1. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies .This website or its third-party tools use cookies, which are necessary to its functioning and required to achieve the purposes illustrated in the cookie policy.Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
  3. Follow Casinomeister on Twitter | Facebook | YouTube | Casinomeister.us US Residents Click here! |  Svenska Svenska | 
Dismiss Notice
REGISTER NOW!! Why? Because you can't do diddly squat without having been registered!

At the moment you have limited access to view most discussions: you can't make contact with thousands of fellow players, affiliates, casino reps, and all sorts of other riff-raff.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join Casinomeister here!

Question Quickfire, not microgaming on Unibet?

Discussion in 'Online Casinos' started by Kenta, Jul 14, 2013.

    Jul 14, 2013
  1. Kenta

    Kenta Quit Gambling

    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Norway
    Launched Immortal Romance on Unibet, and the splash screen said presented by Quickfire, not microgaming anymore. The loading bar has also changed. Same with Thunderstruck 2 and the others. In IM and TSII My achievements has vanished. What has happened here?
     
  2. Jul 14, 2013
  3. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    A server change. It's no longer the same personal instance of the game, hence all past data (achievements) have gone. Quickfire is the Microgaming platform that allows the provision of games from several providers. In all but one casino, the achievements don't mean anything, however you will also have been knocked back to only having access to the first bonus round, which will irritate most players, even though it doesn't mean they have been dropped to a lower RTP on the game.

    It's careless to make such a change and not inform players beforehand.
     
  4. Jul 14, 2013
  5. Kenta

    Kenta Quit Gambling

    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Norway
    So that's what happened.
    That's not good at all. I used some bucks on both IR and TSII to open all bonus rounds, and now they're all gone. Oh well, I won't be playing those slots anymore, that's for sure.
     
  6. Jul 14, 2013
  7. Igor82

    Igor82 Senior Member

    Location:
    Malta
    I'm still receiving full achievement reports for my payers and all achievements have been marks as met - we still pay for them. :/ you worry me VWM - I'm going to have to do an audit.

    The change of bar is due to a CDN being employed that quickens the loading of the flash instance but the game Data is still stored on the servers for individual player ID for that casino.
     
  8. Jul 14, 2013
  9. Igor82

    Igor82 Senior Member

    Location:
    Malta
    Yep

    Yep just confirmed it. My players are continuing to be marked when I query MGS and the db hasn't changed its function. All rewards are still active - achievements haven't been viped.
     
    1 person likes this.
  10. Jul 15, 2013
  11. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I take it you have the same platform.

    I'm afraid this is more common than you think. It has happened to me before, and I have had passports deleted from Tomb Raider, which DOES affect the RTP. I complained, and was told they had changed servers. Worse, they were never able to completely reinstate my former game states.

    You should ask MGS for a little more detail. If it can happen in Viper, I would have considered a Flash based platform even more vulnerable.

    Clearly, it DID happen at Unibet, but the same change did not have the same effect (thankfully) at your casino, where players would be VERY upset given that you are the "one casino" where achievements actually mean something.

    MGS makes changes at least once a month, if not more, so you are constantly vulnerable. They seem to keep on updating a few existing games when new ones are added, and this is pretty obvious if you look at an updating Viper lobby. This could be an alternative explanation to "server change" for the loss of achievement data.
     
  12. Jul 15, 2013
  13. Igor82

    Igor82 Senior Member

    Location:
    Malta
    Thanks for that. We replicate the achieved data onto our servers - so what's been achieved will remain valid as soon as it's called by our system and pulled from QF MGS, however that said, i wouldn't feel comfortable someone having their MGS in-game achievements wiped out one IM symbol away from a 100,000 prize.

    I'll definitely take this up with MGS asap.

    Thanks

    Igor
     
    2 people like this.
  14. Jul 17, 2013
  15. Unibet Rep

    Unibet Rep Accredited Casino Representative

    Occupation:
    product expert casino & games
    Location:
    Malta
    Hi all,

    just to clarify a few things.
    it did NOT happen at Unibet. Since we are talking about the same platform, it would be really weird if this would only happen with us.

    I am still not sure what Kenta experienced but I requested the logs after reading this topic and according to them, no progress has been lost at least since April. I am in touch with Kento via PM to try and figure out what may have happened but so far, all seems to be in place.
    We did also not receive any complaints from any of our other customers which does indicate no progress has been lost overall.

    The only time progress was lost, and this was for everyone who was previously on the platform and changed to Quickfire, was when we moved to Quickfire. After this happened, I personally requested that this could not happen anymore with future releases since I understand that this is not a nice customer experience to say the least.

    Dave
     
    1 person likes this.
  16. Jul 17, 2013
  17. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    It's possible the player concerned remembered their progress from some time ago, but had not noticed recently, and the loss relates to this general loss from the original change, rather than something more recent.

    This has also happened to me on a Viper download MGS casino, and I too was apparently the "only one to report the issue". The excuse lacks credibility when other long standing issues with MGS have been discussed at length here, and even raised with the casinos concerned, only to be fobbed off with "no one has reported this issue before".

    This loss of tokens and achievements is one such problem, and is a long standing issue that seems to strike at random throughout the MGS estate. It is impossible to believe that MGS still refuse to admit such a problem exists, and I am sure your request to never let it happen again will not achieve anything with MGS. It WILL happen again, but is sufficiently rare that the chance of it again striking Unibet are probably less than the chance that Unibet will be host to the winner of the big Mega Moolah progressive.

    I was told the cause is migration to a new server. For some reason, the migration method used does not consider the preservation of achievements important, nor indeed the preservation of tokens, such as passports already gained on Tomb Raider II, which is far more irritating than the achievements being wiped. Server migrations can't be that rare, so the issue is either not being noticed, or when it is raised, the casinos try to fob the affected players off.

