
Originally Posted by
Roanan
What a
fu^%$*ng joke.
It takes you EIGHT DAYS, 5 live chats and countless emails just to get 'we are trying to make contact with the affiliate to ensure his unsubscribe links are working'
That's it?!?!?!?!
Two low-life criminal spammers, and all you are willing to do is 'try to make contact' instead of doing the ethical thing, which is to immediately close the affiliate and casino accounts and confiscate their commissions?
Not only have you guaranteed that no English Harbour property will EVER get my business, but I reiterate my stance that:
ENGLISH HARBOUR HAS
CHOSEN TO NOT FOLLOW THE CASINOMEISTER GUIDELINES REGARDING ACCREDITED CASINOS AND SHOULD HAVE THEIR STATUS STRIPPED IMMEDIATELY
OK if a PLAYER seriously violates the rules, what do you do?
1) Confiscate his withdrawal, making the PLAYER justify himself?
2) Pay him whilst attempting to make contact with him to advise him that his play is currently in breach of the rules, and that he will not be paid IF HE DOES IT AGAIN.
I believe affiliates get paid monthly, so there is room for compromise. BLOCK all further payments UNTIL you have SUCCEEDED in making contact, AND the affiliate has either confirmed they have done nothing against the rules, or has paid some kind of "fine" for the money made from the spam.
A punishment short of a full ban could be the untagging of ALL players found to have been recruited through spam, this would ensure affilates do not derive long term benefits from spamming, but would also allow for the option of rehabilitation, rather than an immediate ban. There are some occasions where casinos will give a player the benefit of the doubt, and take a similar stance of rehabilitation, BUT it seems affiliate are ALWAYS given the benefit of the doubt, whereas players are always presumed guilty, and have to FIGHT even to be granted the option of rehabilitation because they made a genuine mistake, rather than deliberately breaking the rules.
The content and deceit seen with some of this spam makes it CLEAR there was no "genuine mistake", it was a deliberate attempt to profit from a spamming campaign, often quite a sophisticated one.
Simply telling players this:-
Also just a note, emails directly from the casino brands would come from
promotions@CASINONAME.com , this is one way of confirming if its an affiliate or the casino marketing team.
....is a complete load of bollocks, showing how little you know about the technical side of the subject. Spammers ROUTINELY "spoof" the sender address so as to appear to come from valid casino email addresses, and spam WILL appear to come from promotions(at)casinoname.com - but this will be because the spammer has spoofed the header so as to make the email look legitimate. A better indicator is the content, and casinos have to cooperate. Simply put, they should include content that ONLY the player and casino can possibly know. For existing players, this is often their casino account number, which is one thing that should NEVER be passed on by the casino to ANYONE. Using their name only doesn't work, spammers can get hold of this, and can make the content look as though it was genuinely intended for a specific person. Older email addresses were imposed by ISPs, and often took the form "firstname.lastname.nnn(at)ispname.com". Spammers simply look at the recipient address, and make an educated guess at the name, and with this type of address, they get it right.
I have seen PROOF of this, because I am sometimes addressed by spammers as,
Dear Vinyl,
Dear Mr Weatherman
Dear Vinyl Weatherman.
Simply put, they have software attempting to work out my actual name from my email address used in many internet forums. In this case of course, it comes out as complete rubbish, and makes spam detection VERY easy
It is far easier for spammers to find out the names of persons working at the casino, making it VERY easy for them to create a fake signature to make the email appear to come directly from the casino.
Now, what about when you have an email address that does NOT contain your name, AND it contains something personal about you that can ONLY be known by the casino concerned, or something that has to be known ONLY by industry insiders. Add to this, there is NO AFFY TAG, so no way for a spammy affiliate to be rewarded for recruiting a player.
1) WHY would a rogue affiliate do this, there is no way they can be credited for the referral without a tracking tag?
2) How ELSE can there be payment for such a spamming campaign.
the most obvious answer to both 1) and 2) is that the spam is the resulot of a "direct media buy", rather than through an affiliate. The marketing company is paid an advance fee for promoting the casino, and thus no tracking tag is required. There MAY also be a special landing page set up to receive inbound click throughs, thus enabling stats to be formed to assess the performance of the campaign.
The EH spam looks more like a "direct media buy" than the work of an affiliate (unless they are a large, well resourced one). The landing pages are hosted on emv3.com, seen in quite a bit of spam. It's a hosting and marketing company's server, and a company that takes a rather liberal attitude to policing the behaviour of users, which is why so much spam goes through them. I think this was earlier shown to be a server belonging to "elabs", a prolific spammer dressed up as a direct marketing company.
Cynics might suggest that the inability to contact the affiliate responsible is because there isn't one, it's a media buy gone out of control.
Empty Fruities Astern Capt'n
Back to port for unloading.
Full Sails - before we get raided ourselves.
Bookmarks