1. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies .This website or its third-party tools use cookies, which are necessary to its functioning and required to achieve the purposes illustrated in the cookie policy.Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Follow Casinomeister on Twitter | Facebook | YouTube | Casinomeister.us US Residents Click here! |  Svenska Svenska | 
Dismiss Notice
REGISTER NOW!! Why? Because you can't do diddly squat without having been registered!

At the moment you have limited access to view most discussions: you can't make contact with thousands of fellow players, affiliates, casino reps, and all sorts of other riff-raff.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join Casinomeister here!

Problem with the reputable casino list

Discussion in 'Ask the Meister' started by gfkostas, Feb 28, 2004.

    Feb 28, 2004
  1. gfkostas

    gfkostas Ex-Bonus Whore

    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    UK
    I can't see properly the reputable list C.M :eek2:
     
  2. Mar 1, 2004
  3. Casinomeister

    Casinomeister Forum Cheermeister Staff Member

    Occupation:
    Homemaker
    Location:
    Bierland
    This is weird. Are you using "banner killer" software? This may explain this since all of these links are tracked using banner tracking software. What browser are you using and what version?
     
  4. Mar 2, 2004
  5. gfkostas

    gfkostas Ex-Bonus Whore

    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    UK

    No i don't use any ''banner killer'' software.
     
  6. Mar 2, 2004
  7. rowmare

    rowmare Dormant account

    Occupation:
    Webmeister and mom.
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    Is this the only page that you can't see text links on?
     
  8. Mar 2, 2004
  9. jpm

    jpm Dormant account

    How about Norton or McAfee internet security or personal firewall, or Zone Alarm?
     
  10. Mar 2, 2004
  11. rowmare

    rowmare Dormant account

    Occupation:
    Webmeister and mom.
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    LoL
    He hasn't replied.
    The problem probably went away with a reboot. :p
     
  12. Mar 2, 2004
  13. gfkostas

    gfkostas Ex-Bonus Whore

    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    UK
    I have disabled my firewall but the problem still persists :confused:
     
  14. Mar 2, 2004
  15. rowmare

    rowmare Dormant account

    Occupation:
    Webmeister and mom.
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    Is it just this one page where the text links don't show, or does it happen on other pages and websites?
     
  16. Mar 3, 2004
  17. gfkostas

    gfkostas Ex-Bonus Whore

    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    UK
    I experience this problem only with this website.
    I ca'nt see the reputable casino list and I can't also see the poker list
     
  18. Mar 3, 2004
  19. drkasper

    drkasper Webmaster

    Location:
    UK
    This really does sound like a Norton Internet Security/Firewall issue that, by default, blocks 'ads' including text links. A lot of PC's nowadays come packaged with Norton with the default already set

    Its not just a case of disabling the Firewall - you have to disable the Ad Blocking Feature
     
  20. Mar 3, 2004
  21. gfkostas

    gfkostas Ex-Bonus Whore

    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    UK

    I disabled the block 'ads' thing but still........ :(
     
  22. Mar 4, 2004
  23. drkasper

    drkasper Webmaster

    Location:
    UK
    Can you see links on any other page on the site (I don't mean article links, I mean casino links)? what about banners? can you see those?
     
  24. Mar 4, 2004
  25. Casinomeister

    Casinomeister Forum Cheermeister Staff Member

    Occupation:
    Homemaker
    Location:
    Bierland
    Hi drkasper,

    Good point. gfkostas, do you see any banners on the site? I'm not sure about how Norton Internet Security works, but maybe you need to clear your cache.

    For those webmasters following this, I use both Adcycle and phpAdsNew for the text links and banner ads for Casinomeister.
     
  26. Mar 4, 2004
  27. Disgruntled

    Disgruntled Dormant account

    Location:
    Costa Rica
    Norton Total Internet security blocks all banners that come from folders called, ads, banners, advertisements and so on.
     
  28. Mar 4, 2004
  29. drkasper

    drkasper Webmaster

    Location:
    UK
    hi there,

    NIS does block - but if you disable their ad blocker that should clear it.

    Its irrelevant what software you use to create the ads - its the ads themselves that are blocked. As 'Disgruntled' said, NIS looks at sizes for banners (468*60) or box sizes. Re-text links, they may be picking up something like the word 'ad' in the link - you've got both adcycle and adlink in the URL.

    It'll be good to know if anthing else - like the banners -are being blocked (or any other text links). If so, it maybe a case of redirecting your adlinks to something less obvious (a pain, but do-able)

    At the end of the day, NIS isn't used by that many people, but here in the UK it is being packaged by the big retailers, with ad blocking set as default and may get worse
     
  30. Mar 4, 2004
  31. Disgruntled

    Disgruntled Dormant account

    Location:
    Costa Rica
    I use NIS, it is a great service. I can not see your banners unless I disable it all together or create a specific customization for this domain.

    I disabled it long enough to see what the problem is

    http://casinomeister.com/banners/luckynugget/468x60/lnc_468x060_254.gif



    You have a folder called banners, this folder s images are blocked by NIS. If you were to rename this folder to a term not picked up by NIS then you would not have this problem.
     
  32. Mar 4, 2004
  33. gfkostas

    gfkostas Ex-Bonus Whore

    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    UK
    I decided that I can't waste any more time with this and therefore I unistalled NIS.Now it works fine :lolup:
    I will try in the near future to install NIS again and investigate the problem but at the moment am busy because am trying to derive an algorithm to define my hands movement when typing :D
     
  34. Mar 4, 2004
  35. drkasper

    drkasper Webmaster

    Location:
    UK
    what about deriving an algorithm to define your hand movements when playing blackjack. Now THAT I'd be interested in :D

    Re-uninstalling NIS - there are other free 'ad blockers' you can use. You can ask NIS to allow certain ads, buts it a bit of a pain.
     
  36. Mar 5, 2004
  37. Casinomeister

    Casinomeister Forum Cheermeister Staff Member

    Occupation:
    Homemaker
    Location:
    Bierland
    Bastards! This will take some time to redo, and so will the text links. :mad:

    Thanks all for clarifying this. And thanks gfkostas for bringing this up. I bet a lot of webmasters have been scatching their heads over this.
     
  38. Mar 5, 2004
  39. gfkostas

    gfkostas Ex-Bonus Whore

    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    UK
    And so it ends :D :D.
    Thanks for your help :notworthy
     

Share This Page