Online Casinos - Casinomeister Logo Online Casinos - Casinomeister
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Is this HELPFUL - or THEFT?

  1. #1
    WagerWitch's Avatar
    WagerWitch is offline Webmistress of WagerWitch
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    622
    Thanks
    232
    Thanked 237 Times in 151 Posts
    Rep Power
    47
    Reputation Points: 2118

    Is this HELPFUL - or THEFT?

    Possibility that someone created this site to help me...

    I'm not sure yet...

    They haven't responded to my email and are out of town for 2 weeks.

    SO --- is this helpful or ____ IS THIS THEFT?

    My site:

    http://wagerwitch.blogspot.com

    the site in question:

    http://www.casinobonuscode.info/

    Now - all the links point back to me - and point to my aff links...

    So - this is why I think might be someone helping me.

    But isn't it like slurping my info - and using it?

    I'm not sure what to think - it's WORD FOR WORD my posts.

  2. #2
    AussieDave's Avatar
    AussieDave is offline Dormant account
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,753
    Thanks
    881
    Thanked 1,014 Times in 492 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation Points: 5403
    Hi WW,

    Would you open a site based on scraped content (of someone you don't know), add links back to the site you scraped and keep their aff tags?

    If it looks suss it probably is suss!



    Cheers

    Dave

  3. #3
    Webzcas's Avatar
    Webzcas is offline Moderator - Webmeister Section Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience PointsSocial Magnet!Friends R Us
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Block F, Atyeo Stand, Ashton Gate every other Saturday
    Posts
    1,815
    Thanks
    699
    Thanked 1,102 Times in 458 Posts
    Rep Power
    15
    Reputation Points: 6216
    Quote Originally Posted by WagerWitch View Post
    Possibility that someone created this site to help me...

    I'm not sure yet...

    They haven't responded to my email and are out of town for 2 weeks.

    SO --- is this helpful or ____ IS THIS THEFT?

    My site:

    http://wagerwitch.blogspot.com

    the site in question:

    http://www.casinobonuscode.info/

    Now - all the links point back to me - and point to my aff links...

    So - this is why I think might be someone helping me.

    But isn't it like slurping my info - and using it?

    I'm not sure what to think - it's WORD FOR WORD my posts.
    To me it looks as if someone is trying to get your site penalized for duplicate content. Especially as your blog posts have been featuring heavily on google.

    This is prob why the aff tags and all have not been changed.

    The person behind this site has used whoisguard.

    I would therefore do a number of things.

    Report the site to google. So as it can get removed from their index and thus you do not have the chance of being penalized.

    The site is hosted by A1WEBSOLUTIONS.COM

    I would write a strongly worded email to them, to get them to pull the website. At first they are likely to ignore your request and state they cannot do this. However as the site is not on a dedicated box and is likely using a cheap hosting plan, follow up their initial response with a DMCA and threaten legal action.

    This normally does the trick in 99% of cases and you will find the host will suspend the site quick smart.

  4. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Webzcas For This Useful Post:

    IanO (7th October 2009), RobWin (11th October 2009), WagerWitch (7th October 2009)

  5. #4
    WagerWitch's Avatar
    WagerWitch is offline Webmistress of WagerWitch
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    622
    Thanks
    232
    Thanked 237 Times in 151 Posts
    Rep Power
    47
    Reputation Points: 2118
    I had to kind of figure out that the host did not know how to map their page - and didn't have the CONTACT part set up - the 1800 number did not work... and so I added the words CONTACT.HTML at the end of the site name - and VOILA! Got the email.

    SO sent them the comparison info - and asked them to suspend the site or remove MY copyrighted info.

    I'd really hate to think that this person is doing this to hurt me.

    Dang. that's cut throat and scary.

    Are people that INSANE?

    That they need Rankings that badly?

    I mean - let me tell you - I rank HIGH in google for a LOT of keywords that are important in this business - and I don't get "THAT" many visitors from Google.

    I get more from Twitter and more from other social networks.

    This is just plain DUMB.,

  6. #5
    WagerWitch's Avatar
    WagerWitch is offline Webmistress of WagerWitch
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    622
    Thanks
    232
    Thanked 237 Times in 151 Posts
    Rep Power
    47
    Reputation Points: 2118
    Oh oh oh - and thanks for that info - I do MUCH appreciate the time and effort you put into that!

    WW

  7. #6
    WagerWitch's Avatar
    WagerWitch is offline Webmistress of WagerWitch
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    622
    Thanks
    232
    Thanked 237 Times in 151 Posts
    Rep Power
    47
    Reputation Points: 2118
    OK - here is what I did... LMAO!

    It was kind of funny

    http://wagerwitch.blogspot.com/2009/...situation.html


    Anyway guys - I'm gonna be sorta MIA shortly for a few weeks - moving to Maine ASAP.

    Hugs and thanks for the info and help.


    I originally emailed the Host company - OMG - what a JERK... Funny smart (but dumb... if you know what I mean) - But told me that I didn't know anything about CopyRight info - and that he also admitted he got a few of these complaints monthly - and he felt that I was being a bully by telling him to please remove the site since it was violating my rights.

    Ahhh well - Maybe I'll post the emails to make everyone laugh - they were kinda funny. People really don't realize that whatever YOU write is YOUR intellectual property - Specifically in a blog... Sigh...
    After filing a DMCA with Google - it was taken down.

    Sigh - I wish they would have kept it up - I can get an attorney for VERY little money. LOL!

  8. #7
    Webzcas's Avatar
    Webzcas is offline Moderator - Webmeister Section Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience PointsSocial Magnet!Friends R Us
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Block F, Atyeo Stand, Ashton Gate every other Saturday
    Posts
    1,815
    Thanks
    699
    Thanked 1,102 Times in 458 Posts
    Rep Power
    15
    Reputation Points: 6216
    Ahhh well - Maybe I'll post the emails to make everyone laugh - they were kinda funny. People really don't realize that whatever YOU write is YOUR intellectual property - Specifically in a blog... Sigh...
    After filing a DMCA with Google - it was taken down.
    Excellent, glad to hear it

Similar Threads

  1. Neteller about as Helpful as a Chocolate Fireguard
    By GOCC in forum Other Complaints
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 30th August 2006, 03:10 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Legal Statements and Privacy Policy
Casinomeister.com does not intend for any of the information contained on this website to be used for illegal purposes. You must ensure you meet all age and other regulatory requirements before entering a casino or placing a wager. Online gambling is illegal in many jurisdictions and users should consult legal counsel regarding the legal status of online gambling and gaming in their jurisdictions. The information in this site is for news and entertainment purposes only. Casinomeister.com is an independent directory and information service free of any gaming operator's control. Links to third party websites on Casinomeister.com are provided solely for informative/educational purposes. If you use these links, you leave this Website.