Online Casinos - Casinomeister Logo Online Casinos - Casinomeister
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: What to do about this email

  1. #1
    lauram's Avatar
    lauram is offline Senior Member Achievements:
    Your first GroupVeteranCreated Album pictures10000 Experience PointsSocial Magnet!
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    1,219
    Thanks
    592
    Thanked 524 Times in 371 Posts
    Rep Power
    37
    Reputation Points: 2958

    What to do about this email

    Ok so this landed in junk we all know the casino and get spam by others trying to get us to join under their name so they can get a cut back. Ok so here is the twist only reason i opened this email it was sent from a well established newspaper email addy here in toronto.
    jfimxqjoyad@theglobeandmail.com
    Download your dreams... three easy steps and you're $2400 in the money!

    Register, download, play!!
    At Big Money you discover what thousands know - biggest prizes, best games, largest
    jackpot, best odds, dedicated service! Safe, Secure, FUN!
    Claim your prizes and winning dices.
    Play for an hour and find out what nice is.
    http://casinoreview
    Suggestions anyone should i contact this newspaper and tell them employees are using their work email to promote casinos.

  2. #2
    aminair is offline Banned User
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation Points: 10
    Their email domain is xxxxxx@globeandmail.ca so i think you can sleep at night now.

  3. #3
    Fleur-De-Lis's Avatar
    Fleur-De-Lis is offline Senior Member Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience PointsPeople Likes YouFriends R Us
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    CY
    Posts
    388
    Thanks
    302
    Thanked 162 Times in 93 Posts
    Rep Power
    21
    Reputation Points: 788
    Quote Originally Posted by lauram View Post
    Download your dreams... three easy steps and you're $2400 in the money!
    Register, download, play!!.
    Oh NOOO! Not $2400... I am getting these emails for over 2 months now, email addresses are different, both free emails and decent-looking addys, casino names are different (most of them .tk) but this $2400 and message text is pretty much the same. I blocked like 50 addresses, but these darn emails keep coming... grrr-rr

    Guess newspaper has nothing to do with this. It is relatively easy for a spammer to make return address appear to be anything they like. Think of paypal phishing emails, pretending to be sent from your-account_suspended@paypal.com

  4. #4
    vinylweatherman's Avatar
    vinylweatherman is offline Ueber Meister Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience PointsOverdrivePeople Likes YouFriends R Us
    Awards:
    Frequent PosterCommunity AwardMost Popular
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    10,224
    Thanks
    373
    Thanked 6,441 Times in 3,454 Posts
    Rep Power
    257
    Reputation Points: 35319
    Quote Originally Posted by Fleur-De-Lis View Post
    Oh NOOO! Not $2400... I am getting these emails for over 2 months now, email addresses are different, both free emails and decent-looking addys, casino names are different (most of them .tk) but this $2400 and message text is pretty much the same. I blocked like 50 addresses, but these darn emails keep coming... grrr-rr

    Guess newspaper has nothing to do with this. It is relatively easy for a spammer to make return address appear to be anything they like. Think of paypal phishing emails, pretending to be sent from your-account_suspended@paypal.com
    This casino is a prolific spammer, and the sheer volume of these indicates the casino are actively supporting the spamming campaign. It has several names, such as Golden Gate & Gold VIP, however the .tk domain owners are quick to shut their sites down when reported, but it makes little difference as they are simply set up again. I am sure that eventually the .tk domain will itself be blacklisted due to the prolific spamming and seeming inability to control it - it will then be useless for legitimate users, including those who pay for their domains.

    Blocking any reference to this .tk domain within your spam filter rules should stop all of these, even when they move domains. The $2400 bonus is also a dead giveaway.

    The owners of .tk need to go further than just shutting down spammers, they need to make the registration process more robust so that they cannot simply register another domain to replace the one shut down.
    Empty Fruities Astern Capt'n
    Back to port for unloading.
    Full Sails - before we get raided ourselves.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to vinylweatherman For This Useful Post:

    Fleur-De-Lis (6th July 2008)

  6. #5
    lauram's Avatar
    lauram is offline Senior Member Achievements:
    Your first GroupVeteranCreated Album pictures10000 Experience PointsSocial Magnet!
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    1,219
    Thanks
    592
    Thanked 524 Times in 371 Posts
    Rep Power
    37
    Reputation Points: 2958
    I would never deposit there i get like 20 emails a day with this 2400. Only reason i opened this one was from a private person with the newspapers email addy on it. When i went into the newspaper sure enough there is a person working there now i dont take this newspaper subscription so how did they get my name and addy. Just thought a little strange a employee of theirs could use their work address to promote this site.

  7. #6
    vinylweatherman's Avatar
    vinylweatherman is offline Ueber Meister Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience PointsOverdrivePeople Likes YouFriends R Us
    Awards:
    Frequent PosterCommunity AwardMost Popular
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    10,224
    Thanks
    373
    Thanked 6,441 Times in 3,454 Posts
    Rep Power
    257
    Reputation Points: 35319
    Quote Originally Posted by lauram View Post
    I would never deposit there i get like 20 emails a day with this 2400. Only reason i opened this one was from a private person with the newspapers email addy on it. When i went into the newspaper sure enough there is a person working there now i dont take this newspaper subscription so how did they get my name and addy. Just thought a little strange a employee of theirs could use their work address to promote this site.
    If this was a genuine Email address, not just a domain, it would be worth alerting the paper about it, as it could create problems for their domain/server if enough of these go out and they get a domain blacklisting.
    Empty Fruities Astern Capt'n
    Back to port for unloading.
    Full Sails - before we get raided ourselves.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to vinylweatherman For This Useful Post:

    GGW Laurie (6th July 2008)

  9. #7
    GGW Laurie's Avatar
    GGW Laurie is offline " The Southern Belle "
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    somewhere in the south
    Posts
    4,272
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    9,047
    Thanked 5,189 Times in 2,033 Posts
    Rep Power
    178
    Reputation Points: 26842
    i get them all the time...just hit delete.....................laurie
    "Courage is the discovery that you may not win, and trying when you know you can lose."
    - Tom Krause


    Gamblers Go Wild Forum

  10. #8
    lauram's Avatar
    lauram is offline Senior Member Achievements:
    Your first GroupVeteranCreated Album pictures10000 Experience PointsSocial Magnet!
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    1,219
    Thanks
    592
    Thanked 524 Times in 371 Posts
    Rep Power
    37
    Reputation Points: 2958
    Yes all go right to junk then delete this one when i saw globe and mail i looked into it further. Im told will get a response monday from them and told yes did come from their newspaper work place.

Similar Threads

  1. got an email from POC
    By babs7262 in forum Online Casinos
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 30th July 2007, 02:07 PM
  2. Birthday email from BTD
    By winbig in forum Online Casinos
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 14th February 2006, 12:00 PM
  3. email help
    By scrollock in forum Online Casinos
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10th August 2005, 03:12 PM
  4. email address?
    By AFlansburg in forum Ask the Meister
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16th February 2004, 03:43 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Legal Statements and Privacy Policy
Casinomeister.com does not intend for any of the information contained on this website to be used for illegal purposes. You must ensure you meet all age and other regulatory requirements before entering a casino or placing a wager. Online gambling is illegal in many jurisdictions and users should consult legal counsel regarding the legal status of online gambling and gaming in their jurisdictions. The information in this site is for news and entertainment purposes only. Casinomeister.com is an independent directory and information service free of any gaming operator's control. Links to third party websites on Casinomeister.com are provided solely for informative/educational purposes. If you use these links, you leave this Website.