New games at intercasino and malware warning.

Zoozie

Ueber Meister
PABnonaccred
CAG
Joined
Dec 1, 2005
Location
Denmark
When you start up Intercasino it will start downloading all the new games at intercasino. There are several new very interesting slots and 10/50/100 hand VP (still the same VP variants and paytables).

However, the reason for my post is that right after the installation, Firefox had an extension ready for install. Since Firefox is kind enough to ask if I want all sorts of crap installed (compared to IE that just does it) I of course denied. I had to manually delete it from the extension folder or firefox would keep asking if I wanted to install this unknown crap every time I opened the browser.

The folder name was: (XXX is my username on XP, yours will be different)
file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/XXX/Application%20Data/Mozilla/Firefox/Profiles/crl1q8eb.default/extensions/wagerlogic.xpi

Actually the file is named wagerlogic.xpi which is a kind of giveaway that it was the intercasino upgrade that tried to install it.

It is probably not harmfull in any way, but I did not install it to test it and I do not intend to do it. Can anyone contribute with some information about this or similar experience?

I believe it is obvious that I do not approve of this way of forcing browser extensions on the players. I am still not sure I actually understood all this correct since I would not expect this from Intercasino.

Zoozie
 

kwblue

Dormant Account
webmeister
Joined
Jun 22, 2005
Location
USA
Very interesting. Maybe I will try playing for free (Can't play for real :( ) and see if it does the same thing. I'll give it a run and see what I can come up with..


be back.
 

winbig

Keep winning this amount.
Joined
Mar 10, 2005
Location
Pennsylvania
Sounds like they are trying to add a button to Firefox that them and other casinos are doing for IE already....of course without asking, too.
 

kwblue

Dormant Account
webmeister
Joined
Jun 22, 2005
Location
USA
Yep - I am checking it out to see exactly what information they are transferring back and forth. Hope I have something by tomorrow.

I had to play real-mode to get those new games, though. Good thing my account isn't locked.
 

Scooter7

Dormant Account
Joined
Jun 16, 2005
Location
Toronto
When you start up Intercasino it will start downloading all the new games at intercasino. There are several new very interesting slots and 10/50/100 hand VP (still the same VP variants and paytables).



Zoozie

Hi Zoozie,

I really like reading your posts. You're always spot-on with your math and you give good reviews on the artistic stuff too.

I think most of the VP paytables are the same, but I know for sure that the Joker Poker table has been increased in our favour. I'm not sure how much in percentage terms, but it has been upped.
 

Scooter7

Dormant Account
Joined
Jun 16, 2005
Location
Toronto
Sounds like they are trying to add a button to Firefox that them and other casinos are doing for IE already....of course without asking, too.

I tried it and it just puts a button on the toolbar that launches the casino application. Harmless really, but nice of Firefox to ask permission first.:thumbsup: That's why I use Firefox instead of IE whenever possible.
 

Zoozie

Ueber Meister
PABnonaccred
CAG
Joined
Dec 1, 2005
Location
Denmark
I tried it and it just puts a button on the toolbar that launches the casino application. Harmless really, but nice of Firefox to ask permission first.:thumbsup: That's why I use Firefox instead of IE whenever possible.

Thanks! And brave of you to try :)

But the puzzle is solved at least. So it really was Intercasino.

Zoozie
 

uungy

Dormant account
PABaccred
PABnoaccred
PABnononaccred
Joined
Jul 11, 2004
Location
Planet Earth (I think)
Looks as though they have been hit by the US ban.

They are starting to spam the computers. They installed a quick launch in THREE place on my computer

1) The start menu
2) The Bar on my IE explorer
3) On my quick launch bar

I think they should have asked first, if they want to keep their reputation!
 

kwblue

Dormant Account
webmeister
Joined
Jun 22, 2005
Location
USA
I tried it and it just puts a button on the toolbar that launches the casino application. Harmless really, but nice of Firefox to ask permission first.:thumbsup: That's why I use Firefox instead of IE whenever possible.

Yes - that is correct. I took apart the code to see if anything else were going on under the hood and couldn't find anything bad about it. I think it is, of course, bad form for them to insert a BHO at all.... But at least it isn't spying on us.
 

umberto

Dormant account
Joined
Sep 30, 2003
They are starting to spam the computers. They installed a quick launch in THREE place on my computer

1) The start menu
2) The Bar on my IE explorer
3) On my quick launch bar

Is there a way for us to get rid of this piece of crappy code? Anyone found a solution? It keeps creating shortcut in the quick launch bar even after I delete it.
 

winbig

Keep winning this amount.
Joined
Mar 10, 2005
Location
Pennsylvania
Is there a way for us to get rid of this piece of crappy code? Anyone found a solution? It keeps creating shortcut in the quick launch bar even after I delete it.

You mean when you start the casino, it will recreate the shortcuts, or it does it automatically after you delete it?

If it does it when you restart the casino, then the code is in the casino.exe itself and there's nothing you can do.

If it recreates them when the casino isn't running, then they have a background process running that is doing the dirty work. If that's the case then just find the culprit by going through the process list.
 

ternur

The sky decorated in a spectrum of dreams
CAG
mm3
Joined
Nov 25, 2004
Location
Finland
It recreates the shortcuts everytime the software is started. I don't personally want them on any of these places and I hate the fact that Intercasino seems fit to place these on my puter without consent.

Please fix it Intercasino.


