Playtech blackjack switch - beware

GrandMaster

Ueber Meister
CAG
Joined
Jan 21, 2004
Location
UK
I have noticed that since the recent software update, blackjack switch is not dealt according to the published rules and the changes are in the casino's favour (surprise).

If the dealer is showing an ace, the player is not allowed to switch any more regardless whether the dealer has blackjack or not. I have screenshots to prove that there is a problem.

On another occasion, the dealer was showing a 10, and he simply turned over his blackjack without giving me the option to switch.

Until this problem is resolved, I recommend that you stay away from blackjack switch.
 

elscrabinda

Full Member
PABnoaccred
PABnorogue
Joined
Oct 20, 2004
Location
Oxford
At least they don't have the cheek of Intercasino to email us about the great new improvements they've made to the game. When you say contrary to the published rules do you mean on the wizard's site etc or that the actual websites of playtech casinos haven't changed their rules? Thats pretty scandalous if its the case
 

GrandMaster

Ueber Meister
CAG
Joined
Jan 21, 2004
Location
UK
When starting up, the casino displays the message "We have released a new and improved version of our casino software". The rules displayed by the casino software itself include "Prior to any hits, you may switch the top cards of your two hands."
 

bpb

Banned User - repeated violations of rule 1.14 (tr
PABnonaccred
PABnorogue
Joined
Jun 17, 2004
Location
Haverhill
GrandMaster said:
If my calculations are correct, the house edge is about 0.7%.

Compared to an old house edge of around .05%. So a 14x increase. Impressive.
 

GrandMaster

Ueber Meister
CAG
Joined
Jan 21, 2004
Location
UK
Totesport casino did the decent thing and refunded my losses on blackjack switch.
 

elscrabinda

Full Member
PABnoaccred
PABnorogue
Joined
Oct 20, 2004
Location
Oxford
Is it fixed yet? Needless to say I have heard nothing from any of the Playtech casinos I play at warning me about this.
 

paul1

Dormant account
Joined
Nov 19, 2002
elscrabinda said:
Is it fixed yet? Needless to say I have heard nothing from any of the Playtech casinos I play at warning me about this.

I'm giving this a bump. I don't have any money in a Playtech casino right now to answer this question for myself. Anyone know the status of this issue?
 

caruso

Banned User - repetitive violations of 1.6 - troll
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Location
England
I played a couple of days ago at HardRock and it was available OK. In fact, I did quite a bit of free-mode testing at Bet365 a few days ago and didn't see any anomolies of any kind.

No idea what Totesport's problem is. Maybe they just don't want to offer the game.
 

caruso

Banned User - repetitive violations of 1.6 - troll
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Location
England
Check that - I've now come across both anomolies. I also took screenshots.

Oh dear. Another quality game bites the dust.
 

Geoff Hall

Dormant account
Joined
Jun 24, 2004
Location
England
caruso said:
Check that - I've now come across both anomolies. I also took screenshots.

Oh dear. Another quality game bites the dust.

I tested Totesport yesterday and everything seemed OK - they have adapted the US 'Hole Card' rule.

You could 'Switch' against a non-Blackjack 'Ace' (at least in play money).

They may be having final checks before they release the game for real money again.
 

caruso

Banned User - repetitive violations of 1.6 - troll
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Location
England
Geoff Hall said:
I tested Totesport yesterday and everything seemed OK - they have adapted the US 'Hole Card' rule.

You could 'Switch' against a non-Blackjack 'Ace' (at least in play money).

Not at Hard Rock - see attachments. First indicates no switch against ace, second confirms there's no dealer BJ. In other words: no switch against dealer ace.

Assuming the rules as you see them, what is the exact house edge?
 

Geoff Hall

Dormant account
Joined
Jun 24, 2004
Location
England
caruso said:
Not at Hard Rock - see attachments. First indicates no switch against ace, second confirms there's no dealer BJ. In other words: no switch against dealer ace.

Assuming the rules as you see them, what is the exact house edge?

Hi Caruso

I'll have to download the 'Hard Rock' site and check this out. I'm sure that it's fixed at Totesport so not sure why it hasn't been adapted at 'Hard Rock'.

I'll make some enquiries in the meantime.

I've just run 2 very quick sim's (100m hands each) and found that the 'No switch verses Ace' added 0.13% to the house edge. I know that Grandmaster had a higher figure but this is the result I have just got from the 'Switch' simulator.
 
Top