What are the odds?

jenn1381

Kind of a hand me a crying towel story.. lol
I went out with my mom yesterday, helping her run some errands, etc. I took the groceries to the car, leaving her in the lottery booth to buy her tickets for last night... 10 minutes later she comes out of the store, and didn't say a word. I thought she had bought her tickets and all was well. Turns out, the line was too big, the weather was getting bad, and she had a turkey breast she needs to get in the oven, so she gave up waiting and left. ALL SIX OF HER NUMBERS HIT. #$$@@$%^^&%#@!~!!!!!! All six... I checked myself just now. Would have been worth just over 1.5 million - tax free. Moral of the story - weather and dinner be damned, buy the friggin ticket.

My goodness. what a nightmare story. Please say: You are a writer and only want to check, if this punch line hits the readers. no?

Well, I am a writer.. but I wouldn't not lie about this one... I am not that good a story teller... I am sick to my stomach, believe me.. this is just unbelievable. The *good* spin on the story is that sometimes she changes one of her numbers (didn't know that) so with the numbers she was planning to play last night she would've only hit 5 numbers - around 35k. Better than 1.5 mill but holy #$%^ still a lot of money.

hmm. Honestly: Isnt that enough for a good shortstory or a screenplay?
To point out that you avoided the loss of nearly 1.5 Million, because your mom changed her numbers?
some light story about profit - to be contrasted with two stockbroker s sitting in the same bar as our heroes and talking about their business...