Online Casinos - Casinomeister Logo Online Casinos - Casinomeister
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: F***ing Spam - To work email!!

  1. #1
    shaunm is offline Dormant account
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Wigan
    Posts
    100
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 72 Times in 36 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation Points: 370

    F***ing Spam - To work email!!

    got this email earlier today, to my frickin' work email, not hotmail WORK! how the hell do people get a hold of my work email? this is the only place i use it so it makes me think it's someone on here

    From: Imelda Benton [kyhyvyso06719@hotmail.com]
    Subject: Experience the best online casino entertainment on the Internet

    Try the award winning Spin Palace casino and you could be our next big winner!

    If your email program is unable to open hyperlinks, please copy and

    paste this URL into the address bar of your browser.> hxxp://ErwinGrayUZ.googlepages.com

    ------------------------

    I work for totesport so how the hell could someone get my work addy?!
    Last edited by shaunm; 17th November 2007 at 03:43 PM. Reason: link

  2. #2
    GGW Laurie's Avatar
    GGW Laurie is offline " The Southern Belle "
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    somewhere in the south
    Posts
    4,278
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    9,111
    Thanked 5,244 Times in 2,042 Posts
    Rep Power
    181
    Reputation Points: 27117
    that is strange shaunm only a few select few have my personal addy here, this is weird indeed, keep us posted........laurie
    "Courage is the discovery that you may not win, and trying when you know you can lose."
    - Tom Krause


    Gamblers Go Wild Forum

  3. #3
    SlotsWizard is offline Dormant account
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    North of Antarctica
    Posts
    1,657
    Thanks
    1,664
    Thanked 1,558 Times in 774 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation Points: 8259
    Quote Originally Posted by shaunm View Post
    got this email earlier today, to my frickin' work email, not hotmail WORK! how the hell do people get a hold of my work email? this is the only place i use it so it makes me think it's someone on here

    From: Imelda Benton [kyhyvyso06719@hotmail.com]
    Subject: Experience the best online casino entertainment on the Internet

    Try the award winning Spin Palace casino and you could be our next big winner!

    If your email program is unable to open hyperlinks, please copy and

    paste this URL into the address bar of your browser.> hxxp://ErwinGrayUZ.googlepages.com

    ------------------------

    I work for totesport so how the hell could someone get my work addy?!
    Interesting that the address goes to a googlepages subdomain. That makes it nice and easy to figure out that the spammer is ErwinGrayUZ@gmail.com. They didn't use their GMail account to send it but you can probably report them to Google now that you know at least one of their account names.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to SlotsWizard For This Useful Post:

    shaunm (18th November 2007)

  5. #4
    shaunm is offline Dormant account
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Wigan
    Posts
    100
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 72 Times in 36 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation Points: 370
    thanks slotswizard, i'll send that email now!

  6. #5
    KasinoKing's Avatar
    KasinoKing is offline WebMeister & Slotaholic..
    Achievements:
    VeteranCreated Album picturesCreated Blog entry50000 Experience PointsSocial Magnet!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Hastings, UK
    Posts
    8,853
    Blog Entries
    7
    Thanks
    5,181
    Thanked 5,316 Times in 2,625 Posts
    Rep Power
    219
    Reputation Points: 28666
    I got the exact same e-mail to my work e-mail too!

    What is more disturbing than just the fact that spammers somehow got my e-mail address, is that once again it is from the otherwise reputable Palace group of casinos.
    Smile, it may never happen...
    KasinoKing's News < Rival release their first ever 50-line slot.
    SIX new softwares to try ~ Reel Layouts and Jackpot Odds ~ New USA Friendly Casinos!

  7. #6
    vinylweatherman's Avatar
    vinylweatherman is offline Typus Infinitus Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience PointsOverdrivePeople Likes You
    Awards:
    Frequent PosterCommunity AwardMost Popular
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    10,795
    Thanks
    414
    Thanked 6,844 Times in 3,671 Posts
    Rep Power
    271
    Reputation Points: 37443
    Quote Originally Posted by KasinoKing View Post
    I got the exact same e-mail to my work e-mail too!

    What is more disturbing than just the fact that spammers somehow got my e-mail address, is that once again it is from the otherwise reputable Palace group of casinos.
    This is getting out of hand now. Earlier, someone spammed this forum, and Casinomeister informed the affiliate scheme, and had their account closed the same day. This was so easy, so why is it such a big deal for other casinos to have the accounts of rogue affiliates closed as fast (if at all!).

    Are these spammers doing something blindingly clever to enable their affiliate tag to be untraceable, yet still credit them for the acquired players?

    Does the link ACTUALLY produce "Spin Palace" or is this another "Jupiter Club" download?

    Soon, this indiscriminate spamming will begin to seem to be targeting children*, and this will be seen as worse than spamming work E-mail addresses.
    What is unique about this as opposed to the general "Viagra" spam, is that the sponsoring company is very clearly identified, and very easily traced, so if someone in high authority wanted to make something of it they would levy the penalties on the spammed company rather than trying to track the spammers. They would argue that as the spammers receive payment for introductions, they are agents of the casino company, and legal responsibility for policing the agents rests with that company.
    It has already happened here. Our energy companies contracted out selling to firms of sales advisors, but didn't vet them too carefully, and mis-selling was rife. It was the energy companies that had to pay the massive fines, not the individual sales firms who mis-sold, as the energy companies were deemed responsible for they sales force, whether directly employed or subcontracted to another company.
    Casinos are only getting away with this because they are in cyberspace, and they have to be proscecuted in a country other than where the offence has been committed. the UK whitelist is the only way the UK has of taking sanctions, and in the current form it is licencing juristictions, not individual casinos, that are admitted.




    * not by any means the worst spam hitting children's accounts, they get all these offers for Viagra, Hoodia, "Patches", and even free porn - but surely the online casino industry does not want to be lumped in with this lot, as they already are in the view of most anti-spam product providers.
    Empty Fruities Astern Capt'n
    Back to port for unloading.
    Full Sails - before we get raided ourselves.

Similar Threads

  1. Is this the worst customer service ever?
    By hobbithumper in forum Bingo!
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 3rd June 2008, 09:31 PM
  2. [ROGUE] TajmahalPalaceCasino are crooks of the highest order
    By TomT in forum Casino Complaints - Bonus Issues
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: 30th March 2008, 07:51 PM
  3. HippoJo - bad casino, unprofessional
    By thelawnet in forum Casino Complaints - Non-Bonus Issues
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 31st July 2007, 06:24 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Legal Statements and Privacy Policy
Casinomeister.com does not intend for any of the information contained on this website to be used for illegal purposes. You must ensure you meet all age and other regulatory requirements before entering a casino or placing a wager. Online gambling is illegal in many jurisdictions and users should consult legal counsel regarding the legal status of online gambling and gaming in their jurisdictions. The information in this site is for news and entertainment purposes only. Casinomeister.com is an independent directory and information service free of any gaming operator's control. Links to third party websites on Casinomeister.com are provided solely for informative/educational purposes. If you use these links, you leave this Website.