|
|||
|
|||||||
| Register | All Albums | Member Blogs | FAQ | Members List | Mark Forums Read | |||
| Main Site | CM Casinos | CM Poker | I-Gaming Forum Reps | Rogue Pit | Webcast | Bitchin' Newsletter | News |
| Notices |
| Online Casinos Online Casinos - Information, Experiences, questions and such. This is no place for ads or cloaked promos. Shills and spammers be warned |
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
|||||
|
FYI while trying to connect to HippoJo
Hiya
I was looking at the RTG list on this site and saw a casino called HippoJo and that it was pending Accredit. Well, I put in the addy ( I have comcast) and my provider redirected me to a warning page telling me not to go this website because they are known for identity theft. I just wanted to let you know. This is the first time my internet provider ever prevented me from going to a website and it got me worried for anyone out there wanting to gamble there. |
|
||||
|
oops...
I signed up at hippojo yesterday, turned the free 8 euros into 118 euros and fulfilled the WR. Provided them with the required documents in order to get my withdrawal. Havent heard anything yet, hope the copy of my passport and cc are safe
![]() Emailed support and got this answer from the casino: "I have no idea why that persons ISP would show things like that - I can assure you that HippoJo takes upmost care with all ID documentation, we have actually closed some player accounts on suspected identity theft grounds. .... Cheers Matthew HippoJo Customer Support" Last edited by pingpong; 23rd June 2007 at 12:03 AM. Reason: Reply from casino |
|
||||
|
Thanks for the post and we are contacting Comcast to have them change their rating now. Babs7262 I'd appreciate if you could PM me with any additional information Comcast provided you.
|
|
|||||
|
HippoJo could sue Comcast for defamation, as this is what has just happened here on the forum, with the OP shocked to be presented with this allegation, and then posted their experience which has another player worried.
It could be that a "spoof" site with a very similar name has been involved in "phishing", and this is how the casino got onto the Comcast blacklist. My ISP does not stop me visiting HippoJo, but I have not joined as there were some posts about delays in payment (teething problems?), and at the time I knew nothing about any application for full accreditation here (although I suspected this would be coming).
__________________
http://www.vinylweatherman.net The unbelievably out of date guide to Fruit Machines on the UK Motorway network. |
|
|||||
|
I just tried again and this is what i got
WARNING! [?]
This site is rated potentially unsafe by TrustWatch! You have been redirected to this page as a service of Comcast High-Speed Internet, which includes the Comcast Toolbar. TrustWatch, a critically acclaimed, industry-leading website verification service, has restricted access to the site www.cnomy.com for your protection. Accessing this site could put you at risk for identity theft or other financial fraud. What would you like to do? Last edited by babs7262; 23rd June 2007 at 01:48 PM. Reason: It showed the website for one second and jumped to this |
|
|||||
|
I tried something else
I googled hippojo and went through an affiliate and got through without a warning this time. I am very confused.
I wasnt trying to cause any problem, I just wanted to visit this site. I think this may be the problem: On the list in this site it is called HippoJo Casino but in other sites it's just called hippojo.com Could that be the cause? |
|
||||
|
Just to clear up the confusion - our URL is www.hippojo.com and not www.hippojocasino.com as it appears babs7262 was trying to reach.
I just checked out hippojocasino.com - and it does indeed come up with a spammy page that redirects to www.cnomy.com, which is the site triggering the warning in babs7262's message. |
|
|||||
|
Odd coincidence that they came up with "HippoJo" for their casino pages, must be a common casino name eh
![]() ----------------------------------------------------------------------- Registration Service Provided By: RESELLERCLUB Contact: +1.4152361970 Website: xxxxx.//www.resellerclub.com Domain Name: CNOMY.COM Registrant: PrivacyProtect.org Domain Admin (contact@privacyprotect.org) P.O. Box 65 All Postal Mails Rejected, visit Privacyprotect.org Monster null,2680 AB NL Tel. +45.36946676 Creation Date: 21-Feb-2006 Expiration Date: 21-Feb-2009 Domain servers in listed order: ns1.cnomy.com ns2.cnomy.com Administrative Contact: PrivacyProtect.org Domain Admin (contact@privacyprotect.org) P.O. Box 65 All Postal Mails Rejected, visit Privacyprotect.org Monster null,2680 AB NL Tel. +45.36946676 Technical Contact: PrivacyProtect.org Domain Admin (contact@privacyprotect.org) P.O. Box 65 All Postal Mails Rejected, visit Privacyprotect.org Monster null,2680 AB NL Tel. +45.36946676 Billing Contact: PrivacyProtect.org Domain Admin (contact@privacyprotect.org) P.O. Box 65 All Postal Mails Rejected, visit Privacyprotect.org Monster null,2680 AB NL Tel. +45.36946676 Status:ACTIVE ----------------------------------------------------------------------- ResellerClub, a Directi Group Business is one of the largest private label Web Solutions Providers in the world and an industry leader in providing end-to-end automation to Domain Resellers, Web Hosts, Web Designers, and other Web Service companies. We provide the most comprehensive Product Portfolio at the most competitive prices. We currently provide our Products and Services and power the backend infrastructure and software of thousands of Web Hosts worldwide. Our Product portfolio includes a wide range of Web services - Domain Registration (gTLDs and ccTLDs), Linux and Windows Hosting, Mail Hosting, Mail AntiSpam, Mail AntiVirus, SSL, Dedicated Servers etc. Our Products represent an R&D effort of over 6 years. Quick Facts Founded: 1998 Mission: To offer Web Services through Resellers worldwide Team Strength: 250+ Current Resellers: 53,773 Countries served: 236 Current Domains served through Resellers: 1,000,000+ ------------------------------------------------------------------------- Looks like members buy cheap (crap?) products and sell them on through a nest of cheap domains, very automated, and virtually impossible to trace who is really responsible when a sale "goes wrong". They seem to be based in the USA, so it may be possible to get "hippojocasino" shut down on the grounds it is an attempt to steal traffic from the genuine hippjo casino. There have been new rules against this "domain squatting", and similar domains have been ordered offline where they target the same area of commerce as the original owner. If not, tell the DoJ this lot are "promoting online gambling" to US citizens, and from US soil too! Comcast have clearly seen this site for what it is, but I had no warning from my ISP - I don't think they offer this service. The moral of the tale? Use Casinomeister's links ![]() The actual URL was not mentioned when HippoJo was first discussed on the forum, so guessing "HippoJoCasino" would be a logical try. This would not be the first time a casino has had it's name hijacked to gather traffic from internet users not quite sure of the exact URL
__________________
http://www.vinylweatherman.net The unbelievably out of date guide to Fruit Machines on the UK Motorway network. |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Help: I cannot connect to the RTG casinos | bzsmile | Online Casinos | 6 | 13th July 2006 08:42 AM |
| account blocked, connect to casino | maaster | Online Casinos | 1 | 9th April 2005 03:30 PM |