Playtech Casinos Crashing

Shocked

Quit Gambling
Joined
Dec 22, 2007
Location
Staffs UK
Hiya

Possibly the wrong forum, but does anyone else have the problem of playtech (Betfred & Totesport in my case) crashing frequently. Doesn't seem so bad on non-slot games, but on slots I can barely go 5 minutes without the whole casino crashing.

It's kinda maddenly - just trying to play Dr Lovemore and the silly thing is crashing all the time.

Regards

Shocked!
 

vinylweatherman

You type well loads
Joined
Oct 14, 2004
Location
United Kingdom
Hiya

Possibly the wrong forum, but does anyone else have the problem of playtech (Betfred & Totesport in my case) crashing frequently. Doesn't seem so bad on non-slot games, but on slots I can barely go 5 minutes without the whole casino crashing.

It's kinda maddenly - just trying to play Dr Lovemore and the silly thing is crashing all the time.

Regards

Shocked!
Had this on my old PC, the slots would suddenly freeze, and the entire lobby stopped responding such that the only way to exit was through the task manager.

I have not seen the same problem on my new PC though.
 

Shocked

Quit Gambling
Joined
Dec 22, 2007
Location
Staffs UK
Had this on my old PC, the slots would suddenly freeze, and the entire lobby stopped responding such that the only way to exit was through the task manager.

I have not seen the same problem on my new PC though.
You never worked out what could be the problem? It happens on both my PCs and they have very different set ups, which is rather strange. Tried exiting running applications (AVs, email notifier..basically anything in the systray) and it makes no difference and I may try disabling drivers one by one, but its a right pain.
 

winbig

Keep winning this amount.
Joined
Mar 10, 2005
Location
Pennsylvania
You never worked out what could be the problem? It happens on both my PCs and they have very different set ups, which is rather strange. Tried exiting running applications (AVs, email notifier..basically anything in the systray) and it makes no difference and I may try disabling drivers one by one, but its a right pain.
This sounds like it may be a video card issue....

Have you tried booting into VGA mode? (Hit F8 at boot, and choose it from the list.) This will load the default windows video driver, bypassing any hardware acceleration; basically running video at minimal capacity without any additional "features" running that the card has enabled with its native drivers.

It may be god awful ugly (800x600x8 resolution), but if it does work, it may be the video drivers &/or card that's giving you fits.
 

vinylweatherman

You type well loads
Joined
Oct 14, 2004
Location
United Kingdom
You never worked out what could be the problem? It happens on both my PCs and they have very different set ups, which is rather strange. Tried exiting running applications (AVs, email notifier..basically anything in the systray) and it makes no difference and I may try disabling drivers one by one, but its a right pain.
This sounds like it may be a video card issue....

Have you tried booting into VGA mode? (Hit F8 at boot, and choose it from the list.) This will load the default windows video driver, bypassing any hardware acceleration; basically running video at minimal capacity without any additional "features" running that the card has enabled with its native drivers.

It may be god awful ugly (800x600x8 resolution), but if it does work, it may be the video drivers &/or card that's giving you fits.

I concluded that it was related to the fact my PC has onboard graphics, and no actual graphics card. I have already installed the latest onboard graphics drivers. It is an old Windows 98 PC, with fairly basic specs (it was bought as "internet ready"). I have upgraded it as far as Windows 98 and the motherboard could take, and it retired from active casino duty early last year. It will spend it's remaining days on less taxing matters till it finally dies.

Since Playtech was OK on the new PC, I left it at this, and investigated no further.

Last night however, I decided to play off a free 12 in Fastwin casino (Playtech). It didn't freeze as I autoplayed the 12 to extinction on Dr Lovemore (as would most certainly have happened on the old PC), but when I later tried to turn of my NEW XP PC, it hung on "windows is shutting down", and this is something that is very rare indeed, and perhaps indicates a NEW issue with Playtech software might be responsible for these latest problems.
 

winbig

Keep winning this amount.
Joined
Mar 10, 2005
Location
Pennsylvania
spend it's remaining days on less taxing matters till it finally dies.
Maybe you could put it to use solely for doing your taxes...that way you can throw it out the window when you find out how much you owe, and not be out anything ;)

Or does the UK even have income tax like us Americans?

</clueless>

:D
 

vinylweatherman

You type well loads
Joined
Oct 14, 2004
Location
United Kingdom
Maybe you could put it to use solely for doing your taxes...that way you can throw it out the window when you find out how much you owe, and not be out anything ;)

Or does the UK even have income tax like us Americans?

</clueless>

:D
We are taxed far more than you lot:mad:

BUT:-

For most of us, it is automated, and we don't have to fill in a big form each year unless we have to declare income outside of our work and other registered payments (such as pensions, state benefits, etc).

