1. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies .This website or its third-party tools use cookies, which are necessary to its functioning and required to achieve the purposes illustrated in the cookie policy.Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Follow Casinomeister on Twitter | Facebook | YouTube | Casinomeister.us US Residents Click here! |  Svenska Svenska | 
Dismiss Notice
REGISTER NOW!! Why? Because you can't do diddly squat without having been registered!

At the moment you have limited access to view most discussions: you can't make contact with thousands of fellow players, affiliates, casino reps, and all sorts of other riff-raff.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join Casinomeister here!

Suggestion for MG casinos, if anyone's listening

Discussion in 'Online Casinos' started by winbig, Mar 1, 2009.

    Mar 1, 2009
  1. winbig

    winbig Keep winning this amount. webby PABnononaccred

    Occupation:
    Bum
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I think it'd be great if MG would offer a full .iso/.zip/whatever of all the games available, so we can download them all at once. That way if we have to reinstall/move to a different computer, we won't have to sit and wait forever for them to download one by one...

    Just a thought....


    side note: I'm getting sick and <bleep> tired of these games getting to about xx%, then <bleep> restarting from scratch. It's like DUH have you ever heard of resuming the download if something goes wrong?
     
  2. Mar 1, 2009
  3. kmay87

    kmay87 Meister Member PABnononaccred PABaccred2

    Occupation:
    Barrister
    Location:
    England
    That's a good point. There's nothing worse than trying to download their package on a stone age 56k connection!

    Is it MG that brings up a screen asking which games you would like to download (i.e. video slots, 3 reel slots, card games, etc etc) or am I thinking of another software provider? If so, even that would make a good addition. Sometimes you might not want to play the table games, so why download them?
     
  4. Mar 1, 2009
  5. winbig

    winbig Keep winning this amount. webby PABnononaccred

    Occupation:
    Bum
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Those are crypto's, aren't they? I know what you're talking about, but it's been so long since USA could play there, I forgot. :oops:
     
  6. Mar 1, 2009
  7. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom

    MG once did. Many casinos offered a "full version" and a "lite" version. Some full versions were pretty comprehensive, but even so were always a couple of months out of date, and would still spend an hour or so updating (though not actually DOWNLOADING all that much, just taking so damn LONG).

    The games download not completing, or restarting, is poor programming on the part of MG. The software is intolerant of the inevitable delays from the update servers, and simply cuts the download off and starts all over again. Occasionally, a game is permanently corrupted, and cannot be fixed by the update manager. This requires a full install, or some clever editing of the common cache.

    If you have a CD for ANY MG, install this first, and it will populate the common cache with many of the established games, meaning the install process will not be so bad. This works because MG moved over to having a common cache for games, with only a small folder containing the brand specific content needing to be installed for each MG casino.

    The entire content of just ONE MG casino (including games held in common) is over 2 GIGABYTES. Try downloading THAT on a 56K connection:p
     
  8. Mar 1, 2009
  9. kmay87

    kmay87 Meister Member PABnononaccred PABaccred2

    Occupation:
    Barrister
    Location:
    England
    Yikes, I must be a member at more casinos than I thought! Although if Littlewoods is/was on crypto, that could be where I'm thinking of it. It used to be quite a good addition, as sometimes you were in the spirit to play and didn't have to wait long before you could. With MG, you normally have time to go on a short weekend break before the games are all ready to play :D
     
  10. Mar 1, 2009
  11. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom

    I found 3-4 hours not uncommon. Not quite a weekend break, but certainly a couple of videos or an afternoon out. This was PER CASINO mind you, so if you had plenty to install it could take DAYS.

    Worse were the updates, these could still take over 2 hours even for a fully installed casino. Despite MG promises, you really could not play during the process, as the games would splutter, miss frames, and run slowly.

    What was galling was when support brushed off many problems by simply saying "try reinstalling the casino". This was, in fact, rarely the solution.
     
  12. Mar 1, 2009
  13. kmay87

    kmay87 Meister Member PABnononaccred PABaccred2

    Occupation:
    Barrister
    Location:
    England
    Try living in the middle of the country with a very temperamental 56k connection and a laptop that would take pleasure in overheating, hence the download was interrupted and you had to start from scratch :D
     
  14. Mar 1, 2009
  15. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom

    In that case, you need a FULL WEEK now with MG.
     
  16. Mar 1, 2009
  17. kmay87

    kmay87 Meister Member PABnononaccred PABaccred2

    Occupation:
    Barrister
    Location:
    England
    Luckily, the laptop is improved and my 'rural retreat' has become less rural, so at last we get.........wait for it.............1mb broadband!

    But in Southampton where I work I'm privileged to have 20mb. Words can't describe the difference between the two.
     
  18. Mar 1, 2009
  19. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Well Virgin are advertising theirs as the "mother of all broadband". Well, from my experience it caetainly IS a "Mother" of a service. Can't get through, engineers neve turn up for appointments, they don't think it a problem to have their customers have 2 or more days of no service, but they will have an engineer out of bed on a SUNDAY if 2 customers complain they can't BUY a premium television event because of a fault.

    I caught them RED HANDED on the above. After telling me they simply had "no-one available", not even the engineer I had BOOKED but who never turned up, till the following Monday, I spotted TWO engineers working on the cabinet outside my house. I asked about it, and one said he had just gone off shift, but was called out at 2pm to fix a fault because two customers complained they STILL could not watch (and pay) "pay per view" television. The fault they had just fixed turned out to be the SAME one that had killed my broadband for the previous 2 days:mad:

    They are well and truly "busted", and even putting Sky 1 back after 2 years isn't going to save their butts when I connect up Carphone Warehouse "free" broadband (& my TV aerial), and it passes trials as to it's suitability for playing at MG casinos (and more importantly, DOWNLOADING them).
     
  20. Mar 1, 2009
  21. GrandMaster

    GrandMaster Ueber Meister CAG

    Occupation:
    Mathematician by day, online gambler by night.
    Location:
    UK
    There is a reason why Virgin Media's predecessor was called NTHell. My experience with them was that I tried to get cable and I was told that there was no cable in my area, despite the fact that both of my neighbours had cable and the cable box on the street was right at the end of my front garden. No I live in an area without cable but I still get junk mail every couple of months offering me a special deal on cable.

    I think Scott Adams wrote something like that cable companies are staffed by people who were not good enough to work for the telephone companies, and he was not very complimentary about telephone companies either.
     
  22. Mar 1, 2009
  23. kmay87

    kmay87 Meister Member PABnononaccred PABaccred2

    Occupation:
    Barrister
    Location:
    England
    I was told something similar by Sky. After signing a contract with them that included tv, phone and internet (the 5meg option) they phoned me and said they couldn't provide the internet as the local junction box was full. BUT, this would be addressed within a year. Yet they could provide me with a slower service, but it would cost more.

    As this area is being redeveloped, I couldn't understand their comments. They were adament that no provider, including cable, could provide me with the service I wanted. So I cancelled the direct debit. They had broken the contract after all. Then we get the standard 'warnings' from Sky. In the mean time I had the internet all sorted with another company.

    Finally, a week or so later, my neighbour gets that very Sky package which they couldn't deliver to me. And what was Sky's response? "A space became available on the junction box."

    Priceless :lolup:
     

Share This Page