1. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies .This website or its third-party tools use cookies, which are necessary to its functioning and required to achieve the purposes illustrated in the cookie policy.Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Follow Casinomeister on Twitter | Facebook | YouTube | Casinomeister.us US Residents Click here! |  Svenska Svenska | 
Dismiss Notice
REGISTER NOW!! Why? Because you can't do diddly squat without having been registered!

At the moment you have limited access to view most discussions: you can't make contact with thousands of fellow players, affiliates, casino reps, and all sorts of other riff-raff.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join Casinomeister here!

What graphics card do I need for the new slots?

Discussion in 'Computers and Internet Geekland' started by dave1888, Jul 24, 2016.

    Jul 24, 2016
  1. dave1888

    dave1888 Meister Member PABnononaccred2 mm1

    Occupation:
    Customer Advisor/Stockroom Picker
    Location:
    Bonnie Scotland!
    I'm finding more and more slots I can't play, what graphics card do I need(cheap as possible) for playing these sophisticated games? Getting really annoyed now! :mad:

    Any suggestions will be helpful.
     
    1 person likes this.
  2. Jul 24, 2016
  3. goatwack

    goatwack bombastic monk CAG

    Occupation:
    Stuntman
    Location:
    Londonia
    There's the AMD Radeon RX 480, not been out that long.

    Packs quite a punch and is reasonable at about £170 - 180. There's no getting around it if you want decent gameplay, although if you want to really be sure, there's the Nvidia GeForce GTX 1060. It's a mere £750!! :eek::mad:
     
    3 people like this.
  4. Jul 24, 2016
  5. hedgehok

    hedgehok Meister Member mm3

    Occupation:
    self-employed
    Location:
    Germany
    I use an Asus Strix Geforce GTX 970. However you more likely need a good processor. What Motherboard and Processor do you currently use?
     
    2 people like this.
  6. Jul 24, 2016
  7. brianmon

    brianmon Meister Member webby mm4

    Location:
    uk
    I bought a new laptop a few months ago, costing over a grand, which included 2 graphics cards, an Intel HD520 and an Nvidia GTX950M. thinking it would improve slots play.

    But however i configure things, the browser-based sites, using Flash Player are still using the main CPU, fairly heavily to run slots.

    Although viper download client run like a dream

    So, although I'm no expert, I'd say go for the fastest processor you can afford, rather than a graphics card
     
    2 people like this.
  8. Jul 24, 2016
  9. lotusch

    lotusch Megaways Slots, as useless as salt in your coffee webby PABaccred mm2

    Occupation:
    Marketing Assistant
    Location:
    Dún Dealgan
    I agree with Brianmon..
    I think most computers with even a basic GFX card can run most slots very decent..Slots are not depending heavily on GFX card if I am correct..
    Not an expert on what slots exactly do need to run but a smart and fast dual core or even quad core processor will certainly help..And some decent RAM..
    Make sure your browser and flashplayer are always up to date, and maybe your drivers also.
    Just to minimise any issues when playing slots.
     
    1 person likes this.
  10. Jul 24, 2016
  11. dave1888

    dave1888 Meister Member PABnononaccred2 mm1

    Occupation:
    Customer Advisor/Stockroom Picker
    Location:
    Bonnie Scotland!
    thanks for all the suggestions a new processor is a good shout just thinking I might be better off with buying a laptop as they tend to have good built in processors and graphics. Specs below. I know it's pretty terrible but I got it for 45£ 4 years ago so can't complain :D.

    What graphics card do I need for the new slots?: specs.jpg,Jul 24, 2016
     
  12. Jul 24, 2016
  13. Jono777

    Jono777 Meister Member CAG mm4 mm1

    Occupation:
    Self- Employeed
    Location:
    Wolverhampton
    I had the same problems with some Netent games Dave, Aliens and Light's started the ball rolling. I then had serious lag which was witnessed when I first started my YT channel, created the thread 'Time for a new PC' earlier this year IIRC.

    With some great input from Max, Mark from 32 and the members here (cos I was pretty clueless at the time) I was helped to put the system detailed below together.

