Microsoft Certified Technician telemarketing scam

chayton

aka LooHoo
webmeister
PABnonaccred
CAG
I've been getting a lot of these calls lately. For those of you who haven't had the privilege, it's a total scam, someone (usually with an Indian accent) calls claiming to be from Microsoft and trying to get either a credit card number or get you to download some malware. I get at least 3 of these every week.

The last one went something like this:

Ring Ring

Me: Yeah?
Scammer: bzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
Me: WHAT?
Scammer: Click...Hello ma'am, how are you today?
Me: None of your business. What do you want?
Scammer: The reason I'm calling ma'am is that I'm a Microsoft Certified technician and we've been getting reports from your computer that you're completely infected with viruses and....
Me: Is that so?
Scammer: Yes if you'll just...
Me: You said I'm infected?
Scammer: Yes ma'am, if you'll just....
Me: You mean my computer?
Scammer: Yes ma'am, your computer has so many viruses and they're stealing credit card informations and your personal photos and....
Me: Oh no, not my photos! Please help me.
Scammer: Uhh...well ma'am we have several options, if you....
Me: Several options, wow.
Scammer: uhhh ok, yes we have several options, you can turn off any virus protection and firewall you have installed on your computer and go to the link I'll give you over the phone and you can download this program that will clean up any of these nasty viruses.
Me: uh huh...
Scammer: Or you can purchase the pro version for only 5 cents and we'll send you a CD and a free trip to Hawaii!
Me: Oh wow, really!!! That's so freaking awesome I'm all goosepimples!
Scammer: Yes it's...
Me: I think I wet myself a little.
Scammer: uh...(subdued snicker) yes well it's a great deal, all we need is your credit card number.
Me: I see, well let me run and get my wallet but first, tell me one thing....
Scammer: Yes ma'am?