1. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies .This website or its third-party tools use cookies, which are necessary to its functioning and required to achieve the purposes illustrated in the cookie policy.Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
  3. Follow Casinomeister on Twitter | Facebook | YouTube | Casinomeister.us US Residents Click here! |  Svenska Svenska | 
Dismiss Notice
REGISTER NOW!! Why? Because you can't do diddly squat without having been registered!

At the moment you have limited access to view most discussions: you can't make contact with thousands of fellow players, affiliates, casino reps, and all sorts of other riff-raff.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join Casinomeister here!

tired of CPU 100% ?

Discussion in 'Online Casinos' started by frosty3907, Aug 7, 2014.

    Aug 7, 2014
  1. frosty3907

    frosty3907 Non-Gambler

    Occupation:
    unemployed
    Location:
    Australia
    Why don't they optimize these games to use the GPU instead of constantly hammering the CPU?

    My machines can play the latest games without breaking a sweat but the instant I load a simple 2d slot it's 100% CPU usage and fans into overdrive, with crappy frame rates to boot.

    With the $$$ they're bringing in it would be trivial to add a directx or opengl renderer.

    So why don't they?
     
    1 person likes this.
  2. Aug 7, 2014
  3. RichieRespin

    RichieRespin Dormant account

    Occupation:
    software developer
    Location:
    Sweden
    I agree, the CPU usage on some poorly optimized games makes me sad.

    However, I think the operators want "everyone" to be able to play the games, and that means catering to 10 year old laptops with 10 year old drivers, where the hardware accelerated modes simply does not exist, or cant be initiated.

    One example could be seen on here: When NetEnt released their Aliens game, which is using "real 3D", whatever that means, there were a lot of complaints from players with old computers, old drivers, old browsers, issues with Chrome, etc, etc. And operators don't want to deal with complaints, so the games gets made with the lowest common denominator in mind. In other words, old Flash tech that runs on the CPU only. very sad for us used to also playing high end PC game titles, but such is the state of the business, unfortunately.
     
  4. Aug 7, 2014
  5. Balthazar

    Balthazar The Governor

    Occupation:
    Leader
    Location:
    Woodbury
    Just try to play Avalon II or Girls with Guns on a 10 year old laptop, I dare you.
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. Aug 7, 2014
  7. RichieRespin

    RichieRespin Dormant account

    Occupation:
    software developer
    Location:
    Sweden
    Haha, or Jurassic Park at Unibet, in Full Screen mode. Kills even my good laptop. :)

    But the difference is between running very slow (which these games does) and not run at all, not even start, which is what happened to Aliens. People got free rounds that they couldn't even play. I'm guessing "running slow" is more ok than "not running at all"? :)
     
  8. Aug 7, 2014
  9. frosty3907

    frosty3907 Non-Gambler

    Occupation:
    unemployed
    Location:
    Australia
    The requirements for Jurassic park are a quad core 3ghz+ + 3gb ram, which is insane, when even the most paltry of discreet video cards would run it better.

    I'd wager 99%+ of people have at least a 256mb dx9 card which would run these fine.

    And they could leave the old CPU renderer in as an option if they're worried about compatibility.

    The reason I bring this up is that I basically miss the entire t-rex feature (not that it matters with the crap it was paying) on Jurassic even with graphics set to basic on a relatively new laptop with discreet GPU.

    They could also add some Australian mirrors for there downloads they're crazy slow (30 minute download).
     
  10. Aug 7, 2014
  11. frosty3907

    frosty3907 Non-Gambler

    Occupation:
    unemployed
    Location:
    Australia
    Oh and also: you COULD play these games on a ten year old laptop if they would utilize directx, it's amazing how much better graphics cards are at shuffling screen data about than CPUs, almost as if that's what they are for.
     
    3 people like this.
  12. Aug 7, 2014
  13. RichieRespin

    RichieRespin Dormant account

    Occupation:
    software developer
    Location:
    Sweden
    The thing is that there is no built in support to draw directly to a DirectX or OpenGL layer in a browser window. You have to go through Flash's own internal wrapper system for the hardware layer and then you end up with both Flash itself and the browser host working against you.

    The "old school" Flash drawing system is what works (but very slow, as can be witnessed in these new 100% CPU games).
    The hardware accelerated graphics systems that just recently has started to pop up, which uses the GPU support you are asking for, (I'm mentioning Aliens from NetEnt here, because it is the only such game I know of) runs into a ton of problems. This can be witnessed by the number of rightfully annoyed players reporting that the game is impossible to start in the Aliens thread here on CM. I tried to help out there a bit, since I have a background in graphics programming, but the limitations are there.

    I fully agree with you, though. As an owner of good PC hardware, I would love the games to make a lot better use of the GPU.
     
    1 person likes this.
  14. Aug 7, 2014
  15. frosty3907

    frosty3907 Non-Gambler

    Occupation:
    unemployed
    Location:
    Australia
    Oh yeah I was talking about download casino not web browser although you could probably do it through silverlight or html5 or some nonsense but yeah, download casino.

    It's just embarrassing how slow these things run.
     
  16. Aug 7, 2014
  17. RichieRespin

    RichieRespin Dormant account

    Occupation:
    software developer
    Location:
    Sweden
    Ah, ok. Yeah, the download casino solutions should definitely be using the GPU better. I only play through browsers, so I guess that's why I defaulted to talk about those games :)
     
  18. Aug 7, 2014
  19. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Not only insane, but blows a big hole in the argument that they have to cater for everybody. It would be MORE likely that an older machine could cope if the GPU was used, as many entry level machines STILL don't achieve those CPU standards, and many people buy these "budget" machines because they just want to use the internet, not play Call of Duty.

    Microgaming download is the worst offender, and I have had to buy machines at the bottom end of "gaming rig" specs to get decent performance. My latest machine was closer to the TOP end, and here it became obvious that it was CPU power that mattered, not GPU. An overclocked quad core I5 has Microgaming clients sorted for now, but once I have around 8 games running simultaneously, the CPU hits the 100% mark, the GPU wonders what all the fuss is about.

    It would seem that for casinos, the aim should be to get the very best CPU, but not worry too much about a powerful GPU, this can be added later if casino software developers change tack and use GPU rendering.

    For Microgaming, a large SSD is helpful as this is where all the casino files end up, and there is no choice about where to put them, they end up on the C: drive by default, which in modern machines is often a relatively small SSD holding the OS, which the intent that large data files would go to conventional hard drives of higher capacities.
     
    1 person likes this.
  20. Aug 7, 2014
  21. frosty3907

    frosty3907 Non-Gambler

    Occupation:
    unemployed
    Location:
    Australia
    Lol and that's ANOTHER THING that annoys me, that the software automatically downloads all the games.
    I'm on a 10gb/month limit here!
     
  22. Aug 7, 2014
  23. osulle

    osulle Ueber Meister CAG mm4 mm1

    Occupation:
    life
    Location:
    Northern hemisphere
    My laptop is almost 3 years old and goes bonkers when I play these games. Fans go mad and it heats up. I keep expecting it to explode:eek: Not fun at all.
     
    1 person likes this.
  24. Aug 7, 2014
  25. refre

    refre Senior lurker PABnonaccred PABnoaccred

    Occupation:
    Professional slot player
    Location:
    .
    Does anyone know which process controls the MG graphics?
    I have a Nvidia Geforce 750M graphics card on my laptop, which it needs to be activated manually.
    I have tried adding casinogame.exe in the Nvidia Control Panel, but still it uses Intel graphics...


    Thanks!
     
  26. Aug 7, 2014
  27. frosty3907

    frosty3907 Non-Gambler

    Occupation:
    unemployed
    Location:
    Australia
    It's not a case of just linking the correct process. The games need to be designed or converted to utilize the GPU, which they currently do not.

    Your GPU does nothing.
     
    1 person likes this.
  28. Aug 7, 2014
  29. refre

    refre Senior lurker PABnonaccred PABnoaccred

    Occupation:
    Professional slot player
    Location:
    .
    Thanks.

    That's a real shame.
    My laptop has a i5-4200 processor and 8 GB memory, and the new games are still unplayable.
     
  30. Aug 7, 2014
  31. Tirilej

    Tirilej Still a Lady CAG

    Occupation:
    Breathing
    Location:
    Sweden
    That was sad to hear.
    I've only 2GB memory in this and planned to put in more this weekend, just to be able to play those games.

    Then it won't help much I suppose :(
     
    1 person likes this.
  32. Aug 7, 2014
  33. maphesto

    maphesto Ueber Meister CAG MM webmeister

    Location:
    Sweden
    Something is messed up with that configuration, here's some advice:

    You must register/login in order to see the link.

    You must register/login in order to see the link.

    I definatelty would update NVidia drivers first, which you probably have done already. If not, try that!

    @Tirilej:

    Jurassic Park runs well on my PC with 3 GB RAM and a CPU which do not reach their requirements. The graphics card do however meet their requirements. I can play both download and flash versions. :)
     
    1 person likes this.
  34. Aug 7, 2014
  35. Tirilej

    Tirilej Still a Lady CAG

    Occupation:
    Breathing
    Location:
    Sweden
    That game is ok if I have it on Basic.
    What I would like to play is Girls with Guns and Avalon 2.
     
  36. Aug 7, 2014
  37. K2C

    K2C Experienced Member webmeister

    Occupation:
    Data analyst
    Location:
    USA
    Stick wih the RTG casinos. They don't require much CPU at all.
    (yes, I am kidding)
     
  38. Aug 7, 2014
  39. mcgameboy

    mcgameboy Screenieholic & Essayist mm2

    Occupation:
    Casual Stocktaker (Inventory Counter)
    Location:
    Belfast
    Mine is 4 years old. And yes....they are slow. Especially if you are playing them at All Slots. When playing at All Slots, Avalon 2 is slow pretty much from Spin 1. GWG goes slow after about 5 spins. It's like watching The Finer Reels Of Life slowing down on one of Chopley's vids after it did about 100 spins on his considerably better and more powerful PC.

    On all my other MG download casinos, they are merely "less terrible/less bad". Avalon 2 holds up to "borderline acceptable" standard, while GWG goes to pot after about 25 spins.

    Mind you, I run worse than a bad case of diorrhoea on GWG, so not being able to play it is no great loss to me. Every cloud :)
     

Share This Page