    Cost me £410 all in and although not all signing and dancing, never had a complaint, anything to moan about or a problem since :D (touch wood!) - Very pleased, worth skipping a few deposits to improve our enjoyment for sure :thumbsup:

    What graphics card do I need for the new slots?: Screenshot 2016-07-24 19.35.19.jpg,Jul 24, 2016

    What graphics card do I need for the new slots?: Screenshot 2016-07-24 19.37.00.jpg,Jul 24, 2016
     
    2 people like this.
  14. Jul 24, 2016
  15. lotusch

    lotusch Megaways Slots, as useless as salt in your coffee webby PABaccred mm2

    Occupation:
    Marketing Assistant
    Location:
    Dún Dealgan
    1 GB RAM is defo a bit low mate.
    Most computers come with a minimum of 4GB these days and even 8GB is not weird.
    My laptop has 8GB and at least everything works fast and I can do some multitasking on it too. :)
     
    2 people like this.
  16. Jul 24, 2016
  17. lotusch

    lotusch Megaways Slots, as useless as salt in your coffee webby PABaccred mm2

    Occupation:
    Marketing Assistant
    Location:
    Dún Dealgan
    You must register/login in order to see the link.

    For under 200 quid that laptop is already 10x better than what you have..
    15.6" inch screen - 4GB RAM and Dual Core Celeron processor.
    Celeron is not the fastest processor around but a great budget and value for money processor.
    A very nice laptop if you ask me for that price.

    The 8GB version goes for just under 270 pound sterling.

    If you have a bigger budget then of course you will get a better processor and a nice built in GFX card.
     
    1 person likes this.
  18. Jul 24, 2016
  19. bjtaz44

    bjtaz44 Experienced Member

    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Far north
    I mean no offense, but I am suprise you can get games to load under 10 mins with that processor and RAM, please don't put any money into it, save a bit, even the mid range ASUS I sell, they are not that expensive and on board graphics with most is enough for casino games.

    That is not near enough RAM for proper operation 4GB would work for just online fun.
     
    1 person likes this.
  20. Jul 24, 2016
  21. goatwack

    goatwack bombastic monk CAG

    Occupation:
    Stuntman
    Location:
    Londonia
    Come to think of it, it looks like a memory boost would go a long way. It won't do much good having a decent graphics card with next to no RAM, and despite everything, slots are not that graphically demanding.

    For good measure , here's my humble Vaio specs, about four years old but it was pretty good at the time and still plays slots well!

    What graphics card do I need for the new slots?: check them specs.jpg,Jul 24, 2016

    Come to think of it, I've just remembered that I have, ooh, five days to get Win10 sorted. Best get cracking with that one :(:(:eek2:
     
    1 person likes this.
  22. Jul 24, 2016
  23. dave1888

    dave1888 Meister Member PABnononaccred2 mm1

    Occupation:
    Customer Advisor/Stockroom Picker
    Location:
    Bonnie Scotland!
    Believe it or not I only even begun having problems when games like Creature and Reel Rush came out. Creature will rarely open and reel Rush is an sob to open. It's quite baffling really! The amount of big wins I've actually had and some of the sums I've won I should really have invested it in some top of the range hardware!
     
    1 person likes this.
  24. Jul 24, 2016
  25. hedgehok

    hedgehok Meister Member mm3

    Occupation:
    self-employed
    Location:
    Germany
    Maybe a casino rep "sponsors" you a free shot like Jon, who knows. But seriously your system is absolutely terrible. I mean the time you use up for waiting is worth more after only some weeks then to buy a decent used machine on ebay. I wouldn't tend towards a laptop when you usually use it at the same place. You will get more for your money with a decent desktop solution. There are really good systems nowadays for some £300-400. And as I've mentioned the time to wait in front of your computer can be invested far better.
     
