Online Casinos - Casinomeister Logo Online Casinos - Casinomeister
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Who in hell is Freechip city and why are they phoning me?

  1. #1
    Mousey's Avatar
    Mousey is offline Ueber Meister Mouse Achievements:
    VeteranCreated Album pictures25000 Experience PointsOverdriveSocial Magnet!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Up$hitCreek
    Posts
    2,854
    Thanks
    2,294
    Thanked 2,435 Times in 1,304 Posts
    Rep Power
    109
    Reputation Points: 12893

    Who in hell is Freechip city and why are they phoning me?



    I was cleaning house when I was so rudely interrupted. Automated phone message... (it repeats twice) says to go to freechipcitydot com or net (I don't remember, enter a code for $xxx free... but gives no other info. No casino name, no nothing. And I HATE spam phone calls even more than I hate email spam.

    Who the hell are they? If this has to do with a casino where I have an account then SAY so! Where the hell did they get my phone#? (I doubt very much they're doing a shotgun run thru the local telephone book)

    And no, I'm not going to the website right now because I'm pissed off.

    Now... back to the mop and broom for me... and the rest of you... as you were....
    Alice: But I don't want to go among mad people.
    The Cat: Oh, you can't help that. We're all mad here. I'm mad. You're mad.

  2. #2
    vegetagirl2008's Avatar
    vegetagirl2008 is offline Mafia Wars Level 472
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Brooklyn, New York, United States
    Posts
    822
    Blog Entries
    2
    Thanks
    614
    Thanked 470 Times in 276 Posts
    Rep Power
    33
    Reputation Points: 2680
    I checked it out and it goes straight to Palace of Fat Chance casino.. Not even worth looking at. Some smoke screen they are using..
    Give a fool his space....don't want to get caught up in their drama

    Teretta

  3. #3
    bb28's Avatar
    bb28 is offline Meister Member Achievements:
    Your first GroupVeteranCreated Album pictures25000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    US
    Posts
    1,308
    Thanks
    2,450
    Thanked 1,640 Times in 749 Posts
    Rep Power
    71
    Reputation Points: 8601
    I googled it and the first result on the page was freechipcity.com. It asks you to enter your card # to get access to your free casino cash. There is only one page. I suppose someone with more sleuthing skills than I have will have more info soon.

    The registrar info is: Domain Name: FREECHIPCITY.COM
    Registrar: GODADDY.COM, INC.
    Whois Server: whois.godaddy.com
    Referral URL: http://registrar.godaddy.com
    Name Server: NS13.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
    Name Server: NS14.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
    Status: clientDeleteProhibited
    Status: clientRenewProhibited
    Status: clientTransferProhibited
    Status: clientUpdateProhibited
    Updated Date: 24-apr-2009
    Creation Date: 19-apr-2008
    Expiration Date: 19-apr-2010

  4. #4
    Mousey's Avatar
    Mousey is offline Ueber Meister Mouse Achievements:
    VeteranCreated Album pictures25000 Experience PointsOverdriveSocial Magnet!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Up$hitCreek
    Posts
    2,854
    Thanks
    2,294
    Thanked 2,435 Times in 1,304 Posts
    Rep Power
    109
    Reputation Points: 12893
    Pretty sad when a business is ashamed to just come right out and tell a potential fish ...er... customer what their name is. These clip joints try to hide their themselves with fake landing pages, send spam using a name other than the real one, yada yada...... pfffftttt....

    Thanks for the info folks!
    Alice: But I don't want to go among mad people.
    The Cat: Oh, you can't help that. We're all mad here. I'm mad. You're mad.

  5. #5
    vinylweatherman's Avatar
    vinylweatherman is offline Ueber Meister Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience PointsOverdrivePeople Likes YouFriends R Us
    Awards:
    Frequent PosterCommunity AwardMost Popular
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    10,224
    Thanks
    373
    Thanked 6,441 Times in 3,454 Posts
    Rep Power
    257
    Reputation Points: 35319
    Quote Originally Posted by bb28 View Post
    I googled it and the first result on the page was freechipcity.com. It asks you to enter your card # to get access to your free casino cash. There is only one page. I suppose someone with more sleuthing skills than I have will have more info soon.

    The registrar info is: Domain Name: FREECHIPCITY.COM
    Registrar: GODADDY.COM, INC.
    Whois Server: whois.godaddy.com
    Referral URL: http://registrar.godaddy.com
    Name Server: NS13.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
    Name Server: NS14.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
    Status: clientDeleteProhibited
    Status: clientRenewProhibited
    Status: clientTransferProhibited
    Status: clientUpdateProhibited
    Updated Date: 24-apr-2009
    Creation Date: 19-apr-2008
    Expiration Date: 19-apr-2010
    This could be reported as a phishing attack by PHONE. This is likely to be taken more seriously by the authorities, and the call could probably be traced back to it's origin by the police.
    Although we know it's just another Virtual marketing ploy, they have made this look like an attempt to commit a CRIME, by PHONING people, promising free money, and they find they have to enter card details to get further than the first page.
    This could result in official consumer warnings being issued about this variant on email based phishing, which could ruin this particular marketing strategy for Virtual.
    There is also the question of how they got the phone number.

    I have reported similar "you have won a free holiday" phone scams to OUR regulator, and although they said there was little they could do, the scale of the problem is such that they have reached agreements for "international cooperation" to bring those responsible to justince (not sure what justice though). This might even mean that pressure will be applied to the government of Costa Rica (or wherever Virtual are running this from) to do something about it, or face some kind of "sanction" for failure to cooperate.

    The Costa Rican government do not want to p1$$ off the USA in particular (at least not too much), as they are uncomfortably close to them, and are a poor country who would probably cooperate rather than see any adverse action taken.

    These automated messages ARE often done by mass dialling loads of numbers. This does not even need a phone book, the computer just cycles through all possible number combinations, either getting "not allocated", "engaged", "unanswered", or a person to irritate, or voice mail where the message can be left.
    Empty Fruities Astern Capt'n
    Back to port for unloading.
    Full Sails - before we get raided ourselves.

Similar Threads

  1. What The Hell???
    By me_and_ed in forum Online Casinos
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 9th June 2009, 10:39 AM
  2. HELLO, hello, hell, hel, he, h
    By MegaDave in forum Introduce yourself! (New Members)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 23rd August 2008, 02:31 AM
  3. hell to all
    By sosad in forum Introduce yourself! (New Members)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 23rd October 2007, 01:38 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Legal Statements and Privacy Policy
Casinomeister.com does not intend for any of the information contained on this website to be used for illegal purposes. You must ensure you meet all age and other regulatory requirements before entering a casino or placing a wager. Online gambling is illegal in many jurisdictions and users should consult legal counsel regarding the legal status of online gambling and gaming in their jurisdictions. The information in this site is for news and entertainment purposes only. Casinomeister.com is an independent directory and information service free of any gaming operator's control. Links to third party websites on Casinomeister.com are provided solely for informative/educational purposes. If you use these links, you leave this Website.