1. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies .This website or its third-party tools use cookies, which are necessary to its functioning and required to achieve the purposes illustrated in the cookie policy.Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Follow Casinomeister on Twitter | Facebook | YouTube | Casinomeister.us US Residents Click here! |  Svenska Svenska | 
Dismiss Notice
REGISTER NOW!! Why? Because you can't do diddly squat without having been registered!

At the moment you have limited access to view most discussions: you can't make contact with thousands of fellow players, affiliates, casino reps, and all sorts of other riff-raff.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join Casinomeister here!

RTG Download Problem--Can someone help?

Discussion in 'America the Beautiful' started by MaryJean, Sep 24, 2011.

    Sep 24, 2011
  1. MaryJean

    MaryJean Senior Member MM

    Occupation:
    Rancher
    Location:
    Northern California
    I'm not sure if this a USA problem or not. I see others are playing at RTG casinos, and so am I, however, I can no longer download any new ones, either on my Windows7 nor on my XP machine.
    I uploaded a copy of the error here. I hope it works.

    I contacted the casino, but they didn't know what was causing it.
    Does anyone here know what I should do?

    Thanks in advance for your help.
    MaryJean
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sep 24, 2011
  3. Brooklyn

    Brooklyn Dormant account

    Occupation:
    Mommy, Make-up Artist, Writer.
    Location:
    On the Hot Mess Express
    Hi, I can download RTGs no problem. I have Win 7 and I tried dl a couple just to make sure. Perhaps restoring to a backup point will help? I am not a computer savvy poster, however; I hope you get it fixed soon!
     
    1 person likes this.
  4. Sep 24, 2011
  5. luarod

    luarod Experienced Member

    Occupation:
    just living
    Location:
    Madrid
    Hi,

    It's shitty that they didn't offer a solution for you, they should be interested in you downloading the software. anyway, I love computers but I'm not an expert so I googled the problem (thanks google) and there is a thread with this error on the microsoft support thread with sugestions on how to fix it on windows 7. Here is the link:

    You must register/login in order to see the link.


    Hope it helps!
     
    3 people like this.
  6. Sep 24, 2011
  7. chayton

    chayton aka LooHoo CAG PABnonaccred webmeister

    Occupation:
    Freelance Designer
    Location:
    Edmonton Canada
    I've never seen that before, I wonder if it's something simple like security settings?

    Try this, when you go to download a casino, instead of "Run" click "Save" and save the installer to your computer. Once it's saved try installing it from there (if you haven't done that already) and if that doesn't work try to right-click and see if there's an option to "Run as administrator" or something like that.

    I'm just guessing...hope you can get it to work.

    EDIT: I just checked the link that laurod posted :thumbsup: and on that page someone's posted a link to a youtube video, definitely check that out, as well as the related videos on the side.
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2011
    1 person likes this.
  8. Sep 24, 2011
  9. MaryJean

    MaryJean Senior Member MM

    Occupation:
    Rancher
    Location:
    Northern California
    Thanks one and all---I'll report back---but---

    Actually I have tried just about everything you have mentioned except that particular link just given. I shall check on that.

    This has been a problem ever since QT went down. That is what lent the idea that it might be some kind of control by perhaps Windows or????

    At one time I needed to reload InetBet and it would not reload. I went to my XP and loaded it just fine then came back to my Win7 and proceeded with reloading the games (which takes forever on dialup), but that be as it may---. I seem to be able to load the games once the lobby has loaded. However, now I can't get beyond the installation program---RTG.exe--dlsetup.com nor setup.exe. I do save the original from the link in the casinos web site (that works) but the installation program crashes. Whats worse is that now the XP does the same thing, and that computer is seldom used any more so there shouldn't be any changes to the computer itself. It has to be something in the "controls".

    OK---I'll go trace down that link and see what happens.

    See you later.

    MaryJean
     
  10. Sep 24, 2011
  11. Perc

    Perc Experienced Member webmeister

    Occupation:
    Webmeister
    Location:
    Canada
    I was having problems downloading RTG installers before, they would get to 99% and stop.

    I fixed it by creating a new folder and downloading to there, I was thinking maybe the installers for each RTG casino were too similar and it was getting confused. Not sure if that was actually the case, but it worked so I just went with it. Might be worth a shot?
     
