1. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies .This website or its third-party tools use cookies, which are necessary to its functioning and required to achieve the purposes illustrated in the cookie policy.Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
  3. Follow Casinomeister on Twitter | Facebook | YouTube | Casinomeister.us US Residents Click here! |  Svenska Svenska | 
Dismiss Notice
REGISTER NOW!! Why? Because you can't do diddly squat without having been registered!

At the moment you have limited access to view most discussions: you can't make contact with thousands of fellow players, affiliates, casino reps, and all sorts of other riff-raff.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join Casinomeister here!

Pantasia & Vista - Get your act together!

Discussion in 'Casino Complaints - Non-Bonus Issues' started by winbig, Apr 20, 2007.

    Apr 20, 2007
  1. winbig

    winbig Keep winning this amount.

    Occupation:
    Bum
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Main problems:

    1. No option to change the install directory
    2. It doesn't work!
    3. No, it doesn't work with Vista's "Re-install using recommended settings"
    4. Nor does it work when running the install program as Administrator.


    What gives?
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2007
  2. Apr 20, 2007
  3. kwblue

    kwblue Webmaster webmeister

    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    USA
    This is a VERY common thing amongst lots of software vendors. I work as an engineer and have noticed that Vista is a real piece of work when installing software. LOTS of companies are going to have to do a re-write to get their software working with Vista.

    Keeps me working for a living :)
     
  4. Apr 20, 2007
  5. Rettahs

    Rettahs Dormant account

    Occupation:
    Consultant
    Location:
    Saint Louis
    Winbig, was it working in Vista before and just stopped working or did it never install correctly in the first place?
     
  6. Apr 20, 2007
  7. RobRival

    RobRival Dormant account

    Occupation:
    Technical Support
    Location:
    Canada
    Vista

    We're looking into this. Vista has been a huge headache unfortunately.

    If you can PM me, we might be able to hook you up with a fix.

    Rob

    Rival Technical Support
     
  8. Apr 21, 2007
  9. winbig

    winbig Keep winning this amount.

    Occupation:
    Bum
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    It never installed correctly.

    I have just never saw any program that didn't allow you to choose the directory where it installs to.....

    I'm sure the easiest workaround for Vista would be to install it to your user directory, and keep all (if any) ini files, etc. in there.

    @Rob, I'll PM you later on..thanks :)
     
  10. Apr 21, 2007
  11. Rettahs

    Rettahs Dormant account

    Occupation:
    Consultant
    Location:
    Saint Louis
    Just for the install try this. Go to control panel and click on the USER ACCOUNTS icon, under your name in there click on the bottom feature "Turn user account control on or off" click through turn it off, reboot and see if the install go correctly. You can do the reverse to turn it back on if you like. That may work for this install.
     
  12. Apr 21, 2007
  13. catrina m

    catrina m Senior Member PABaccred

    Occupation:
    service
    Location:
    US of A
    I just got a $7 free no deposit from pantasia ( I would like to refer to it as Phantasytasia) from an email, (don't know how they got my email or I came to have an account there) and I low rolled 15c a spin. Wow, I have never seen $7 go in 3 minutes at 15c a spin.

    Glad I didn't deposit.

    Might just have been a bad session but if I had deposited and went through $100 of my hard earned dollars that fast..........

    Think I'll stick with someone that has a payout.
     
  14. Apr 21, 2007
  15. mikepipe

    mikepipe Dormant account

    Occupation:
    owner
    Location:
    still progressing
    That was bad luck - and is part of gambling. Of course you are not interested in depositing now.
    I had a phantastic streak last week at Da Vinci - made 5k out of 234 and they paid (4k per week) very fast.
    The slots can be absolutely amazing (as long as they pay...)
     
    2 people like this.
  16. Apr 21, 2007
  17. lojo

    lojo Banned User - repetitive violations of <a href="ht

    Occupation:
    Tradesman
    Location:
    USA
    This is not your father's cadillac:) Rival slots are awesome. Haven't figured them out yet. Seems totally random to me. They're entertaining for sure. Novelty wears off and then.... they just keep throwing for a loop.
     
  18. Apr 21, 2007
  19. winbig

    winbig Keep winning this amount.

    Occupation:
    Bum
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I didn't think this would work, but for shits & giggles, I tried it anyways. :)

    It didn't work...

    The user account control (correct me if I'm wrong) only applies to settings to restrict "normal" users' access.

    I did a little sluething, and found this to be true:

    You must register/login in order to see the link.
     
    1 person likes this.
  20. Apr 21, 2007
  21. lojo

    lojo Banned User - repetitive violations of <a href="ht

    Occupation:
    Tradesman
    Location:
    USA
    What in the bleeding 'ell are you pioneering vista for? If it becomes the soup of the day i really think I might quit using computers. Did you get a developers pack or beta? i won't use it until they squeeze me into it, and probably not then.

    It does nothing for the user.
     
