RTG: "It appears the download server is not available"

DarkMage

Dormant Account
Joined
Jul 24, 2008
Location
USA
Hi, I would not normally post something like this here but it is driving me up the wall.

I can not access the cashier on any RTG casino or download any the games on the downloadable version on EVERY RTG casino. Flash versions work fine for all my accounts...

all it says is "The download server is not available, try again later"

Asking multiple casino support: they are clueless
searching google: no answers
uninstalling casino - reinstalling: no work
disabling all firewalls: no work
disabling anti virus: no work

I am using win 7


Anyone know a fix for this?
 

anniemac

Ueber Meister
PABnoaccred
MM
Joined
Jan 30, 2007
Location
Texas, USA
Last night when I was trying to deposit at CW it took me forever to get the deposit options to open up. I could get the withdrawals etc to work but not the deposits.

Finally I just let it sit until it opened and it was slow but did work.

Don't know what to tell ya?
 

Tirilej

Still a Lady
CAG
MM
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Location
Sweden
I have also had problems downloading some games, and it seems like the problem with slow spinning reels are back at RTGcasinos. It's not all the time but it's frustrating.
I have only played at Inetbet and Jackpot Capital but it's the same at both of them.
 

DarkMage

Dormant Account
Joined
Jul 24, 2008
Location
USA
After much research I am quite sure of it that this is a problem specific to my computer and not just a server issue on RTG's side.


I still have no idea how to fix it and RTG support reps are clueless.

Maybe a Casino REP can chime in here? I am sure it is something with my configuration.



Thanks for all comments so far.
 

chayton

aka LooHoo
webmeister
PABnonaccred
CAG
Joined
Jun 5, 2006
Location
Edmonton Canada
I had an issue with Club World once, none of the games or the cashier would load. I had to uninstall and then delete all references to CW in my registry, and when I reinstalled it worked fine again.
 

DarkMage

Dormant Account
Joined
Jul 24, 2008
Location
USA
just un-installed
used program to delete reg keys
re-installed

Still the same error

Good suggestion though, I didn't even think of cleaning reg keys after an uninstall.



What is interesting is I can access Bodog/Bovada through the downloadable client just fine. I know they are not using "RTG" but it's pretty much the same.


I welcome all suggestions! :)
 

chayton

aka LooHoo
webmeister
PABnonaccred
CAG
Joined
Jun 5, 2006
Location
Edmonton Canada
hmmm it seems like if it's affecting all the RTG casinos there's an RTG component that's maybe corrupted or something. Why don't you try uninstalling ALL your RTG casinos, then delete all references to the casinos AND any RTG references too?

BTW by cleaning the registry I don't mean running CCleaner, that leaves some stuff behind - if you reinstalled and it remembered your username, then it didn't get everything. When I did it I actually used RegEdit to delete stuff - it was ClubWorld support who walked me through it.
 

vinylweatherman

You type well loads
Joined
Oct 14, 2004
Location
United Kingdom
That's too quick. The message is instant, no actual attempt to reach the server and wait a reasonable length of time for a connection. It has to be something in the RTG client itself that immediately realises the server is not visible without the client actually making a request to it.

This could be a corrupt client, but a proper uninstall, clean, and reinstall should have fixed it.

This leaves the local security software, which may have somehow added the IP address of the RTG server to it's blacklist, and hence it is the local firewall, not the internet, that is responding to the client with "server unavailable". This would explain the speed at which the client detects the error and displays the message. Reinstalling the RTG client will make no difference to the problem.

A "factory reset" of the firewall may resolve the problem, but it will have to relearn it's local blocklist all over again. The fact that casino clients always "phone home" like this is what triggers firewalls to detect the action as suspect, which may lead to a block being placed on the remote server without the user knowing. Changing the firewall settings to "ask before blocking" should show when this happens.

I had the same problem with my firewall blocking Microgaming the first time a casino was launched after installation. I switched it to "ask first" and was able to see that it was automatically detecting the stage where all the games are downloaded as a "suspicious activity", and would recommend "block this IP" when coming up with the "ask" screen.
 

bryand

Beach Bum
Joined
Jan 9, 2008
Location
Just Across the Hudson River
just un-installed
used program to delete reg keys
re-installed

Still the same error

Good suggestion though, I didn't even think of cleaning reg keys after an uninstall.



What is interesting is I can access Bodog/Bovada through the downloadable client just fine. I know they are not using "RTG" but it's pretty much the same.


I welcome all suggestions! :)

Are you using a wireless router?

If so, what is the make?
 

DarkMage

Dormant Account
Joined
Jul 24, 2008
Location
USA
I have a router but I am wired into it not using the wireless.

It is a d-link WBR-2310


I am going to try some suggestions listed here today and hopefully will get some results.
 

DarkMage

Dormant Account
Joined
Jul 24, 2008
Location
USA
nothing I have tried has worked and that includes

1:disabling firewall completely
2:disabling anti-virus completely
3:running spyware/virus scan to see if anything pops up(was clean)
4. Eliminating manually all registry keys for every RTG casino after uninstalling them


So yeah..I'm out of ideas here besides maybe a reformat of windows 7 but that would be a big pain and not worth doing over a rtg casino.


any ideas welcome or I guess I won't play at RTG anymore. :confused:
 

Tirilej

Still a Lady
CAG
MM
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Location
Sweden
I have heard of others not being able to download RTG's and not finding a solution.
I believe it was Jackpot Capital that are sending out cd's and they should work.
Maybe one RTG is better than none:)
 

DarkMage

Dormant Account
Joined
Jul 24, 2008
Location
USA
I had forgotten about this problem for a few months but a few weeks ago I did a re-format of my PC and put Win XP on instead of the Win 7 I was using.

Just today I remembered this thread so I re-installed a rtg casino and lo and behold the games work correctly and the error went away. :what:



So for anyone who may google the problem and stumble on to this thread the only solution I can find to this problem is a re-format of your pc.


:cool:
 

vinylweatherman

You type well loads
Joined
Oct 14, 2004
Location
United Kingdom
I had forgotten about this problem for a few months but a few weeks ago I did a re-format of my PC and put Win XP on instead of the Win 7 I was using.

Just today I remembered this thread so I re-installed a rtg casino and lo and behold the games work correctly and the error went away. :what:



So for anyone who may google the problem and stumble on to this thread the only solution I can find to this problem is a re-format of your pc.


:cool:


It could also be Win 7 that is the problem.

I still have XP, but it is no longer going to be supported by Microsoft, and they are advising everybody to upgrade to Win 7 (which is a boost to the PC industry as some XP machines can't work with Win 7). Advanced features on Win 7 often cause problems with some software, particularly online casino clients. Vista had the same problems when it first came out, and no doubt Win 8 will bring a new set.

Mere "users" suffer the most, as they may need to have access to "expert level" knowhow in order to configure their Win 7 and Win 8 to work correctly with casino clients.
 
Top