Stupid bankroll question from a total noob

DaveG39

Ok. So, having played RTG's new Hold 'Em table game I am more tempted than ever to try 'real' Hold 'Em. Not saying I will, but the temptation is strong. Been watching WSOP on ESPN for years. Anyways, I started looking on various poker forums on how much $ I should start with, ie bankroll, and came up with the following guidelines:

Buy-In for 100x Big Blind, Bankroll 20x Buy-In

To me Buy-In (deposit) and Bankroll are the same. Why bring enough for 20 sessions when you only play in 1??

Bankroll in this case usually means how much money a player with a positive EV needs to have to not go bust due to variance. If you haven't played before, you'll most likely be losing so just play with what you can afford to lose and start at the lowest betting limits.

I would suggest you start at the lowest blinds, one or two cents.
Bring the max amount you can lose to the table or the table max whichever is lower.

Like zap said you will most likely lose, at least at first.
Playing online for cash is not like watching TV or playing for free, even at the penny tables the competition can be real tough.

Hiya: Also you need to know that a lot of people playing poker on line, do not care. They will raise every chance they get with a 2/9 off suit. They will go all in on a whim. They will lose their bankroll, leave the table, and 2 minutes later are back again with a new bankroll. They have more money than you or i do, and they really don't mind if they lose it. This alone, makes it totally different than, "Normal" poker, where players value the chips they have.

love2winalot I would sure appreciate it if you would name the poker room where all these fish that don't mind losing and who have more money than me play at. ;)

My experience is that it is very very hard to build a bankroll at an online poker room, even at the penny tables.