  12. Sep 24, 2011
  13. XOXOXOXOXOX

    XOXOXOXOXOX Let em spin... PABaccred

    Occupation:
    Software developer
    Location:
    O Canada!
    I am running win 7 and i see this message too. Usually the install works after i reboot.
     
  14. Sep 25, 2011
  15. amatrine

    amatrine Crazy Cat Lady webmeister

    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Arizona City, Az
    I have had this problem where they wont open. I goto into task manager and find it open in there, and close it, then proceed to open with the icon and all is good.
     
    1 person likes this.
  16. Sep 26, 2011
  17. MaryJean

    MaryJean Senior Member MM

    Occupation:
    Rancher
    Location:
    Northern California
    Reporting back---RTG error

    Well---I have tried ALL OF THE ABOVE plus I downloaded a "Fixit" program supposedly affirmed by Microsoft.----THAT was a disaster----while "fixing", it destroyed and deleted my total password program!!!!---and it still didn't fix the RTG installation error. Still No Go!

    By the way----a real good reason to set a Restore Point before loading any new programs like that one. My only way to get my passwords back was to restore to an earlier date. Of course now the Fixit program is gone, but good riddance.

    I still don't know the answer to installing any new RTGs. I was trying to load Jackpot Capital, and tried Manhatten to see if that would do any better, but it brought up the same error.

    The techie at one of the casinos suggested downloading to a different area on my computer, but as I stated to him---I even had tried a different computer with a different OS and it still errored out.

    This IS a recent problem because I had a problem with Inetbet when they updated one time and I couldn't reload them, but at that time I could still go to my XP machine and download them from there, but now that doesn't work either.

    Its a Conspiracy!!!

    Thanks again for listening and for your help! You are all great!
    MaryJean
     
    1 person likes this.
  18. Sep 26, 2011
  19. rolltide_93

    rolltide_93 Newbie member

    Occupation:
    Mangaer
    Location:
    Sweet Home Alabama
    I have had the same problem but I would restart the installation over until it would finally install on my windows 7. Another problem I have with RTG casino's is after I do get it to install, I can open the lobby and find a slot game to play but when the installation pops up for the game it stops at around 35% and will show remaining time around 3 hours or so and there will be no internet activity, like the connection times out or something. I even went to the trouble to format and reinstalled windows 7 but that didn't help. At least I'm saving my money with these casino's.
     
  20. Sep 26, 2011
  21. bryand

    bryand Beach Bum PABnonaccred mm1

    Occupation:
    Legal
    Location:
    Just Across the Hudson River
    I started having the exact same issue yesterday - but with XPPro. I've tried fixing the register, creating a new user account with admin rights and replacing the windows installer file. Nothing has worked for me. Something has changed with the setup.exe file but I am yet to figure it out. Maybe one of the RTG player reps can ask their software folks.
     
    1 person likes this.
  22. Sep 26, 2011
  23. MaryJean

    MaryJean Senior Member MM

    Occupation:
    Rancher
    Location:
    Northern California
    Cleaning Registry etc. for past 24 hrs---doesn't help

    Yes--I too tried All of those things, including setting up an Administrator Account and redownloading the Setup file. The Setup file downloads ok, but as soon as it tries to "install" the Windows installer kicks it out with the error that I showed in my first message. The Administrator was as helpless as my regular account.

    At least the fact that you too are getting the same error tells us that someone somewhere has been dickering with the system. I wonder if we are being deliberately censored or if someone just goofed?

    MaryJean
     
  24. Sep 27, 2011
  25. bryand

    bryand Beach Bum PABnonaccred mm1

    Occupation:
    Legal
    Location:
    Just Across the Hudson River
    Thanks for tip but unfortunately it didn't work for me.
     
  26. Oct 8, 2011
  27. bryand

    bryand Beach Bum PABnonaccred mm1

    Occupation:
    Legal
    Location:
    Just Across the Hudson River
    *bump*

    Anyone else having this problem? Any solutions?
     
  28. Oct 8, 2011
  29. BMWSTACK

    BMWSTACK Ueber Meister

    Occupation:
    Work
    Location:
    US
    I have the same problem on a computer that I have a lot of security on. I figured it was all the protection Ihave on the computer, but who knows.
     