GAMBLING, does NOT need to be reported, as unlike the USA, we are NOT taxed on winnings of any amount UNLESS we declare our occupation as "Professional Gambler". There ARE a few individuals who do this, but they must somehow get an advantage, perhaps by the status lending any books, gambling systems, etc, that they sell or promote a great deal of credibility.
It is normally in the field of sports betting that you see this, and there is now an opportunity to use "trading" on sports outcomes, as well as using traditional bookies to place bets.
 

Rhyzz

Full Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Location
United Kingdom
Indeed we do pay an awful lot more tax, it's a joke. Those of us who are hard working individuals are paying for the upkeep of millions of unemployed in Britain...I'd rather be over in the states but it that way!

Rip off Britain...people have no idea just how rip off it is! I find a good example is always Fuel or Cigarettes... I pay 1.15 for a litre of 'gas'...that's around 4 a gallon...that's $8!

Cigs = 5 a pack, $10 !!
 

mollypenny

Experienced Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Location
US
Indeed we do pay an awful lot more tax, it's a joke. Those of us who are hard working individuals are paying for the upkeep of millions of unemployed in Britain...I'd rather be over in the states but it that way!

Rip off Britain...people have no idea just how rip off it is! I find a good example is always Fuel or Cigarettes... I pay 1.15 for a litre of 'gas'...that's around 4 a gallon...that's $8!

Cigs = 5 a pack, $10 !!
The next time I pay 3.75 for a gl of gas and 3.50 for a pack of ciggs I will be thinking of you and not get so upset for what I thought were high prices.
 

Shocked

Quit Gambling
Joined
Dec 22, 2007
Location
Staffs UK
AHEM!

Back to the matter at hand. I'll update all the drivers and reinstall all software and do another malware check / defrag / general clearout and see if that help..then try the safe mode thing (not sure if the casino will even load in safe mode?!?)

Nice bewbies Winbig
 

winbig

Keep winning this amount.
Joined
Mar 10, 2005
Location
Pennsylvania
AHEM!

Back to the matter at hand. I'll update all the drivers and reinstall all software and do another malware check / defrag / general clearout and see if that help..then try the safe mode thing (not sure if the casino will even load in safe mode?!?)

Nice bewbies Winbig
:lolup:, ty:)

Yes, everything else will load up just fine when you boot into VGA MODE (not to be confused with Safe Mode.) The only difference is which video drivers windows loads.
 

Shocked

Quit Gambling
Joined
Dec 22, 2007
Location
Staffs UK
Ah..didn't even notice VGA mode - no matter, the mass clearout seemed to work, though not sure what did it - probably the sound drivers, forgot to update them last time I did the inevitable reinstall..so they were 6 years old :oops:

Merci, Winbig

Anyhoo, you lot can continue to babble on about taxes now.

*waves everyone on*
 

Alexishot69

Banned User
Joined
Jul 6, 2008
Location
Edinburgh
costs

The next time I pay 3.75 for a gl of gas and 3.50 for a pack of ciggs I will be thinking of you and not get so upset for what I thought were high prices.
Theres actually 4.54 litres in a gallon and where i stay its about 1.20 a litre which is 5.44 a gallon so almost $12 a gallon..
 

winbig

Keep winning this amount.
Joined
Mar 10, 2005
Location
Pennsylvania
Theres actually 4.54 litres in a gallon and where i stay its about 1.20 a litre which is 5.44 a gallon so almost $12 a gallon..
Not saying that's not outrageous, but aren't car makers over there required to ship out cars that get a minimum of 40mpg?

On average here, if you don't get a new car, you're looking at 25mpg. Even if you do get a good new car, you're still only looking at 30mpg (hwy+city combined) on the high-average.

Sure, it may only be a 10-15mpg difference, but it adds up quite fast. Not to mention if you're in London, there's rarely a need to drive in the first place....unless you live in the boonies :)
 

KasinoKing

WebMeister & Slotaholic..
webmeister
PABnonaccred
CAG
MM
Joined
Aug 25, 2004
Location
Bexhill on sea, England
I've been playing a Playtech the last few days, and haven't had any 'crashing', but I simply can not get the 'What's Cooking' slot to run.
Every time I try my laptop just freezes for about 3-4 minutes, then eventually a message pops up saying 'can't connect to server' and dumps me right out of the casino.
All the other games play OK.

However, I logged in this-morning to check something, and the whole casino just did a MAJOR update; Loads of downloading before the casino even opened, then I noticed ALL the slots downloading / updating...

Any regular Playtech players; is this a frequent occurrence? :confused:
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top