Roguish 888.com sells your info - or they have been hacked

The Dude

The artist formally known as Casinomeister
Joined
Jun 30, 1998
Location
Bierland
Just going through some of my email accounts that I've used to sign up at whatever casino. I use a unique email address that is not used anywhere else, and look what I found in my 888.com inbox:

Date: Sun, 29 Sep 2013 15:41:03 +0000 [09/29/2013 03:41:03 PM UTC]
From: Milla Ebsworth <[email protected]>Add [email protected] to my Address Book
To: 888 <[email protected]>Add [email protected] to my Address Book
Subject: Got a combo? take home 30 spins
JackpotCity invites you to tale a part in the the weekly scratch card treat.

It's simple: If you got a three number combination in the boxes above it means you got lucky!
You are getting 1,600eur welcome bonus + 30 spins to spend at JackpotCity.
Please signup for an account using the email address appears at the top of this message and we will make sure the bonus finds its way directly to your cashier.
One last thing... This card will expire at the end of the week so try to activate your account as soon as possible.

Register and get it today - xhttp://trk.assrvr1.com/7i0q/[email protected]


This was intended for: [email protected]
To no longer receive these recommendations: Go to this link - xhttp://trk.assrvr1.com/ebwk/[email protected]
If you did not give permission to receive emails from this sender, please notify us - xhttp://trk.assrvr1.com/00nc/[email protected]
:lolup:

What a laugh. Of course this company didn't have my permission to email me. Either my account details have been sold to some spammer company, or their database has been hacked. At least it's not a flood of emails. There is another nearly identical one for Redflush as well.
 
well, another reason not to play here lol.
If they sold it, I don't trust them. If they were hacked, they aren't very secure, and I don't trust them.
If they were indeed hacked, I don't recall seeing any PR by them suggesting people change their passwords to protect their account, which is very negligent of them...so, ya, again, don't trust them.

Rougeish? I'd say out and out rogue.
 
I noticed the links included a reference to my email address. Since I never clicked through them in September (when I first received these two emails), they probably assumed that it was an inactive email account. Since I now clicked them, they will be able to tell that it's a live account and perhaps I'll be getting some more unwelcome emails. I'll check back in a few days and see what happens.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Accredited Casinos

Read about our rating system and how it's done.
Back
Top