You mean when you start the casino, it will recreate the shortcuts, or it does it automatically after you delete it?
 

happygobrokey

Dormant account
Joined
Jul 24, 2006
Location
canada
is it because you don't want your wife/anyone to see it on your system? i also don't like little icons everywhere, just wondering if you feel your privacy is violated by the icon-spawning.

i feel the same about when boss/cryptos snailmail a PIN code, or also random mailers that you didn't ask for. if someone saw that in the mail and they disapproved of you gambling, could be fireworks!
 

umberto

Dormant account
Joined
Sep 30, 2003
Ok. This is getting really annoying.....

I d personally like feedback from Ryan.
 

ryan_hartley

Casino Representative
Joined
Oct 23, 2002
Hi umberto and forum members,

The InterCasino buttons are from InterCasino. They are there for easier access to our sites and software but are not Malware or Spyware applications. I will let you know the full process of how to hide / delete them from your destop and will post this on this thread very soon (hopefully by tomorrow or Saturday).

Apologies to all members who are finding it an inconvenience, and to those that have sent us positive feedback, I'm glad that you find this tool a more convenient way to access InterCasino.

Regards
Ryan
 

KravdraaYvoorg

Dormant account
Joined
Aug 14, 2006
Location
Montreal
This is very disappointing coming from a shop like Intercasino.

The latest software is aggravating - I tried deleting the XPI extension from the Intercasino folder so it wouldn't try to install itself every time I launched Firefox, but the next time I started the casino, it automatically redownloaded the XPI. :mad:

IMO, there's no excuse for this roguish behavior. You're pushing something that users don't want.
 

Alexandre

Experienced Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2006
Location
Barcelona, Spain
The InterCasino buttons are from InterCasino. They are there for easier access to our sites and software but are not Malware or Spyware applications.

Hi Ryan,

Your explanation would be OK if the software was asking the user if he wants or not this extra "features".
As it doesn't, it is not meant to help the user but rather the casino.

I will let you know the full process of how to hide / delete them from your destop and will post this on this thread very soon (hopefully by tomorrow or Saturday).

I would prefer that you ask me before installing (and I would choose NO) and not that you give me a solution to delete or hide them after being installed.
I love you games and I'm impatient to see the new ones them but I won't do that before I'm sure that this upgrade won't affect my browser.
 

BubbleG

Full Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2004
Location
Earth, man!
I use opera and never get offered any of this crap, buttons and the like..... I just thought i'd check Ie and wadda ya know, 32red (poker), doyles room, ladbrokes, UB and Mansion have all installed button without my knowledge......

No biggie really but it would have been nice to be asked.

I can appreciate the dillema faced by vendors when trying to balance the whole ease of use of a particular program, making it easily accessible at the same time as keeping security tight and not invading our privacy.
 

mucullus

Experienced Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2004
Location
Germany
I can't see the accessibility improvement by adding all these buttons and toolbars. I guess players who wanted to play at intercasino had no difficulties to locate the relevant shortcuts on their system in the past.

The behaviour of this "feature" is intrusive and annoying (=malware), especially with firefox and the quick launch bar. The sole purpose of the feature is to support "impulsive buying".
 

ddice

Dormant account
Joined
Jul 31, 2006
Location
texas
I really would like to see one of the positive responses to the new buttons. "HI, was just dropping by to say thanks for the buttons that are automatically placed all over my computer. I was having a hard time finding the start icon after i downloaded, BUT NO MORE! :)"?

The ratio has to be 100 against to .01 for the buttons.......
 

winbig

Keep winning this amount.
Joined
Mar 10, 2005
Location
Pennsylvania
I really would like to see one of the positive responses to the new buttons. "HI, was just dropping by to say thanks for the buttons that are automatically placed all over my computer. I was having a hard time finding the start icon after i downloaded, BUT NO MORE! :)"

I doubt you'll find those responses ;)

I also believe it's only there to encourage compulsive gamblers to play more. Every single casino I've played at (which is alot) installs a button on the IE toolbar ONLY after you've agreed to it during the install; and if you delete it after that, you won't see it again. I think it's outrageous for the button to be reinstalled everytime you start the casino.
 

Scooter7

Dormant Account
Joined
Jun 16, 2005
Location
Toronto
Just heard rumors that with the next intercasino upgrade the button has to be pushed every 108 minutes. :eek: ;)

:lolup: :lolup: :lolup:

I'd push an Intercasino button every 108 minutes if I was stranded on an island with Evangeline Lilly:thumbsup:

Seriously, though. If you right-click on the icon in the IE browser and click 'customize' you can get rid of it in a matter of seconds.
 

winbig

Keep winning this amount.
Joined
Mar 10, 2005
Location
Pennsylvania
Seriously, though. If you right-click on the icon in the IE browser and click 'customize' you can get rid of it in a matter of seconds.

Yes, but that's not the point here...it shouldn't be installed if the user doesn't want it, plain and simple :p
 

KravdraaYvoorg

Dormant account
Joined
Aug 14, 2006
Location
Montreal
I will let you know the full process of how to hide / delete them from your destop and will post this on this thread very soon (hopefully by tomorrow or Saturday).

*bump*

Please provide us with instructions on how to *deactivate* the automatic reinstallation of unwanted Intercasino icons and IE/Firefox add-ons, Mr. Hartley.
 
Last edited:

Users who are viewing this thread

Top