|
|||
|
|||||||
| Register | All Albums | Member Blogs | FAQ | Members List | Mark Forums Read | |||
| Main Site | CM Casinos | CM Poker | I-Gaming Forum Reps | Rogue Pit | Webcast | Bitchin' Newsletter | News |
| Notices |
| Sportsbook Complaints Here you can bitch and moan about sportsbooks. |
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
|||
|
Tonight I received a call from 1-800-818-1000. It was only a couple seconds long before it was disconnected; it sounded like a bad connection.
I googled the number and lo and behold, it's BetRoyal. I have never signed up at BetRoyal (I've read ALL about them here and at SBR). If someone shared my phone number with them, then obviously they shared my name and address too. That's bullshit. If there's one group I DON'T want to have my name and address, it's THIS ONE. Does anyone know which casinos these scumbags are in bed with? |
|
||||
|
Robot
That sounds like a robot dialler. The main symtom of these is the disconnect after 2 seconds when you answer (due to the fact it cannot forward the connection to a sales agent).
I am sure it is against casino T & C to use a Robot, so they seem to be breaching their own T & C It does not mean they necessarily have your number, these robots cycle through all possible number combinations till they get lucky, one way to tell is that if connected to an agent they will not be able to address you by name. If they call you by name, then they have a list of names & numbers. If this is a marketing call from an online SPORTSBOOK, from a US phone number, you should be able to make a complaint since sports betting by phone is one thing that IS illegal. At best, they will have the phone number confiscated as they are marketing an illegal activity. This trick is often tried here in the UK, and usually the number comes from offshore, so our own authorities have trouble chasing them. If the caller is using a number regulated by our own authorities, or those in the EU, we can make a complaint based not just on marketing an unlawful activity, but breach of privacy laws if our number has been registered as "do not call" for marketing purposes.
__________________
http://www.vinylweatherman.net The woefully out of date guide to Fruit Machines on the UK Motorway network. |
| The Following User Says Thank You to vinylweatherman For This Useful Post: | ||
SlotsWizard (7th October 2006) | ||
|
|||
|
I suppose that's possible, but I could hear what sounded like muffled voices as soon as I picked up the phone. There was one that sounded like it was a few inches away from the phone, and some more that were a few to several feet from the phone.
In the U.S. when you have been dialed by a robot, there is silence on the other end for a few seconds while the call is being transferred to an "agent"... that silence is your cue to hang up quick before they come on the line. And those "do not call" lists are about as useful as [insert joke here]. But this seemed different; there were muffled voices as soon as I picked up. Well, it was a full moon last night, so I'll just chalk it up to that... ![]() |
|
|||
|
Well, I for one am worried about the coincidence, of an online group as shady as BetRoyal having my phone number, to cold call me on.
The question is " what other info. would they have on me?" And further " Who sold them my info. ?" Mailing lists and customer information lists are sold every day. For years we players in the U.S. have been providing very sensitive, personal info. to offshore companies. This is not trivial information, far from it. Names, addresses, SSN's, phone numbers, date of birth, copies of utility bills, scans of both sides of ID cards, email addy's. We were forced to provide this info. if we wanted to play at sites - Good, Bad, and Ugly - for real money, and were fortunate enough to cash out. Now those very businesses that we provided that info. to, just lost the majority of our / their business, and are bleeding money, and profits. Are these casinoes, sportbooks, poker rooms, going to still keep our sensitive info. private? Or sell it to the highest bidder ? Include the affiliates here, not just the gambling firms. Lots of these companies have already washed their hands of our future business/ action. Why wouldn't they sell this info. for just one last drop of corporate profit ? REOdeathwagon |
| The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to REOdeathwagon For This Useful Post: | ||
cyprean (17th October 2006), SlotsWizard (21st October 2006) | ||
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
How they use your info
Quote:
|
|
||||
|
This is one of the things that people overlook with the shady casinos I think. They chase a bonus and think well maybe just the once and end up on a list that's been sold on by the same people.
__________________
++++ OGGS.com Online Casino Reviews ++++ 100 Casinos Listed By US State ++++ ++++ |
|
||||
|
Betroyal is prism is cirrus is gamblingwages is tej kholi etc...
__________________
Jon-Jon Keegan Affiliate Director Jon-Jon@G3partner.com G3partner Affiliate Program PlayShare Affiliate Program |
| The Following User Says Thank You to Jon-Jon For This Useful Post: | ||
SlotsWizard (26th October 2006) | ||
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
Casinomeister is proud to present the following quality portals
Online Casinos | GoneGambling | Online Casino Reviews
| Wizard of Odds | Games and Casino | Online Poker Rooms | BetOnCharity | Winneronline | Online Casinos| Online Slots |
Online Casino Reviews
Legal Statements and Privacy Policy
Casinomeister.com does not intend for any of the information contained on this website to be used for illegal purposes. You must ensure you meet all age and other regulatory requirements before entering a casino or placing a wager. Online gambling is illegal in many jurisdictions and users should consult legal counsel regarding the legal status of online gambling and gaming in their jurisdictions. The information in this site is for news and entertainment purposes only. Casinomeister.com is an independent directory and information service not affiliated with any casino. Links to third party websites on Casinomeister.com are provided solely for informative/educational purposes. If you use these links, you leave this Website.