BODOG PATENT CASE A DRAW THUS FAR?
19 October 2007
In their first clash in court, neither side gets
what it wants
Bodog Entertainment Group, S.A. and 1st Technologies LLC
lawyers had their first clash before a Nevada judge this
week in their now 7 week old dispute over alleged patent
infringments, which led to Bodog being deprived of its
domains and whacked with a $49 million default judgement
(see previous InfoPowa reports).
Characteristically the more publicly vociferous of the
two, Bodog founder Calvin Ayre described this week's
court tussle as producing "disappointing results for
international fairness."
Bodog lawyers faced off against a highly experienced US
patent litigation team from Niro, Scavone, Haller & Niro
in the U.S. District Court for the District of Nevada,
presided over by Chief Judge Roger L. Hunt.
1st Technology's new request for a permanent injunction
to halt all Bodog business in the U.S. was denied, as
was a more recent "emergency" request to stop any
redirection of Internet traffic to BodogLife.com, the
new website and domain set up in record time by Ayre's
troops to counterattack the confiscation of the group's
key domains in the default judgement.
The U.S. federal judge found that 1st Technology's
motions for a permanent injunction were faulty and
requested inappropriate relief, saying that 1st
Technology "failed to satisfy the requirements for
permanent injunctive relief and in the Court's view, is
requesting relief beyond this Court's power to grant."
"Plaintiff failed to adequately address the four-prong
test that would satisfy the burden to obtain a permanent
injunction," the judge wrote in his decision.
In any event, the defendant in the lawsuit - Bodog
Entertainment Group, S.A. - does not have the legal
ability to affect any of the relief which 1st Technology
sought, so 1st Technology's two motions for permanent
injunctions were in many ways moot, Bodog claims.
The court also denied the request to transfer the
ownership of Bodog's trademarks to the plaintiff and the
plaintiff's request for bond. However, the domains
remain out of Bodog's control, too.
Following the hearing, Ayre wrote on his blog: "The
Costa Rican company they sued, Bodog Entertainment
Group, S.A., does not itself provide online services nor
did it ever operate or own any websites. It's not even
directly part of the Bodog Group of Companies, as it was
structured as a third party service provider, and it was
shut down operationally a year ago (end of September
2006). It merely provided some call center data entry
and domain management services for various entities that
use the Bodog name or provide online entertainment
services for Bodog.
"It was our intention to get the various Bodog domain
names back from this company and we were in the process
of this when they were hijacked."
Ayre continues, adding, "A company has to be running
websites to even potentially infringe a patent that 1st
Technology claims to cover websites.
"Though 1st Technology and its lawyer bosses are classic
patent trolls, this has never been a patent case; it has
always just been a legal system "stick up" where the
objective was always to grab the domain names and try to
force a monetary settlement, the legal equivalent of a
back alley mugging. Bad luck for them that they tried to
mug Bodog. We won the war immediately when we moved to
BodogLife.com so effortlessly and we will always be
BodogLife.com going forward, but we do want to protect
the various Bodog trademarks by getting back control of
some of the heisted domain names."
Bodog didn't get what it wanted either, it appears.
Chief Judge Hunt also denied Bodog Entertainment Group
S.A.'s motion to set aside the multi-million dollar and
domains control default judgment, which therefore
remains in force. Bodog plans to launch an appeal
against the decision; according to Ayre, a mix-up that
caused the official lawsuit notice to be served to an
office in Costa Rica meant that Bodog never officially
answered or defended itself against the charges.
"We regret that the judge in this case decided not to
let us open these legal issues, so in addition to the
inevitable appeal, we are also intending to open up new
legal fronts to ensure that this important issue is
given proper judicial review in the U.S.," Ayre said.
"This is the first time of which we are aware that a
non-U.S. company with zero operations or assets in the
U.S. has had its domain name seized with no prior notice
simply because it was using a U.S.-based domain name
registrar. We do not believe that domain names should be
allowed to be defined as assets to be seized for
purposes of collecting on a judgment."
Legal papers relating to the lawsuit can be found on
www.calvinayrelife.com.
Online Casino News courtesy of
InfoPowa
More news here.
Top of page |
Home |
News |
Forum |
Webcast |
Vortran |
Accredited Casinos |
Evil Ones |
Pitch a Bitch |
Online Gambling Resources |
Poker
|