  22. Apr 21, 2007
  23. winbig

    winbig Keep winning this amount.

    Occupation:
    Bum
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    But it's sooooo pretty!!!!

    Seriously though, I change my OS' more than my underwear ;)

    And FWIW, if you run the program under XP sp2 compat. mode, it actually works. But - what "normal" user is going to know how to do this on their own??

    Steps for compat mode:

    1. Head over to computer - C:\program files\Pantasia
    2. Right click on pantasia.exe
    3. click properties
    4. Click the tab for compatibility mode
    5. Choose XP sp2 from the drop down menu
    6. Click "apply".

    Viola...it works :p

    Edit: Works as far as getting a login screen up.....I'll let ya know if the games actually work :p

    PS: This pic is pretty fitting ;)
     
    1 person likes this.
  24. Apr 21, 2007
  25. lojo

    lojo Banned User - repetitive violations of <a href="ht

    Occupation:
    Tradesman
    Location:
    USA
    I'll pray for ya buddy (Dear father, please let winbig figger this out, if annabody can, he will.) And, ifn ya ain't too busy would ya look after a 17 or two for me, oh yeah, and let all those poor pilgrims still migrating from windaws '98 come inta the light. I won't be folleren 'em, ex pee was as much as this ol soul could handle, and pleeeeez lawd, ifn ya kaint gimme 17 black, gimme 32red and ledderide.

    You're a better man than me WinBig, i ainta going vister.

    :thumbsup: Hope the migrations all work out
     
    1 person likes this.
  26. Apr 21, 2007
  27. winbig

    winbig Keep winning this amount.

    Occupation:
    Bum
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Well, the games do work, but:

    You guys really need to get a new inet provider....I never have any real connection/speed issues, but when I run Pantasia, more times than not the wheels just keep spinning and spinning, until I get the "server connection" popup.

    Also, what's up with this "Please wait 5 minutes to login" if ther's a connection problem? I could understand 1-2 minutes, but 5??? :eek: If you're that concerned with "Brute force" attacks at hacking a user's account, then set it to where a user's account is locked after 3 failed attempts. Don't make it where a user has to wait 5 minutes between logins. It's annoying, to say the least.

    The way it is now makes it a little easier for a brute force attack. The person in question could simply set it up to where a username/password combo is only tried once every 5 minutes, and leaving it in the background forever.

    Those windows say "Your game state will be returned..." blah blah, but yet it still deducts the bet, and the wheels keep on spinning. No reset to it. I'm a firm believer of "I don't believe it unless I see it", and I want to actually SEE whether or not a spin actually hit anything, instead of logging back on to see my balance had decreased.

    Also, what's the deal with the bonus rounds? If I'm spinning @ 1 coin per line, I expect to enter bonus rounds at the same price, NOT to be forced to play @ 5 coins per line. If your balance is low, what then? So much for the bonus round.


    Ho hum, let me know when you get all the kinks worked out with the casino in general; not just for Vista.
     
    1 person likes this.
  28. Apr 22, 2007
  29. Rettahs

    Rettahs Dormant account

    Occupation:
    Consultant
    Location:
    Saint Louis
    Turning off the user control can help on some older programs if the install program calls a secondary program to execute but it gets buried behind the scenes and you never see the option to allow it so the install fails. At times turning it off can allow the install to proceed.

    It is cool you got it fixed, now hopefully you will do well at the slots :).
     
  30. Apr 24, 2007
  31. me_and_ed

    me_and_ed Ueber Meister CAG MM

    Occupation:
    Selling out
    Location:
    Vancouver
    I get this all the time with Vista, I just close it and reopen and all is fine, it only happens on the initial install.
     
  32. Apr 24, 2007
  33. kwblue

    kwblue Webmaster webmeister

    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    USA
    I've been seeing the same thing this week at DaVinci's Gold. It's a real Pain.
     
  34. Apr 25, 2007
  35. winbig

    winbig Keep winning this amount.

    Occupation:
    Bum
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    FWIW, I re(installed) it 3 times before putting it into XP compatibility mode before it would run.

    If you're talking about the connection problems, Vista had nothing to do with that.
     
  36. Apr 27, 2007
  37. RobRival

    RobRival Dormant account

    Occupation:
    Technical Support
    Location:
    Canada
    Hello everyone,

    We're working hard on Vista compatibility, and will let you know as soon as possible when a new version is available.

    As for connection issues while playing, we're pretty certain we've cleaned these up. If you have any problems please let Customer Service know, or feel free to PM me.

    I'll keep you posted about Vista.

    Rob
    Rival Technical Support
     
  38. Apr 30, 2007
  39. RobRival

    RobRival Dormant account

    Occupation:
    Technical Support
    Location:
    Canada
    Vista

    Hello everyone,

    Pantasia has been updated to be compatible with Vista.

    Cheers,

    Rob
    Rival Technical Support
     

Share This Page