Question Questions for Android Slot Players

Simmo!

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2004
Location
England
I have been trying out a few slots on android just to see how the experience is improving. It's not an experience I'd choose yet but it is definitely gradually getting better, albeit slowly. But I have two questions that are bugging me where there may be solutions I am simply unaware of.

My first problem is, when I play a slot in the default browser (Chrome) in landscape mode, the browser address bar stays in place and makes the slot game tiny.

I have read up on this and it seems to be because the address bar auto-hides if it detects content that is deeper than the page. The problem is, the games scale to fit the page in many instances and so it never disappears. Anyone got any answer to this?

My second problem is sound: I know that HTML5 can only deal with one sound at a time but more often than not, I get no sounds at all from slots on android. Even reloading them seems to make no difference. Is that normal?

Cheers,

Simmo!
 

dunover

Unofficial T&C's Editor
Staff member
webmeister
PABnonaccred
PABnononaccred
CAG
mm3
Joined
May 22, 2012
Location
the bus shelter, opposite GCHQ Benhall
I have been trying out a few slots on android just to see how the experience is improving. It's not an experience I'd choose yet but it is definitely gradually getting better, albeit slowly. But I have two questions that are bugging me where there may be solutions I am simply unaware of.

My first problem is, when I play a slot in the default browser (Chrome) in landscape mode, the browser address bar stays in place and makes the slot game tiny.

I have read up on this and it seems to be because the address bar auto-hides if it detects content that is deeper than the page. The problem is, the games scale to fit the page in many instances and so it never disappears. Anyone got any answer to this?

My second problem is sound: I know that HTML5 can only deal with one sound at a time but more often than not, I get no sounds at all from slots on android. Even reloading them seems to make no difference. Is that normal?

Cheers,

Simmo!

Yeah, the slot will appear small each time it's embedded, but in a pop-up it's OK and can be expanded. I use Chrome sometimes as IE's flash has issues like freezing and stalling loading. To get the slot full screen in Chrome it's simple - click the menu top right (3 little lines) and go to 'zoom' and hit the right hand full screen logo to the right of the +/- controls. F11 to revert back.



If you want to change settings permanently for all pages:


Open Chrome at the top right, click More and then Settings - At the bottom, click Show advanced settings - Under Web Content make the changes that you want:

Change everything: Next to "Page zoom", click the Down Arrow. Then select the zoom option that you want.

Change font size: Next to "Font size", click the Down arrow Down Arrow. Then select the font size that you want.
 

Simmo!

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2004
Location
England
Yeah, the slot will appear small each time it's embedded, but in a pop-up it's OK and can be expanded. I use Chrome sometimes as IE's flash has issues like freezing and stalling loading. To get the slot full screen in Chrome it's simple - click the menu top right (3 little lines) and go to 'zoom' and hit the right hand full screen logo to the right of the +/- controls. F11 to revert back.



If you want to change settings permanently for all pages:


Open Chrome at the top right, click More and then Settings - At the bottom, click Show advanced settings - Under Web Content make the changes that you want:

Change everything: Next to "Page zoom", click the Down Arrow. Then select the zoom option that you want.

Change font size: Next to "Font size", click the Down arrow Down Arrow. Then select the font size that you want.

Erm...on android?
 

dunover

Unofficial T&C's Editor
Staff member
webmeister
PABnonaccred
PABnononaccred
CAG
mm3
Joined
May 22, 2012
Location
the bus shelter, opposite GCHQ Benhall
Erm...on android?

Either disable screen compatibility mode or if you want to do it each time simply go to toggle controls and hide status bar.

I answered like I did because I have a touchscreen laptop which SOME sites think is an Android mobile device when I use Chrome...:p
 

Simmo!

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2004
Location
England
Either disable screen compatibility mode or if you want to do it each time simply go to toggle controls and hide status bar.

Can't see either of those options on my phone unfortunately. Checked Chrome settings and everything.
 

Simmo!

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2004
Location
England
Depends, what kind of android and which version and also ,which phone. !!

Samsung S7 latest version of android - but it was happening on my Xperia Z1 Compact on the previous version of Android too if memory serves.
 

Blathaon

Dormant account
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Location
Norway
I have been trying out a few slots on android just to see how the experience is improving. It's not an experience I'd choose yet but it is definitely gradually getting better, albeit slowly. But I have two questions that are bugging me where there may be solutions I am simply unaware of.

My first problem is, when I play a slot in the default browser (Chrome) in landscape mode, the browser address bar stays in place and makes the slot game tiny.

I have read up on this and it seems to be because the address bar auto-hides if it detects content that is deeper than the page. The problem is, the games scale to fit the page in many instances and so it never disappears. Anyone got any answer to this?

My second problem is sound: I know that HTML5 can only deal with one sound at a time but more often than not, I get no sounds at all from slots on android. Even reloading them seems to make no difference. Is that normal?

Cheers,

Simmo!

