RTG/MG oddity

funeral979

Dormant account
PABaccred
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Location
Texas
Ok, im not as computer savvy as I once was, so perhaps someone can explain this to me....

I have noticed that in the past 6 months or so, RTG software runs alot slower than it used to. I seem to recall this mentioned in a thread some time ago, cannot remember the details of it though. I tried everything to make it run fast and smooth like the old RTG I was used to (clearing cookies, clearing history, disabling anti virus, etc., etc), but still any RTG casino I played at seemed like it was running in slow motion.

Well last weekend I loaded a MG casino to play in a tournament, and then switched back to RTG with the MG casino still running in the background, and the RTG casino was running twice as fast as it normally does!? (the way it USED to run). So now whenever I am playing at an RTG casino, I keep a MG casino running in the background so I can play at a "normal pace"

Can someone explain this to me?? Or is there just something really weird going on with my computer??
 

Pocketdiggers77

Gamester
Joined
May 9, 2006
Location
On Top of Old Smokey
I have something similar with RTG. My web browser (Firefox or IE) has to be open and at the home page (Yahoo) and RTG slots go fast. change the home page back to slow. I've reloaded my computer lately and it is still the same. Also, it happens at multiple RTG casinos. I gave up trying to figure it out but it is weird, I agree.
 

funeral979

Dormant account
PABaccred
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Location
Texas
I used to think it had something to do with which browser I had open as well. I tried running RTG with both open, none open, just IE and then just Firefox....still the slots were running slow....now the only way I can get the slots to run fast is with any Microgaming casino running at the same time.

Hopefully one of the technical geniuses on here can fill me in!
 

bb28

Dormant Account
Joined
Nov 18, 2006
Location
US
I have something similar with RTG. My web browser (Firefox or IE) has to be open and at the home page (Yahoo) and RTG slots go fast. change the home page back to slow. I've reloaded my computer lately and it is still the same. Also, it happens at multiple RTG casinos. I gave up trying to figure it out but it is weird, I agree.


Well I'm glad that someone else besides me found that having Yahoo open is the key to RTG's running smoother and faster. :D I found this by accident years ago.......Nope I'm not crazy. ;)

I've wondered if it would have anything to do with a particular port being used on the yahoo page, maybe someone would address this that has knowledge of that sort.
 

funeral979

Dormant account
PABaccred
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Location
Texas
Thought I would try the "Yahoo" trick....but it didn't seem to work for me. I changed my IE homepage to Yahoo, but still got the 'slower' version of RTG.

Seems the only way I can get the RTG software to run decent is after I load any MG casino:confused:
 

Rusty

Banned User - repetitive flaming
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Location
Manchester UK
I have a Dual Core CPU 3Ghz and a Radeon 4870 and MG games sometimes run very slowly.
If I change any 3D setting on my graphics card it runs normally.
It makes no difference which setting, any will do.
Baffling.
 

silcnlayc

Just one more spin pleez!
PABaccred
PABnonaccred
Joined
Sep 20, 2005
Location
Left Hungary
Actually, the key to running an RTG casino faster and smoother is opening any windows video program or open quicktime or any program with a video streaming in it. It seems the opened program helps run the video of the casino faster and gives it the boost the casino needs to run smoothly. Been doing it for years. I open quicktime every time and let it run in the backround when I play RTG and it works great. Never had a slow moment once it is started.

The link between this is the video card being activated giving the opened programs a boost to run faster, like traffic in the backround without stop lights...unlike running the casino alone, it has to fight for some of the resources to run at all. All this is from my experience and IMO.

.
 

slafs

Dormant account
Joined
Feb 25, 2007
Location
ˈnɔrweɪ
I always used to have Windows Media Player open in the background to speed things up. Mine is pretty much the same as silcnlaycs theory.
 
Top