Online Casinos - Casinomeister Logo Online Casinos - Casinomeister
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 36 of 36

Thread: Spyware Issues (was Bellrock Warning)

  1. #31
    Black21Jack's Avatar
    Black21Jack is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    590
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation Points: 5
    Quote Originally Posted by casinomeister
    I've renamed and moved the thread since this has nothing to do with Bellerock or any of their casinos. I've just spoken with one of their reps on the phone - and he has assured me that this is not coming from them - obviously.
    Well I usually do not post warnings about a casino or say anything that may hurt their business unless I have proof but I did go to the site bellerock.com and downloaded the software from there which is the same website (or looks identical) as www.bellerockgaming.com and I can say with 100% certainty that it was the software for home casino downloaded from bellrock.com that caused this to happen. I was informed by another member that bellrock.com is an affiliate site and is no way owned by bellrockgaming.com, if this is the caase I apologize to Bell Rock Gaming. But if you visit bellerockgaming.com, and also visit bellerock.com you will see why I was sure it was owned by them. If not they should be informed of this problem so that it does not affect them in a negative way. I am going to download the software again and see what happens. With all the security features installed on my computer now it should catch any funny business when I install the software downloaded from bellerock.com

  2. #32
    jpm
    jpm is offline Dormant account
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    2,048
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 18 Times in 6 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation Points: 124
    Bryan, you should notify the bellerock people about this affiliate site. I think they would frown on a site that installs scumware while impersonating their good name.

    B21J, glad to hear you're back to normal!

  3. #33
    Casinomeister's Avatar
    Casinomeister is offline Cheermeister Achievements:
    Meister ReferrerVeteranCreated Album picturesCreated Blog entry50000 Experience Points
    Join Date
    Jun 1998
    Location
    We be chillin'...
    Posts
    19,034
    Blog Entries
    7
    Thanks
    3,212
    Thanked 11,262 Times in 3,878 Posts
    Rep Power
    15
    Reputation Points: 59589
    Quote Originally Posted by jpm
    Bryan, you should notify the bellerock people about this affiliate site. I think they would frown on a site that installs scumware while impersonating their good name.
    I don't think this site has anything to do with it - it belongs to Bellerock BTW, it's not an affiliate site.

    I think Black21Jack picked up this program from somewhere else, since it seems he is the only person who has had this problem - and twice already.

    Black21Jack - is there any way you can trace your steps to find out where you picked up this trojan/scumware/spyware whatever? It would be great to know from where this was generated from.
    Beer is living proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy
    ~Ben Franklin

    Useful links: ~ Accredited Casinos ~ I-Gaming Representatives ~ Evil Section ~ My Wish List ~ Donate Now!

  4. #34
    Black21Jack's Avatar
    Black21Jack is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    590
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation Points: 5
    Quote Originally Posted by casinomeister
    I don't think this site has anything to do with it - it belongs to Bellerock BTW, it's not an affiliate site.

    I think Black21Jack picked up this program from somewhere else, since it seems he is the only person who has had this problem - and twice already.

    Black21Jack - is there any way you can trace your steps to find out where you picked up this trojan/scumware/spyware whatever? It would be great to know from where this was generated from.
    I had said in the original post that I did not download anything from anywhere for months. The only casino software installed has been a couple of RTG's such as Gold Circle, Leopard Rock and a re install of Phoenician. I know it was not from them because it did not happen until I installed Home Casino. I know these spy programs are very tricky and it is hard to track, but honestly, I have not put anything on my computer other than the RTG's and Home Casino. I have never played at any casino in the Belle Rock group so I have absolutely no reason to say anything about them or make anything up, and as I said earlier I apologize if it has nothing to do with them. I did as I said above and downloaded Home Casino from Bellrock.com again today. I have all the security programs, virus detectors, spy cleaners that were advised to me in this thread. After I installed Home Casino I removed it completely from the computer using the Control Panel Add/Remove. Right after I removed it I got a warning from the program Antivir that I downloaded and it said it detected a file called TR/Spy.Montp.B.2 which it classified as a Trojan Horse. Again, no proof it came from the Home software, but I have not downloaded anything since I cleaned my computer of the other mess, and installed all the security programs. I don't know what else to say on the matter. It is weird that it only happens to me, but like I said I have no reason to make up anything about Belle Rock so I am just posting what actually happens. I have a question, can these programs get on your computer simply by visiting a website? or do you need to execute a program? I never download unknown files, or emails, and I delete all emails with attachments if they are not from friends. I am very carefull with these things. I will try to retrace my steps and see what I can come up with and I will keep everyone updated.
    Last edited by Black21Jack; 29th June 2004 at 12:39 AM.

  5. #35
    kniepm's Avatar
    kniepm is offline Dormant account
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    119
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation Points: 29
    You don't need to download anything for this shit to make its way onto your system. I had an identical problem a few weeks ago. I'm sure my infection was the result of visiting some tawdry T&A sites. After that, some search page I wanted no part of became my home page. Norton detected the problem and gave instructions to remove the problem files.

  6. #36
    sirius is offline Banned User - repetitive violations of posting rule 1.11 Exploiting the board for own personal agenda.
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    520
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation Points: 20
    .....
    I apologize if it has nothing to do with them. I did as I said above and downloaded Home Casino from Bellrock.com again today. I have all the security programs, virus detectors, spy cleaners that were advised to me in this thread. After I installed Home Casino I removed it completely from the computer using the Control Panel Add/Remove. Right after I removed it I got a warning from the program Antivir that I downloaded and it said it detected a file called TR/Spy.Montp.B.2 which it classified as a Trojan Horse. Again, no proof it came from the Home software, but I have not downloaded anything since I cleaned my computer of the other mess, and installed all the security programs. I don't know what else to say on the matter. It is weird that it only happens to me, but like I said I have no reason to make up anything about Belle Rock so I am just posting what actually happens. I have a question, can these programs get on your computer simply by visiting a website? or do you need to execute a program?
    ....
    You don't need to download anything to get infected other than visit a website, but if you have all the Windows updates and an updated operating system, there shouldn't be any problems. A lot of people still use older operating systems with no security updates.

    From you description, it seems like this bellerock.com site (which certainly belongs to Belle Rock Gaming and is on the same server as bellerockgaming.com) is doing something iffy. Which link did you use to download Home Casino? It looks like there are a couple of different links to the download.

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Legal Statements and Privacy Policy
Casinomeister.com does not intend for any of the information contained on this website to be used for illegal purposes. You must ensure you meet all age and other regulatory requirements before entering a casino or placing a wager. Online gambling is illegal in many jurisdictions and users should consult legal counsel regarding the legal status of online gambling and gaming in their jurisdictions. The information in this site is for news and entertainment purposes only. Casinomeister.com is an independent directory and information service free of any gaming operator's control. Links to third party websites on Casinomeister.com are provided solely for informative/educational purposes. If you use these links, you leave this Website.