
Originally Posted by
skiny
I get an email, junk of course but it addresses me by my first name and says I've won $1000. If I actually got every $1000 dollars I won in an email I'd be retired with my own island by now.
Anyway... The link I'm supposed to click is actually a
www.google.com/reader/ - and a bunch of numbers. So I get curious and go see what it is.
It's a casino ad for Casino King Dice (whateverthehell that is.) I guess they don't have a website? Listed under 88bokunagivosa124's shared items.
Anyone know what a bokunagivosa is?
It's a bunch of semi-random characters, used for generating a pointer to an internal location in a website. This cloaking is often used by affiliates who send out spam. It directs to some kind of cheap or free hosting subdomain, picks up their affiliate tag, and then redirects again on to the main casino site. If you have been addressed by name, and it isn't obvious from your email address, then you are being spammed by someone who has bought your details in the form of a mailing list including your name, as well as your email address, and maybe other information too (such as interested in bonus offers).
These "you have won $xxxxx" offers usually relate to a "free play" offer, similar to those brought out by Microgaming, where you play with a large amount of free money, but can only keep a very small amount of winnings, and this is usually in the form of a bonus, with a deposit required, and even more wagering to be completed.
Empty Fruities Astern Capt'n
Back to port for unloading.
Full Sails - before we get raided ourselves.
Bookmarks