PKR Poker System Specs Poll

AussieDave

Banned User
Joined
Dec 25, 2005
Location
Australia
Be interested to know they type of rigs that people use. Now that PKR have introduced their beta testing of their 3D virtual poker.
 

Buddy

Dormant account
Joined
Mar 3, 2006
Location
UK
ATI Mobility Radeon X300

I've been playing with a ATI Mobility Radeon X300 and have had no issues whatsoever. My laptop also has a 1gb of RAM.

I have seen the PKR software cause some real issues with some graphics cards though - actually crashing the PC...:eek:
 

AussieDave

Banned User
Joined
Dec 25, 2005
Location
Australia
I've just updated to a GeoForce 6800 256mb agp8 and thre in a gig of corsair ddr. PKR was buggy on my other card 5200 (nvidia) but PKR said they were working on a patch or fix around for nvidia cards. That was 6 weeks ago and still no word?

Haven't bothered to test it out though, no point if it's still going to crash my system.
 

winbig

Keep winning this amount.
Joined
Mar 10, 2005
Location
Pennsylvania
Trezz said:
but PKR said they were working on a patch or fix around for nvidia cards. That was 6 weeks ago and still no word?
Workaround for nvidia cards?? :what:

Seems the programmers didn't even think about problems with one of the most popular line of video cards around when they created the PKR software....OOPS.
 

AussieDave

Banned User
Joined
Dec 25, 2005
Location
Australia
winbig said:
Workaround for nvidia cards?? :what:

Seems the programmers didn't even think about problems with one of the most popular line of video cards around when they created the PKR software....OOPS.
My thoughts exactly, a pretty stupid screw up in a major way.

Plus not everyone has a high end PC, well, at least the type that needs to run PKR smoothly and void of screen shudder.
 

winbig

Keep winning this amount.
Joined
Mar 10, 2005
Location
Pennsylvania
Trezz said:
My thoughts exactly, a pretty stupid screw up in a major way.

Plus not everyone has a high end PC, well, at least the type that needs to run PKR smoothly and void of screen shudder.
Reminds me of the 28.8 modem days of AOL when their program didn't like modems with Hayes chips on them...Most everyone froze up when trying to upload files...

Same with Nvidia, Hayes chips were on quite a majority of modems at that time.
 

AussieDave

Banned User
Joined
Dec 25, 2005
Location
Australia
winbig said:
Reminds me of the 28.8 modem days
Now that's a trip down memory lane. Not that I used AOL, but, the 28.8 modem days...lol. Winbig were you around pre WWW back in the bulletin board days?
 

winbig

Keep winning this amount.
Joined
Mar 10, 2005
Location
Pennsylvania
Trezz said:
Now that's a trip down memory lane. Not that I used AOL, but, the 28.8 modem days...lol. Winbig were you around pre WWW back in the bulletin board days?

Yep, and we had c64's & TRaSh80's in high school :eek: I started on AOL @ 2400bps....1 hour/MB :eek: :eek:
 

Buddy

Dormant account
Joined
Mar 3, 2006
Location
UK
PKR still not live

Looks like the team at PKR are having real issues with the graphics cards as they are still not live on the real money tables.

All rather quiet....:eek:
 

winbig

Keep winning this amount.
Joined
Mar 10, 2005
Location
Pennsylvania
Buddy said:
Looks like the team at PKR are having real issues with the graphics cards as they are still not live on the real money tables.

All rather quiet....:eek:
Or maybe not...

Just installed PKR on my new system :thumbsup:, played some, and it works great. My videocard has the nvidia chipset too, so I'm not sure what the issues are..

System specs:

AMD 3500+ 64bit (2.2GHz)
1024MB DDR400 (dual channel)
gforce 7300GS video, 512MB DDR2, pciexpress16
320GB SATA2 (3g/s) Seagate, 16mb buffer
XP Home (not 64bit)

Yes, it's somewhat of a monster, so maybe that's why it works for me ;)
 

AussieDave

Banned User
Joined
Dec 25, 2005
Location
Australia
WinBig,

No idea, maybe they fixed the issue. The issue for me was PKR poker was jerky. Then again that was before I upgraded from a Gforce 5200XT to the Gforce 6800XT, and only had 512 of crappy generic ram. Back then PKR acknowledged there was a current issue for Nvidia chipsets.

That was a while ago.

