RIP Gary Moore

Da_Gambla

Dormant account
If you are an afficiado of 70's and 80's rock guitar icons, you have lost one of the greatest today. Gary Moore passed away in his sleep, whilst on holiday in Spain, at the way too young age of 58.

As a rock guitarist myself growing up in the 80's, we were all focused on the bigger than life and very real Guitar Heroes of the time; Jimmy Page, Angus Young, David Gilmour, Michael Schenker, Eddie Van Halen, the list went on. Gary seemed to literally appear from nowhere, and I keenly remember the first listens I had to his material. His tone was matched with his feel. He could lift you up to the clouds with floating bent notes that sustained forever, launch you into outer space with his furious ascending runs, and crash you back down to Earth with a flurry of palm-muted lower string phrasings and growls. He was pretty much the perfect blend of a slow-handed Clapton and a heavy metal guitar god. Gary wasn't much of a stomp-box player, and favoured the subtle nuances of his tremolo bar and volume knob to execute those not-so-in-your-face phrases that were so haunting and timeless.

In Gary's lifetime, we got about 6 different guitarists. He could play straight rock, metal, blues, progressive, and hybrid mixes of all those styles. His career was most oft criticized by the apparent ADD approach to whatever style he was currently shrouding himself in. I think that's what I liked about him the most. He didn't care what people labeled him, and as soon as someone was bold enough to try it, Gary would break into another realm.

RIP mate, and thank you for sharing your gift with the world while you were here.

- Keith

Informative Links:

Gary's profile @ Dino Guitarists:
You do not have permission to view link Log in or register now.

Gary's Official Website:

YouTube videos:

The Loner - All guitar instrumental, studio version with video. This is pretty much the complete Gary Moore package of his subtle side: