1. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies .This website or its third-party tools use cookies, which are necessary to its functioning and required to achieve the purposes illustrated in the cookie policy.Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
  3. Follow Casinomeister on Twitter | Facebook | YouTube | Casinomeister.us US Residents Click here! |  Svenska Svenska | 
Dismiss Notice
REGISTER NOW!! Why? Because you can't do diddly squat without having been registered!

At the moment you have limited access to view most discussions: you can't make contact with thousands of fellow players, affiliates, casino reps, and all sorts of other riff-raff.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join Casinomeister here!

RTG Casino Software Warning

Discussion in 'Online Casinos' started by Stanford, Jan 9, 2005.

    Jan 9, 2005
  1. Stanford

    Stanford Dormant account

    Location:
    USA
    I am not going to mention the casino at this point but players should be cautious playing blackjack at RTG. The CSR says he has not had this reported before so this may be something new.

    Here's the story.

    I was playing blackjack and the RTG speed is fast. Occasionally the screen would freeze and I would get an error message that I couldn't communicate with the server. I didn't pay much attention at first. This has happened with other software. But the last time I recorded my hand and the dealer hand.

    I had wagered $10.

    The dealer had a 5.

    I had A7.

    When the screen returned after the error message, the dealer had an 8. And my wager had changed for 10 to 5.

    I tied the hand and only 5 (not 10) was returned.

    Players need to screen print everything if there is anything odd at all that happens with this software. Support says it will be about 4 hours before I hear back. I have suspended play till then. Coincidentally, my bankroll was headed south at a very good clip during this.

    Stanford.
     
  2. Jan 9, 2005
  3. lanidar

    lanidar Dormant account

    Occupation:
    retired
    Location:
    Avenel, New Jersey
    Why not tell us which casino? :what:
     
  4. Jan 10, 2005
  5. Stanford

    Stanford Dormant account

    Location:
    USA
    I was afraid it might trash the casino and there may be a reason. But by the same token I wanted players to pay attention. RTG Blackjack plays really fast.

    I had a similar problem with a MicroGaming about a year ago. The total of the hands were different than the cards on the screen.

    Also, I am not sure it matters. Isn't the game kept on RTG servers. So any error would be there. I hope the games are not loaded on each individuals casinos servers allowing the casino to tinker with the software. That seems like poor control, but I don't know. Maybe someone here knows how it works or can ask.

    Stanford.
     
  6. Jan 10, 2005
  7. Stanford

    Stanford Dormant account

    Location:
    USA
    The original screen is restored

    I don't think they believe me. The original screen is restored.

    Support just responded that the game is "in process". The A7 is still there. The dealer still has a 5. And my bet is $10.

    I logged in and it shows just as they say. So what was this other hand I played?

    This is the wierdest thing, so again players should pay attention to any thing funny with the Blackjack for awhile. And screen print everything.

    Stanford.
     
  8. Jan 10, 2005
  9. Casinomeister

    Casinomeister Forum Cheermeister Staff Member

    Occupation:
    Homemaker
    Location:
    Bierland
    When you say the original screen, you mean the screen with the error? Do you have a screenshot? And yes you are right - RTG casinos have no control over game results (imagine the mayhem!). This is coming from RTG.

    I'll contact some people to look into this. They can look at your game history to see what hands you had. If you have contradictory screenshots, they'll need those.
     
  10. Jan 10, 2005
  11. Stanford

    Stanford Dormant account

    Location:
    USA
    No, not the screen with the error. The screen that locked when I had A7 vs dealer 5 with a $10 bet.

    The hand it was changed to was A7 vs dealer 8 with a $5 bet. Support can find no record in any of my logs where my soft 18 tied the dealer 18 and pushed a $5 bet.

    If you think about it, I have suffered no harm. The changed hand pushed. And now the original hand is back and I can still play it. So, pots right. But I know what happened without doubt. I got back a different hand. I played it. It pushed $5. And I stopped playing right then.

    I immediately took a screen shot tonight. But I didn't screenshot the error and I know better. The way I convinced MicroGaming when the cards didn't match the totals was with screen shots. One just gets complacent after awhile.

    Stanford.
     
  12. Jan 10, 2005
  13. Casinomeister

    Casinomeister Forum Cheermeister Staff Member

    Occupation:
    Homemaker
    Location:
    Bierland
    Go ahead and fill out a PAB, and I'll get it to the software guys so they can look into it. Thanks!
     
  14. Jan 10, 2005
  15. Stanford

    Stanford Dormant account

    Location:
    USA
    Email Forwarded

    I forwarded you all the email. I hate to PAB because I think you will agree that customer service was pretty good.

    But if you think anything else can or should be done by RTG then you have all the correspondance. I think what I will do is just play and watch and next time I will be diligent with the screenshots, as the rest of the players should be. I was really just warning players more than complaining which is why I picked the general forum rather than then Casino Complaints.

    In the meantime, I have to get this play wrapped up. I am off to Las Vegas in two days. :)

    Many thanks,
    Stanford
     
  16. Jan 11, 2005
  17. spinslot

    spinslot Dormant account

    Location:
    US
    I had similar experience recently.
    One of my missing hand did came back like 10 hands later but I lost all other 4-5 betting without even seeing the dealer's cards.


     
  18. Jan 11, 2005
  19. Stanford

    Stanford Dormant account

    Location:
    USA
    Might be the "changed hand" wasn't changed but just late when it "came back" as you say. Might be that was an interrupted hand from a previous server freeze. Except it doesn't show up on my player log anywhere so I am just speculating.

    Stanford.
     
  20. Jan 11, 2005
  21. cipher

    cipher Banned member - being a jerk

    Hi Stanford:

    Whatever happened in this instance Stanford would have had to have happened on RTG's server. I recorded 12-15 RTG sessions over the past couple of days (20 to 30 megs per session) and I didn't come across anything like what you've described. Have a good one.
     
  22. Jan 11, 2005
  23. Petunia

    Petunia Dormant account

    ** Hey Stanford, I would like to compliment you on the calm fassion you approached this! It is nice to see that you are trying to be understanding. Of course it is hard when this kind of thing happens, but it does not ALWAYS mean that the operators are crooks!! :thumbsup:
    Then I would like to just comment in general, as always. Software sometimes have a manner of corrupting or throwing err out of the blue... This, again, does not mean that ALL RTG software (oftern associated as THE CASINO) is corrupt. Anyone working in such an environment might realise that sometimes this happens because of silly things... but still, it is not excuseable! It IS however refreshing to see that you did not throw a tantrum, but reported this 'bug' and hopefully it will be sorted out... BTW, I am not referring to casino software only. Who's had to re-install MS or Photoshop because suddenly it just won't work, or it does not cooperate?! Same differance, IMHO. **
     
  24. Jan 12, 2005
  25. Casinomeister

    Casinomeister Forum Cheermeister Staff Member

    Occupation:
    Homemaker
    Location:
    Bierland
    RTG is taking a look at this. Stanford, it would help if you have any screenshots. Do you have any? If so, you can forward them to me and I'll pass them on.
     

Share This Page