My specs now:

P4 2.8Ghz
2x80gig Seagate Cuda 7200 HDD's
ASUS mobo
2x512meg of Corsair DDR 3200 (all new)
SB Audigy (sound card)
Logitech 5.1 surround
GForce 6800XT 256 DDR3 agp8 (new)
XP home

(though looking at upgrading soon)

Games:
FEAR runs with all options maxed
Oblivion runs with options on high


With the upgrade I'm sure PKR woul fly now. Just haven't got round to testing it out. Too caught up in my Oblivion quests...lol

:D
 

Buddy

Dormant account
Joined
Mar 3, 2006
Location
UK
Sounds like

PKR is running a lot better than at the start of beta testing. Do you think its going to work/be successful?
 

AussieDave

Banned User
Joined
Dec 25, 2005
Location
Australia
Buddy said:
PKR is running a lot better than at the start of beta testing. Do you think its going to work/be successful?
Granted Beta is exactly that a testing release. So one expects there to be issues, so I should really give them another go.

In regards to your question:
Do you think its going to work/be successful?

I really like the concept :thumbsup:

Though, the factors that determine if you can play this as it's supposed to be played (lots of eye candy) leaves me wondering how many people actually have systems that can handle it.

Turning everything down to min settings to run it, takes a hot looking 3D poker table and turns it into something that I'd rather not waste my bandwidth or time playing.

That word hinsight comes to mind, maybe it would have been a good idea to include an optional software rendering module. This could be used and installed by those who do not have a next generation GPU or high end system to run this.

The other thing, which is probably a moot point, the thought of running this on dial-up.

Reminds me of a golf program that came out in 2000 or there abouts. It allowed players to place bets. You'd team up with 4 others and play 18 holes and the winner would receive the pot.

Fantastic idea, excellent graphics for its time (akin to graphic quality of say game circa 2003). Problem was at that time dial-up far out weighed broadband. The download was 75Meg (not including any update files). Adding most people were still using systems that simply could not kick start this software, much less run it.

Pity as it was really good concept too.
 

winbig

Keep winning this amount.
Joined
Mar 10, 2005
Location
Pennsylvania
With hardware as cheap as it is nowdays, it's easy to have a low-budget system that will run it...


The 7300GS 256/512MB video card I got was only $68.

Of course that's the new pciexpress16 card, but you can get a low-mid end motherboard for about $75 more....which will support your current CPU, RAM, drives, etc, and still have tons of potential for upgrading in the future. The only thing you might have to switch out with the newer motherboard is the power supply....I think most all motherboards are going to 24 pins instead of 20 for the power hookup nowdays.
 

AussieDave

Banned User
Joined
Dec 25, 2005
Location
Australia
winbig said:
With hardware as cheap as it is nowdays, it's easy to have a low-budget system that will run it...


The 7300GS 256/512MB video card I got was only $68.

Of course that's the new pciexpress16 card, but you can get a low-mid end motherboard for about $75 more....which will support your current CPU, RAM, drives, etc, and still have tons of potential for upgrading in the future. The only thing you might have to switch out with the newer motherboard is the power supply....I think most all motherboards are going to 24 pins instead of 20 for the power hookup nowdays.

:thumbsup: some pretty good info there winbig, plus, it's not really that hard to build a system yourself, not like the old days.

Here's a newbie guide to building your own PC, lots of really good info and explained real well too. (remove XXX)

XXXhttp://www.overclockers.com/tips1219/

:D
 

winbig

Keep winning this amount.
Joined
Mar 10, 2005
Location
Pennsylvania
That's for sure...Nowdays you don't even have to know what a jumper is, let alone set any. :D

Putting computers together now is like working a puzzle. If it doesn't fit, IT DOESN't GO THERE! ;)

I'm not an affiliate with them, but if you want to get great service & products, get your stuff from xwww.newegg.com.

The system I just put together:

Motherboard: $75
1024MB DDR400 Ram: $80
320G SATA2 HD (Seagate): $99
7300GS Video: $68

*5.1 HD audio and 10/100/1000mb NIC are on the motherboard already.

I bought the monitor and case local to save on shipping:

19" WS LCD Monitor: $219
Case + 480W Power supply: $80

---------------------------------------------

Total system: Just over $600

So much better than buying a Dell, HP, E-Machines, etc. You're not cutting any corners, and get about 3 times as much performance from it by doing it yourself.

They love to skimp on hard drive space, ram, and video.....and most of that stuff you won't be able to upgrade - especially the e-machines. The motherboard I got allows up to ~5GHz CPU (AMD 64, Sempron, Dual Core, and FX series), and up to 4G of ram...all for $75. :p
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top