1. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies .This website or its third-party tools use cookies, which are necessary to its functioning and required to achieve the purposes illustrated in the cookie policy.Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Follow Casinomeister on Twitter | Facebook | YouTube | Casinomeister.us US Residents Click here! |  Svenska Svenska | 
Dismiss Notice
REGISTER NOW!! Why? Because you can't do diddly squat without having been registered!

At the moment you have limited access to view most discussions: you can't make contact with thousands of fellow players, affiliates, casino reps, and all sorts of other riff-raff.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join Casinomeister here!

Playtech blackjack switch - beware

Discussion in 'Online Casino and Poker Complaints - old section' started by GrandMaster, Mar 5, 2006.

    Mar 5, 2006
  1. GrandMaster

    GrandMaster Ueber Meister CAG

    Occupation:
    Mathematician by day, online gambler by night.
    Location:
    UK
    I have noticed that since the recent software update, blackjack switch is not dealt according to the published rules and the changes are in the casino's favour (surprise).

    If the dealer is showing an ace, the player is not allowed to switch any more regardless whether the dealer has blackjack or not. I have screenshots to prove that there is a problem.

    On another occasion, the dealer was showing a 10, and he simply turned over his blackjack without giving me the option to switch.

    Until this problem is resolved, I recommend that you stay away from blackjack switch.
     
    13 people like this.
  2. Mar 5, 2006
  3. elscrabinda

    elscrabinda Experienced Member PABnorogue PABnoaccred

    Occupation:
    jvonsofdmpvs
    Location:
    Oxford
    At least they don't have the cheek of Intercasino to email us about the great new improvements they've made to the game. When you say contrary to the published rules do you mean on the wizard's site etc or that the actual websites of playtech casinos haven't changed their rules? Thats pretty scandalous if its the case
     
  4. Mar 5, 2006
  5. GrandMaster

    GrandMaster Ueber Meister CAG

    Occupation:
    Mathematician by day, online gambler by night.
    Location:
    UK
    When starting up, the casino displays the message "We have released a new and improved version of our casino software". The rules displayed by the casino software itself include "Prior to any hits, you may switch the top cards of your two hands."
     
  6. Mar 6, 2006
  7. GrandMaster

    GrandMaster Ueber Meister CAG

    Occupation:
    Mathematician by day, online gambler by night.
    Location:
    UK
    If my calculations are correct, the house edge is about 0.7%.
     
  8. Mar 7, 2006
  9. bpb

    bpb Banned User - repeated violations of rule 1.14 (tr PABnorogue PABnonaccred

    Location:
    Haverhill
    Compared to an old house edge of around .05%. So a 14x increase. Impressive.
     
  10. Mar 8, 2006
  11. Geoff Hall

    Geoff Hall Dormant account

    Location:
    England
    Playtech have responded very quickly to this and are working on rectifying the error asap.
     
  12. Mar 8, 2006
  13. largeeyes

    largeeyes Dormant account

    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    North America
    Uh.....right.
     
  14. Mar 8, 2006
  15. GrandMaster

    GrandMaster Ueber Meister CAG

    Occupation:
    Mathematician by day, online gambler by night.
    Location:
    UK
    Totesport casino did the decent thing and refunded my losses on blackjack switch.
     
  16. Mar 10, 2006
  17. elscrabinda

    elscrabinda Experienced Member PABnorogue PABnoaccred

    Occupation:
    jvonsofdmpvs
    Location:
    Oxford
    Is it fixed yet? Needless to say I have heard nothing from any of the Playtech casinos I play at warning me about this.
     
  18. Mar 15, 2006
  19. paul1

    paul1 Dormant account

    I'm giving this a bump. I don't have any money in a Playtech casino right now to answer this question for myself. Anyone know the status of this issue?
     
  20. Mar 15, 2006
  21. GrandMaster

    GrandMaster Ueber Meister CAG

    Occupation:
    Mathematician by day, online gambler by night.
    Location:
    UK
    Blackjack switch is still unavailable.
     
  22. Mar 15, 2006
  23. caruso

    caruso Banned User - repetitive violations of 1.6 - troll

    Occupation:
    Casino apologist
    Location:
    England
    I played a couple of days ago at HardRock and it was available OK. In fact, I did quite a bit of free-mode testing at Bet365 a few days ago and didn't see any anomolies of any kind.

    No idea what Totesport's problem is. Maybe they just don't want to offer the game.
     
  24. Mar 15, 2006
  25. caruso

    caruso Banned User - repetitive violations of 1.6 - troll

    Occupation:
    Casino apologist
    Location:
    England
    Check that - I've now come across both anomolies. I also took screenshots.

    Oh dear. Another quality game bites the dust.
     
    1 person likes this.
  26. Mar 17, 2006
  27. Geoff Hall

    Geoff Hall Dormant account

    Location:
    England
    I tested Totesport yesterday and everything seemed OK - they have adapted the US 'Hole Card' rule.

    You could 'Switch' against a non-Blackjack 'Ace' (at least in play money).

    They may be having final checks before they release the game for real money again.
     
    1 person likes this.
  28. Mar 17, 2006
  29. caruso

    caruso Banned User - repetitive violations of 1.6 - troll

    Occupation:
    Casino apologist
    Location:
    England
    ....
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2006
  30. Mar 17, 2006
  31. caruso

    caruso Banned User - repetitive violations of 1.6 - troll

    Occupation:
    Casino apologist
    Location:
    England
    Not at Hard Rock - see attachments. First indicates no switch against ace, second confirms there's no dealer BJ. In other words: no switch against dealer ace.

    Assuming the rules as you see them, what is the exact house edge?
     
    1 person likes this.
  32. Mar 17, 2006
  33. Geoff Hall

    Geoff Hall Dormant account

    Location:
    England
    Hi Caruso

    I'll have to download the 'Hard Rock' site and check this out. I'm sure that it's fixed at Totesport so not sure why it hasn't been adapted at 'Hard Rock'.

    I'll make some enquiries in the meantime.

    I've just run 2 very quick sim's (100m hands each) and found that the 'No switch verses Ace' added 0.13% to the house edge. I know that Grandmaster had a higher figure but this is the result I have just got from the 'Switch' simulator.
     
  34. Mar 22, 2006
  35. caruso

    caruso Banned User - repetitive violations of 1.6 - troll

    Occupation:
    Casino apologist
    Location:
    England
    Well, isn't this odd?

    Totesport = switch v. non-blackjack dealer ace...
     
    2 people like this.
  36. Mar 22, 2006
  37. caruso

    caruso Banned User - repetitive violations of 1.6 - troll

    Occupation:
    Casino apologist
    Location:
    England
    ...whilst HardRock = no switch option.
     
    3 people like this.
  38. Apr 12, 2006
  39. caruso

    caruso Banned User - repetitive violations of 1.6 - troll

    Occupation:
    Casino apologist
    Location:
    England
    Hard Rock have fixed this problem.
     

Share This Page