DECEPTIVE MARKETING SCAM KILLED
25 January 2008
Job search link was a front for online gambling
portal
Australian academics were upset to discover this week
that a Sydney University careers website was unwittingly
directing potential job seekers to an online casino
portal operating under the guise of an Asian job site,
the Sydney Morning Herald reports..
The Sydney University Career Centre's website,
careers.usyd.edu.au, is designed to assist students and
staff in looking for jobs, and includes a page that
provides links to "overseas online job databases". One
such link - to http://www.asiajobsearch.org - proved on
closer inspection to be an Italian-language online
gambling information site featuring mainly
Playtech-powered Internet gambling venues called Giochi
Online, which is in turn apparently owned by IASP.org
and ATMI.org.
When contacted about the misdirection, a spokesman for
Sydney University said the link would be removed
immediately. "The url for that organisation has
obviously changed since the university checked the link
last year," he said. "The University of Sydney will also
be notifying the National Association of Graduate
Careers Centres to ensure that others are not misled,"
the spokesman added.
Online Casino News courtesy of
InfoPowa
More news here.
Top of page |
Home |
News |
Forum |
Webcast |
Vortran |
Accredited Casinos |
Evil Ones |
Pitch a Bitch |
Partner Links |
Poker
|