    5 people like this.
  26. Jul 24, 2016
  27. incrediblestuff

    incrediblestuff SearchingForTheHolyGrail! CAG webmeister

    Occupation:
    Currently: Self employed, Previously: Manager
    Location:
    Mostly the Netherlands
    Hi mate:

    i would seriously consider not buying a laptop again..they basically suck for anyhing that is gaming related:)
    They can have good specs, and great cards, but they are hard to fix (in terms of replacing parts) overheat really quickly, and most batteries die within a year or two, making them not-so-much-of-a-lap-top-unless-your-willing-to-sit-next-to-the-socket-all-day :lolup:

    So really little value for your money..if you are a travelling guy, and you need to work on the road,m ok, you're better oiff with a lappie, but if you're like me, a punter that wants to enjoy his gaming to the max - or as close as - you''ll get a desktop this time round! :thumbsup:

    They come cheap too, and you canm have a nice gaming rig for 200,- nowadays (the gambling kind, not so much for the real FPS and such)

    Hope that helps.

    P.S.

    I have exactly the same card as Jon btw, funny coincidence, and it's a really cheap one for it's spec's.
    Definitely more then capable to run any slot in full screen on max settings, even Aliens and Lights :p
     
    3 people like this.
  28. Jul 24, 2016
  29. hedgehok

    hedgehok Meister Member mm3

    Occupation:
    self-employed
    Location:
    Germany
    Okay Dave - how much do you want to spend?
     
  30. Jul 25, 2016
  31. Harry_BKK

    Harry_BKK Senior Member CAG mm1

    Occupation:
    job is OK
    Location:
    Balcony
    Was in the same situation 2.5 years ago and since i am a laptop guy i chose again laptop. As my phone was a Samsung at the time i decided to stay with Samsung and never looked back:

    - 1.3kg weight, roughly 2.7 pounds
    - battery life after 2.5 years and heavy use: still appr. 6-7hrs from an initial 11hrs
    - I5 processor, 4GB RAM, Intel Graphics HD 4000
    - 13.3" Full HD screen
    - 256GB SSD storage

    Fires up in less than 5 seconds, never gets hot, very practical automatic sync with my phone. Paid roughly GBP1300/SGD2450 for it, money well spend. Prices for these netbooks/ultrabooks have come down significantly since.

    I won't even carry the power cord with me when i go out for one full day of meetings, battery is always sufficient. Added a cigarette pack sized PICO projector (image size 1x1m) some 2 years ago to complete a totally lightweight mobile set of working tools. I reckon i reduced the weight i carry nowadays in my laptop bag including the power cord from appr. 7-8kg to maybe 2.5-3.0kg. No more heavy laptops and power cords etc. :D

    If 13,3" screen is to small then go for the 15" model with Intel I7 processor, weighs just 2.9 pounds/1.5kg, roughly GBP1,000. Add 100 if you want touch screen included.

    This is the 15" model, found it for 1200USD.

    What graphics card do I need for the new slots?: Capture 601.png,Jul 25, 2016
     
    1 person likes this.
  32. Jul 25, 2016
  33. brianmon

    brianmon Meister Member webby mm4

    Location:
    uk
    Only one problem Harry.....

    Samsung no longer produce laptops :eek:

    although some suppliers might have some old stock
     
    1 person likes this.
  34. Jul 25, 2016
  35. Harry_BKK

    Harry_BKK Senior Member CAG mm1

    Occupation:
    job is OK
    Location:
    Balcony
    Ooops, my bad, should have researched better, sorry. :oops:

    What a pity though as i am approaching the end of my usual 3-year cycle to replace the current one. For once i am completely happy with one of today's gadgets and thought it would be an easy swap for a newer model this time, but now it will be a repeat of the full search for an alternative as 3 years ago. :eek:

    Any recommendations Brian? No Apple, anything else goes.
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2016
  36. Jul 25, 2016
  37. brianmon

    brianmon Meister Member webby mm4

    Location:
    uk
    Yeah, I think it was only this year that they finished production.
    I've always had Samsung laptops. But had to buy a Toshiba this time
     
    1 person likes this.
  38. Jul 25, 2016
  39. Harry_BKK

    Harry_BKK Senior Member CAG mm1

    Occupation:
    job is OK
    Location:
    Balcony
    This is my first Samsung and it impressed me so far, especially the battery which after more than 2 years still gives me 6-7hrs. :)

    My previous one was Toshiba, pretty solid machine and the last one with HDD. Might go for them again in a few months time but with SSD.
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2016

Share This Page