1. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies .This website or its third-party tools use cookies, which are necessary to its functioning and required to achieve the purposes illustrated in the cookie policy.Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
  3. Follow Casinomeister on Twitter | Facebook | YouTube | Casinomeister.us US Residents Click here! |  Svenska Svenska | 
Dismiss Notice
REGISTER NOW!! Why? Because you can't do diddly squat without having been registered!

At the moment you have limited access to view most discussions: you can't make contact with thousands of fellow players, affiliates, casino reps, and all sorts of other riff-raff.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join Casinomeister here!

Playing online with air card

Discussion in 'Online Casinos' started by pobeda, Apr 7, 2011.

Tags:
    Apr 7, 2011
  1. pobeda

    pobeda account suspended PABnononaccred

    Occupation:
    software engineer
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I will try to explain my question, but not sure if it makes sense :)

    I have one of those ATT and Verizon air cards, so I can get internet everywhere. Both are limited on data per month.
    The question is, if I would be playing online casino (my favorite 3Dice for example), would I waste a lot of Kbs? For example, I would not want to download a movie with that. Is this comparable with playing at online casino?
     
  2. Apr 7, 2011
  3. Gremmyboy

    Gremmyboy Dormant account

    Occupation:
    Administration
    Location:
    Australia
    Really depends on the casino. 3Dice will download and then install all games which will use a lot of Kb's but once downloaded the usage to stay online and send data to and from their servers should be minimal.

    RTG is the same in that respect except that you choose which games to download so it only downloads what you want, saving Kb's.

    MG is a huge download and will download all the 400 games in the background every time you log on which means you will use a lot of Kb's every time you play until all games are downloaded(around 600mb to 700mb in total I think )

    All casinos will download something that will use a lot of data the first time you install them.

    Perhaps playing the flash version would be a better option for you.(Unsure how large the data back and forth would equate to but assume it would be minimal.)

    Just an opinion and I may be wrong.

    Cheers
    Gremmy
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2011
  4. Apr 7, 2011
  5. same_old

    same_old Dormant account PABaccred webmeister

    Occupation:
    12th man
    Location:
    Australia
    HI,

    I'd say 3dice would eat up bandwidth (just an assumption) but if you are on a capped plan for your internet then isn't there a section where you can see the download/upload progress?

    If so, go to 3dice for a while then check your usage this would give you somewhat of an indication.

    Sam eold
     
  6. Apr 7, 2011
  7. jstrike

    jstrike Dormant account

    Occupation:
    Programmer & Designer
    Location:
    Europe
    Usually flash versions of (current) online casinos won't be much savings in the long haul, since each game has to load separately, and be reloaded every single time. And the games are usually pretty big, anywhere from 1-5Mb depending on how many graphics and animations have to be loaded. You're a lot better off just using a download casino in this case, especially if you like to jump around to different games all the time. (If you don't jump to different games, your system might cache the flash game you play the most, in which case it won't have to download it all over again every time you go to the casino).

    In general, the actual data being sent back and forth to the download (or flash) client software is usually very light...however, it's continuous as long as you have the software open. So don't leave it on in the background when you're not using it, it will sit there and burn data checking the lobbies, etc.
     
  8. Apr 7, 2011
  9. pobeda

    pobeda account suspended PABnononaccred

    Occupation:
    software engineer
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Thank you

    Thanks to everyone,

    I just asked 3die support. Here is the answer:

    *
    playing tournament (no chat) in autoplay(turbo) is about 75 kilobyte/minute
     
  10. Apr 8, 2011
  11. anniemac

    anniemac Ueber Meister MM PABnoaccred

    Occupation:
    retired
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    I use a Verizon aircard with 5GB and I have yet to go over. I don't play 3Dice but RTG and MG. What uses your time is downloading. Once you get a casino downloaded and the games downloaded then you don't use much just playing.
     

Share This Page