1. Follow Casinomeister on Twitter | Facebook | YouTube | Casinomeister.us US Residents Click here! |  Svenska Svenska | 
  2. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by following.Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Sister site to Casino Max launches

    Roaring 21 has just launched - sister casino to Casino Max, and they have a special promotion for you!! .They are in the Baptism by Fire - you can check them out here: Roaring 21 BBF and special promo.


    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
REGISTER NOW!! Why? Because you can't do diddly squat without having been registered!

At the moment you have limited access to view most discussions: you can't make contact with thousands of fellow players, affiliates, casino reps, and all sorts of other riff-raff.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join Casinomeister here!

Running RTG/Playtech/MG under Linux

Discussion in 'Online Casinos' started by fortyoz, Aug 3, 2004.

    Aug 3, 2004
  1. fortyoz

    fortyoz Dormant account

    Hey all

    I was bored tonight, tried out Playtech, MG & RTG under wine in Linux ( using VNC to connect to the linux machine ). Playtech & RTG both work fine, MG won't start. Had to use the wine latest snapshot as the one included with Debian Linux ( ver. Potato ) did not work. Someone might find the info useful ;)

    Note: Wine doesn't emulate windows, rather they've re-implemented most of windows programming calls ( libraries ) in portable C, so the application runs fast!

    Screenshot of Playtech:
     
  2. Jun 7, 2005
  3. pijak

    pijak Dormant account

    Occupation:
    It Contractor
    Location:
    UK
    Dragging up an old thread a bit here, but I just thought I'd confirm that MG casinos can be made to work under Linux.

    Unfortunately MG seems to rely on Internet Explorer, so you'll need Crossover Office to install that, then use CO again to install the casino. The only thing that doesn't work is the banking from within the software, you can get round this by using the instant play section of the casino's website (if they have one of course) to deposit and cashout. To do this obviously you need to install a flash that IE can use, but Crossover has a nice no-hassle installation routine for both Internet Explorer and its flash plugin.

    Hope that made sense to someone! I've got about 5 casinos installed now (Ladbrokes, 32Red, Gaming Room amongst others) on SuSE9.3 with CO 4.1, and they all work OK. It might look like a lot of hassle, and you'll have to spend a few quid on Crossover, but its sooooo nice not having to reboot into windows whenever I fancy a gamble :D
     
  4. Jun 7, 2005
  5. sharpgambler

    sharpgambler Webmaster

    Occupation:
    webmaster, research
    Location:
    www
    Microgaming flash runs activeX commands before running the flash casino, that I think mess it all.
     
  6. Jun 7, 2005
  7. pijak

    pijak Dormant account

    Occupation:
    It Contractor
    Location:
    UK
    If you install IE using Crossover Office then the MG flash things work fine, if a little sluggish. I'll provide screenshots if you want.
     
  8. Jun 8, 2005
  9. sharpgambler

    sharpgambler Webmaster

    Occupation:
    webmaster, research
    Location:
    www
    Nice to know since I sometimes use suse.
     
  10. Jun 8, 2005
  11. dominique

    dominique Dormant account

    Occupation:
    webmistress
    Location:
    The Boonies
    Ooops! Never mind. Didn't realize how old the first post was.
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2005

Share This Page