NO MONACO FOR AROUND PACIFIC
26 December 2008
Latest WIPO case finds for land casino; domain
transferred
The owners of the world famous land gambling brands
Casino de Monte Carlo and Casino de Monaco, La Société
des Bains de Mer et du cercle des étrangers à Monaco,
has won a branding case against Australian online casino
company Around Pacific, resulting in an order that the
domain name Casino-Monaco-Gold.com be transferred to the
plaintiff.
Case No. D2008-1616 at the WIPO Arbitration and
Mediation Center was handled by Debra J. Stanek
following submissions in October 2008 from the land
casino operation that the Go Daddy-registered domain
name infringed their rights.
The land casino claimed that it was granted a monopoly
in Monaco by a government authorisation dating back to
1863, and since then has operated land gambling
operations in the principality. It also legitimately
uses the Internet domain Monte Carlo Casino.com.
Despite this, Around Pacific registered the disputed
domain name Casino-monaco-gold.com on January 15, 2006.
The domain name currently resolves to a GoDaddy parking
page offering a variety of links to gambling related
websites.
La Société des Bains de Mer et du cercle des étrangers à
Monaco claimed that the domain name is identical or
confusingly similar to a trademark or service mark in
which it has rights as the founder and manager of the
Casino de Monte Carlo in Monaco, which it has operated
for more than 140 years. The Casino de Monte Carlo has
become famous worldwide and is one of the most
recognized symbols of the Principality of Monaco. It
attracts a clientele from numerous countries.
Since April 2, 1863, complainant has been granted by the
authorities of the Principality of Monaco a monopoly for
casino and gambling industries within the territory of
Monaco, and is therefore the sole company that can
organise games and gambling in Monaco. The trade marks
Casino de Monaco and Casino de Monte-Carlo were
registered some years ago and the disputed domain is
confusingly similar to both. The registrants of the
domain name are geographically distant from Monaco,
being based in Australia, and they have not received any
authorisation from Monaco officials to use the terms.
The disputed domain name was therefore registered in bad
faith, and is using complainant’s trademark and global
fame to attract Internet users to visit Internet
directories that are linked to casino websites. This
conduct results in commercial gain for the owner of such
portal website, as many websites remunerate Around
Pacific for each click-through giving access to their
site.
Around Pacific contended that the disputed domain name
consists of three common words: casino (meaning a
gambling place), Monaco (referring to a nation or the
name of a location), and gold (referring to a metal, but
sometimes meaning luckiness, wealth, etc). None of the
words in the mark is identical or confusingly similar to
complainant’s mark. The disputed domain name does not
contain a comparable unique term.
Stanek said that in order to prevail, the complainant
must show that the domain is identical or confusingly
similar to a mark in which complainant has rights; that
the respondent has no legitimate claim or rights to it
and it has been registered and is being used in bad
faith.
She found that the complainant had met these
requirements and ordered that the domain name be
transferred to the complainant.
The case is of interest to online gambling operators,
because there are at least seven (and perhaps more)
online gambling websites powered by almost all the major
software providers that use the names Monaco and Monte
Carlo in their domains...could they be next on La
Société des Bains de Mer et du cercle des étrangers à
Monaco's clean-up list?
Online Casino News courtesy of
InfoPowa
More news here.
Top of page |
Home |
News |
Forum |
Webcast |
Vortran |
Accredited Casinos |
Evil Ones |
Pitch a Bitch |
Online Gambling Resources |
Poker
|