Online Casinos - Casinomeister Logo Online Casinos - Casinomeister
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Paypal strange email

  1. #1
    The Watchdog's Avatar
    The Watchdog is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Costa Rica
    Posts
    558
    Thanks
    73
    Thanked 95 Times in 75 Posts
    Rep Power
    29
    Reputation Points: 463

    Paypal strange email

    I received this email yesterday. Weird since I have never opened a Paypay account.

    Could this be a moronic advertisement technique for me to contact and get persuaded to open one??

    Check it out

    -----------------------------------

    Unauthorized access to your PayPal account!


    We recently noticed more attempts to log in to your PayPal account from a foreign IP address.

    If you accessed your account while traveling, the unusual log in attempts may have been initiated by you. However, if you are the rightfull holder of the account, please visit Paypal as soon as possible to verify your identity:
    Click here to verify your account






    You can also verify your account by logging into your PayPal account at https://www.paypal.com/us/.

    If you choose to ignore our request, you leave us no choise but to temporaly suspend your account.

    We ask that you allow at least 72 hours for the case to be investigated and we strongly recommend to verify your account in that time.

    Thank you for using PayPal!
    The PayPal Team

    Please do not reply to this email. This mailbox is not monitored and you will not receive a response. For assistance, log in to your PayPal account and choose the Help link located in the top right corner of any PayPal page.

    To receive email notifications in plain text instead of HTML, update your preferences here.



    PayPal Email ID PP468

  2. #2
    kingfile64 is offline Dormant account
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    81
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation Points: 52
    This is a scam. Do not respond. I received the same letter about 6 months ago. The link sends you to a bogus page that looks like the real paypal page.They are trying to steal your account info.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to kingfile64 For This Useful Post:

    The Watchdog (25th September 2006)

  4. #3
    amatrine's Avatar
    amatrine is offline Crazy Cat Lady Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience PointsFriends R Us
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Arizona City, Az
    Posts
    867
    Thanks
    403
    Thanked 184 Times in 129 Posts
    Rep Power
    50
    Reputation Points: 1059

    Re

    Never open any link from an email. Always goto a the website manually and you should be ok.

    Ama
    " We are painting the Roses Red"

  5. #4
    BingoT's Avatar
    BingoT is offline Nurses love to give shots Achievements:
    Your first GroupVeteranCreated Album picturesCreated Blog entry50000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Hartford,Ct
    Posts
    4,072
    Blog Entries
    38
    Thanks
    1,381
    Thanked 2,843 Times in 1,917 Posts
    Rep Power
    126
    Reputation Points: 15084

    I get them all the time. At least 8 a week

    I get them all the time. At least 8 a week
    I called PayPal about this and they once told me to send it to this paypal email address and I did this for 6 months and they told me it would stop but they kept popping in my Email So I said hell with this I never sent one again.
    I look at it this way that's why they have a delete button so you don't even have to look at it.

  6. #5
    Mousey's Avatar
    Mousey is online now Ueber Meister Mouse Achievements:
    VeteranCreated Album pictures25000 Experience PointsOverdriveSocial Magnet!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Up$hitCreek
    Posts
    3,051
    Thanks
    2,488
    Thanked 2,659 Times in 1,428 Posts
    Rep Power
    117
    Reputation Points: 14013
    It's a phishing scam. I get half a dozen per week in my various email accounts. I have also received similar emails phishing for IDs for CitiBank, Regions, Wells Fargo, and any number of other banking methods.

    I pity the unwary.
    Alice: But I don't want to go among mad people.
    The Cat: Oh, you can't help that. We're all mad here. I'm mad. You're mad.

  7. #6
    frufrugirl's Avatar
    frufrugirl is offline Senior Member Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience Points
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    somewhere out there
    Posts
    475
    Thanks
    375
    Thanked 163 Times in 114 Posts
    Rep Power
    30
    Reputation Points: 842
    Hi BingoT! I understand your reaction. I got one of these too. It is a scam. I called PayPal rather than open it, had a nice long talk with the Csr. They warned to keep up our guard and forward any others we get to them, for every one, there are a hundred more. They are prolific! Somehow this group is getting your email address. If I were you, I'd keep on sending this off to Paypal.
    Bad girl! No No!

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to frufrugirl For This Useful Post:

    BingoT (30th September 2006)

  9. #7
    atulperx is offline Dormant account
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    india
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation Points: 10
    yes there are many tricks to scam innocents they can send you mail about ebay product or like your account password has been changed pleas make us know is that you who did this .I noticed that there wer similair stories about paypal ,Visit this site for best solution aboutpaypal.org .

  10. #8
    pokerpal is offline Dormant account
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Botwood
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation Points: 15
    Yes these scams go with virtually any business that does transactions online. No legitimate e-commerce web site would ask you to click on links to verify info. Never click on these links...EVER. You can tell it's fake by hovering your mouse over the link (not clicking on) that is displayed. You will then see the true link. Then send the email to the support/security email address, so that the security teams can get the website shut down, and possibly prosecute the crystal meth smokers.

  11. #9
    winbig's Avatar
    winbig is offline mmmm, Foxy.
    Achievements:
    VeteranCreated Album picturesCreated Blog entry50000 Experience PointsPeople Likes You
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    8,229
    Blog Entries
    4
    Thanks
    1,371
    Thanked 3,608 Times in 2,120 Posts
    Rep Power
    166
    Reputation Points: 19093
    If you get these, forward them to spoof@paypal.com

    They will shut the site down asap.
    Operators: If you don't know what Transparency means, then here you go.....now how about practicing it?

    Transparency, as used in the humanities and in a social context more generally, implies openness, communication, and accountability. It is a metaphorical extension of the meaning a "transparent" object is one that can be seen through. ...

Similar Threads

  1. POTENTIAL SPAM WARNING!! Player lists for sale.
    By Casinomeister in forum Online Casinos
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 18th January 2008, 09:28 PM
  2. Casino US Loyalty Scam
    By brianzz in forum Casino Complaints - Bonus Issues
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 16th August 2006, 05:37 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Legal Statements and Privacy Policy
Casinomeister.com does not intend for any of the information contained on this website to be used for illegal purposes. You must ensure you meet all age and other regulatory requirements before entering a casino or placing a wager. Online gambling is illegal in many jurisdictions and users should consult legal counsel regarding the legal status of online gambling and gaming in their jurisdictions. The information in this site is for news and entertainment purposes only. Casinomeister.com is an independent directory and information service free of any gaming operator's control. Links to third party websites on Casinomeister.com are provided solely for informative/educational purposes. If you use these links, you leave this Website.