockwave Flash to crash in Chrome has been fixed. If you are still experiencing problems, ensure you are running the latest version of the browser. If you are running an older version of Chrome in this article we show you some tips that may help you to fix Shockwave Flash crashing in Chrome.

However, note that as of September 2016 (in Chrome v53), Google Chrome will no longer support Adobe Flash. Google reasons: "Today, more than 90% of the Flash on the web loads behind the scenes to support things like page analytics. This kind of Flash slows you down, and starting this September, Chrome 53 will begin to block it. HTML5 is much lighter and faster, and publishers are switching over to speed up page loading and save you more battery life. You’ll see an improvement in responsiveness and efficiency for many sites."

Flash has never been supported by iOS, and was removed from Android some years ago. Going forward sites will be encouraged to use HTML5 over Flash.

I onlyhave this problem with CM, and no other sites - so I guess something here is using shockwave and causing the problem.
{Edit} Correction - I've just found I have this problem with some casino websites too...

KK
 

Attachments

  • CMflash.jpg
    CMflash.jpg
    92 KB · Views: 165

naththo

Registered
Joined
Jul 24, 2011
Location
Adelaide, South Australia.
I have similar issue problem with Google Chrome. But I noticed it had updated for me, so I am not sure if this has resolved or not. So far it is doing okay with CM here. I guess the previous version of Chrome I had before was fairly unreliable in flash player built in that crashed numerous time on Facebook but now has resolved in new verison.
 

brianmon

Ueber Meister
webby
mm4
Joined
May 22, 2013
Location
Cumbria
I had a few problems with Chrome a while ago. But then realised that, by default, chrome installed the 32 bit version, even though my laptop was running 64 bit.
Uninstalling Chrome and manually downloading the 64 bit version, seems to have sorted it out.
 

Casinomeister

Forum Cheermeister
Staff member
Joined
Jun 30, 1998
Location
Bierland
I think this has something to do with the 32Red tourney leader board the loads up on the main forum page. I'll turn it off for the time being to see what happens (sorry 32Red).
 

lotusch

A little mix of Dutch and Irish
Joined
Jun 3, 2013
Location
Dún Dealgan
Yes this error is quite common in Chrome..
Websites that have built in some shockwave objects can cause this error to occur in Chrome..
Indeed keep Chrome up to date and it should not cause too much hassle..
 

dpp00

Experienced Member
Joined
May 19, 2012
Location
uk
hi all

gotta chip in, im sick to the teeth of the great lump of resource hogging crap that is chrome,

an over inflated over advertised forced down yr throats piece of crap that get gets worse with every update get rid get happy,

:thumbsup:

sorry nothing helpful here just a rant
 

ladyhawke

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2016
Location
Here, There, Everywhere.
hi all

gotta chip in, im sick to the teeth of the great lump of resource hogging crap that is chrome,...

I am also going to chip in - also with a rant.

Using Chrome, I can't even access innocuous sites like xxx.coles.com.au as I get a "This site can't be reached. xxx.coles.com.au unexpectedly closed the conection.' msg. Only on Chrome though. Everything is as it should be with my other browsers.

Chrome...if you are listening...I HATE you!!! :mad:
 

KasinoKing

WebMeister & Slotaholic..
webmeister
PABnonaccred
CAG
MM
Joined
Aug 25, 2004
Location
Bexhill on sea, England
This problem started with the CasinoMeister site (well, that's where I first noticed it), but then spread to affect about 50% of the websites I visited.
I was just thinking I would have to change my default browser to Firefox or back to ie (now called "edge") again...

Then yesterday Windows 10 did one of those fricking annoying shut-down & updates WITHOUT ASKING ME :sob:
... including a Shockwave Update - and now Chrome is working normally again! :)

KK
 

ladyhawke

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2016
Location
Here, There, Everywhere.
...Then yesterday Windows 10 did one of those fricking annoying shut-down & updates WITHOUT ASKING ME :sob:
... including a Shockwave Update - and now Chrome is working normally again! :)
KK

Had this happen about 2 days ago, and now everything is messed up - settings have been reset to the default, fonts have changed, the display reso was wrong....basically, anything that could go wrong, DID!

And Chrome is still not playing nice.

So to add to my earlier rant....Chrome and M'Soft...if you are listening...I hate you BOTH!!! :mad:
 
Top