Without knowing what games, or rather which providers you have been playing it's hard to say.

Netent slots will run full screen, either by default or by dragging the screen up(it should go full screen then). Yggdrasil will go full screen when you hit spin, Play'n Go, just drag the screen up.
Microgaming have had quite poor mobile solutions, most of their games don't go full screen by default or by dragging the screen up. But you can get them to go almost full screen(the android status bar will still show but the browser address bar will be gone), just load up the game normally then go to settings and check "request desktop site" the game will reload and it should work.

Also some casinos have their own mobile apps that sometimes have a broader selection of slots(i know Betsson/Betsafe and Unibet have their own apps).

Hope this helps.
 

Simmo!

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2004
Location
England
Without knowing what games, or rather which providers you have been playing it's hard to say.

Netent slots will run full screen, either by default or by dragging the screen up(it should go full screen then). Yggdrasil will go full screen when you hit spin, Play'n Go, just drag the screen up.
Microgaming have had quite poor mobile solutions, most of their games don't go full screen by default or by dragging the screen up. But you can get them to go almost full screen(the android status bar will still show but the browser address bar will be gone), just load up the game normally then go to settings and check "request desktop site" the game will reload and it should work.

Also some casinos have their own mobile apps that sometimes have a broader selection of slots(i know Betsson/Betsafe and Unibet have their own apps).

Hope this helps.

Mainly Microgaming, WMS and Novomatic. I'll try the "Request Desktop Site" on the latter two - it doesn't make any difference with Microgaming but I've not tried WMS or Novo like that. Thanks.
 

slotter999

Dormant account
Joined
Oct 22, 2013
Location
UK
I play quite a bit on android. Netent games work super and like it or don't like it will always try and grab full screen. Same for most WMS in my experience. Play N Go sometimes have problems with scaling and weirdly a wipe of your cache can correct that. NxT games usually allow you to scroll around outside the edges to get the part of the screen in focus that.

MGS are just complete turd on the whole. Most common scenario for me is the screen being massively over magnified meaning you can't touch the bet button.

Elk and thunderkick are also very good.

Re: sound. Might be a bit too obvious but on quite a few games you need to enable it explicitly as by default it's switched off presumably to save on bandwidth.
 

syrus2

Banned User - repetitive trollish behavior
Joined
Jun 29, 2016
Location
Netherlands
Samsung S7 latest version of android - but it was happening on my Xperia Z1 Compact on the previous version of Android too if memory serves.

The main problem is 3D technology.

What samsung uses is not exactly what you can call : android .
Sumsung uses TouchWiz. Downside to this , is that makes the device slightly slower than a phone with Android. and more difficult to update (in terms of release time) and more important, impossible to install 3D technology an work with it .
.
IPhone is useing that. HTC as well (do'nt know which one). A m8 of mine, had the same problem. and he wanted a Phone with android. He swiched to HTC an the problem was over. u gonna have the last version android on it ( as he told me ).

Not sure about last part . sumthing he told me on Phone . But i know for sure many phones with android ve the same problems .
 

Blathaon

Dormant account
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Location
Norway
Mainly Microgaming, WMS and Novomatic. I'll try the "Request Desktop Site" on the latter two - it doesn't make any difference with Microgaming but I've not tried WMS or Novo like that. Thanks.

Ok, i tested with the newest MG slot "Jungle Jim" and the "Request Desktop site" worked there, but when i tried some older slots it didn't work so it seems like there are differences between the games...
However i did check the Betsson app and there they go full screen by default with no fiddling.
Screenshot_2016-09-16-19-08-30.jpg

You can play Novomatic full screen at Casumo by dragging the screen up(MG slots didn't go full screen though), i believe they also have WMS but i couldn't test that as WMS blocked Norway last year.
Screenshot_2016-09-16-19-32-50.jpg

It seems like mobile implementation varies a lot from casino to casino, so unfortunately you just have to test it where you want to play to see if it works or not :(
 

jjezebel37

Dormant account
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Location
Belfast (Northern Ireland)
I was loving playing on my Android up until a few weeks ago when my eyes started to hurt.
A trip to the doctors determined I had eye strain. It was a bloody nuisance for a two weeks and hurt sometimes.
I know it's a bit of a derail but just beware of gaming on your phones. I find holding the device at arms length helps.
 

syrus2

Banned User - repetitive trollish behavior
Joined
Jun 29, 2016
Location
Netherlands
I was loving playing on my Android up until a few weeks ago when my eyes started to hurt.
A trip to the doctors determined I had eye strain. It was a bloody nuisance for a two weeks and hurt sometimes.
I know it's a bit of a derail but just beware of gaming on your phones. I find holding the device at arms length helps.

Does'nt matter ( phone / laptop / pc / ..... ) ,

Gambling is just like a inviteing the grim reaper inside of yourself , speeding up aging.

So , be careful lol !!

Btw, hope gets better with ur eyes !!
 
Top