    Did this player initially raise this issue via CS?
     
  18. Jul 17, 2013
  19. CasinoBen

    CasinoBen Dormant account

    Occupation:
    Managing Director
    Location:
    Marbella
    Hi Kenta,

    Microgaming changed their game loader a few weeks ago to the Quickfire loader replacing the old Microgaming loader. The achievements, I have no idea but nothing in the mechanics of the game changed, no servers changed, just the loader or intro screen as some would refer to it. I had advance notice of the change as I would imagine other operators did but felt no need to communicate it as it is more of an aesthetic thing that most people don't really care about, and I would probably get more flack for communicating something like this than anything.

    Cheers,

    Ben
     
  20. Jul 17, 2013
  21. Simmo!

    Simmo! Moderator Staff Member

    Occupation:
    Web Dev.
    Location:
    England
    While you're there Igor, can you take them to task on "Error 2". It's become a real problem on Quickfire platforms for me...I gave up last night it got so frustrating.
     
  22. Jul 17, 2013
  23. dunover

    dunover Unofficial T&C's Editor Staff Member CAG PABnononaccred PABnonaccred PABinit mm3 webmeister

    Occupation:
    International Money Launderer
    Location:
    the bus shelter, opposite GCHQ Benhall
    Again you're rushing into an assumption without checking the facts.
    I have just checked my TSII and IR games on all Quickfires, including Guts and Heypoker! that formerly used the green slime loading bar and the 'achievements' are still exactly the same, and it's even remembered my last stake I was playing at!

    You should check this before worrying people. As you said, I would've been mightily p!ssed-off had you been correct and I no longer had the pick of the freespins features..........:mad:
     
    1 person likes this.
  24. Jul 17, 2013
  25. lotusch

    lotusch Megaways Slots, as useless as salt in your coffee webby PABaccred mm2

    Occupation:
    Marketing Assistant
    Location:
    Dún Dealgan
    Checked my accounts and no data has been erased.
    All there on different casino's all on Quickfire. ;)
     
  26. Jul 17, 2013
  27. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom

    Well, it's what King Neptunes told me happened when all my achievements just vanished. I can only rely on how casinos explain it to me. It's impossible to check directly with Microgaming, and I would have assumed King Neptunes would have done so on my behalf.

    A server change should also have had no impact upon players, so why did it then, and why now does a change of game loader strip a player of their achievements, but appear to do so selectively, rather than for all.

    I also checked other casinos, and it was only King Neptunes that was affected. There is more to this problem than MGS are saying. If it were so simple, it wouldn't happen because it would have been taken care of when changing servers and when changing game loaders.

    The question to ask is HOW does a game remember your past achievements and last stake? This could have something to do with why some players see a reset, yet others don't, despite it being a change for all. I have always assumed everything was stored on the server, but recently I found this is not necessarily the case. The last game state appears to be stored on my PC, not the server. Maybe achievements are also stored on the PC as they are usually as meaningless as the last game state. The only achievement that would have to be on the server would be things that could affect game play, such as which of the 4 bonus features one had earned, or how many passports one had saved on Tomb Raider II.
     
  28. Jul 17, 2013
  29. dunover

    dunover Unofficial T&C's Editor Staff Member CAG PABnononaccred PABnonaccred PABinit mm3 webmeister

    Occupation:
    International Money Launderer
    Location:
    the bus shelter, opposite GCHQ Benhall
    I always pondered that myself, and a while back I was satisfied that ALL vital info and logs are server-stored. The MGS files on your PC simply store your game logs and the infrastructure of the casino like CS portal and jpg retrievals of spin outcomes etc. This is why if you uninstall MG/MGS files totally, your 'achievements' will still be remembered next time you download the casino BUT you will lose your playcheck facility. It will reset. This is why you can't cheat the AWP 'forces' by uninstalling the casino or using system restore AFTER the big payouts. I know you will have tried too VWM.......:D
     
  30. Jul 18, 2013
  31. Igor82

    Igor82 Senior Member

    Location:
    Malta
    No there isn't - king Neptunes is a download Viper product meaning all game activity and transactions were stored on a server set assigned to them and when the data got swapped over it got lost. There isn't more to this problem - that was the problem. Isolated and one-off.
     
    1 person likes this.
  32. Jul 18, 2013
  33. Igor82

    Igor82 Senior Member

    Location:
    Malta
    Seriously, not fishing but you have an account with us and i'd be keen to hear the comparison. We've gone leaps ahead in resolving it and in your inbox you have a lengthy essay explaining a lot ;)
     
  34. Jul 19, 2013
  35. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    There should have been LESS to this problem, that's the point. It shows a weakness in the protocols used for preserving data in the event that servers need to be swapped. Worse was the fact that it was impossible to retrieve all the lost data, where were the backups?

    Although a different delivery mechanism, the Quickfire platform has to still store critical data on a server, so is in theory vulnerable to the same problem. Storing data that matters, such as the number of tokens earned so far towards a bonus, on the players' own PC is suicide. If the system is cracked, a player could simply edit the data in order to trigger the bonus round on the first spin.
     
  36. Jul 19, 2013
  37. Igor82

    Igor82 Senior Member

    Location:
    Malta
    Only King Neptunes can answer you with regard to their redundancy protocols.
     
  38. Jul 19, 2013
  39. Nifty29

    Nifty29 Dormant account

    Occupation:
    PAID CASINO SHILL
    Location:
    Turn right, then right. then right again
    Classic.

    One minute you can't trust a word the casinos tell you....next minute you "can only rely on what they tell me".

    I think the Catholic Feast of The Assumption may not have been about Mary, but rather a self-proclaimed "Messiah" from the UK...
     

Share This Page