    1 person likes this.
  30. Oct 8, 2011
  31. luarod

    luarod Experienced Member

    Occupation:
    just living
    Location:
    Madrid
    I'm really curious to see if someone knows how to fix this. It's really weird.
     
  32. Oct 8, 2011
  33. Mousey

    Mousey Ueber Meister Mouse CAG

    Occupation:
    Pencil Pusher
    Location:
    Up$hitCreek
    Tried downloading and installing RTG a few times during the past year. (Vista and NIS) No go. I'm certainly not a techie, but I'm not totally unfamiliar with blundering my way thru troubleshooting this sort of thing, either. Tried everything I could think of, even turned off Norton's... still no go. I decided the free chip wasn't worth the hassle. LOL

    Since I haven't deposited online in a couple of years, there was no need going any further with it. LOL I never could get a new one to install properly.
     
  34. Oct 8, 2011
  35. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    This issue seems to date back all the way to Windows 2000 on the Microsoft site, so it looks like something changed with the OS during an update, and now certain programmes will no longer install. None of the solutions are for the "average user" either.

    I also find it odd that RTG use the Windows installer service, rather than a third party installer. Microgaming casinos used to use the "wise installer" wizard rather than the Windows installer.

    These problems as reported do seem to have a common link - JAVA. It seems something changed that means a "user" no longer has the access to install a JAVA based program, and so has to go into the administrator account to do it. This is not something normally found on a home PC, as these are often set up with one user only who supposedly has administrator rights. According to Microsoft, this is not strictly true, and a dormant administrator account still exists which is disabled. The "advanced" solution shows how to temporarily enable this account and use it to install the software. It is obviously a screw-up by Microsoft, who have provided this work around rather than admit they cocked something up. It should never have happened that home users found themselves locked out from installing "every day" software on their PCs just because it used JAVA. I expect it is something intended to make BUSINESS versions of the OS more secure, where there WOULD be an active administrator and a multi-user environment. It WOULD stop players from installing casinos at work, which was probably the original intention.

    Windows 7 is billed as being more secure, yet this issue is hitting home XP users too.

    I have not had this problem on my PC (yet), but it might be worth my while trying to install an RTG casino to see if recent Windows updates have crippled my ability to play RTG. I have recently installed MGS casinos without any problems.

    I always select "save" rather than "run", close the browser, and install from the desktop. This may make a difference, and has also been suggested in the support forums.

    This is probably way beyond what CS can deal with, so it needs one of the RTG reps to engage with this thread next week if the problem persists.
     
    1 person likes this.
  36. Oct 8, 2011
  37. LHofsdal

    LHofsdal Ueber Meister MM

    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    NY
    I never had a problem downloading any RTG until my husband thought he would help me out and upgraded Internet explorer form 8 to 9. Now I get error messages all the time, even with the casinos I have installed. Never had this problem before.

    LH
     
  38. Oct 8, 2011
  39. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    This is bound to be the cause of the problem. Many casinos use Internet Explorer as a "plug in" to power the lobby, message of the day, etc. It may be just a case of changing some of the settings in IE9, but if not, look at going back to IE8. It seems that problems with IE9 are not just confined to casinos, and it may need a "service pack" for IE9 to be released before it is worth trying again.

    I recall that when VISTA first came out, many players were having problems with their casinos, and it took a year for Microsoft to iron out these issues. The general impression was that VISTA was a "turkey", and users should either stick to XP or make the leap to Windows 7. I didn't upgrade to VISTA in the end on my PC, even though I bought it right at the end of the XP lifetime, and was able to get a VISTA upgrade DVD for around £11. I was going to use it, but then I saw on the forum how many problems players were having with it.

    As with Windows 98, I have gotten to know XP, so will probably stick with it on this PC until things just stop being compatible with it as eventually happened with 98.

    I still have the Windows 98 PC, but the monitor went last month so I am sharing a newer monitor between the two "junior" PCs downstairs. I am going to decommission that 98 PC soon, so that I have room for my next new PC, whereupon this "beast" will be retired to "light duties", and something even better takes over which will enable me to reclaim my crown at the Slotsmeister;)
     

Share This Page