1. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies .This website or its third-party tools use cookies, which are necessary to its functioning and required to achieve the purposes illustrated in the cookie policy.Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
  3. Follow Casinomeister on Twitter | Facebook | YouTube | Casinomeister.us US Residents Click here! |  Svenska Svenska | 
Dismiss Notice
REGISTER NOW!! Why? Because you can't do diddly squat without having been registered!

At the moment you have limited access to view most discussions: you can't make contact with thousands of fellow players, affiliates, casino reps, and all sorts of other riff-raff.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join Casinomeister here!

Microgaming - What a mess!!!!

Discussion in 'Online Casino and Poker Complaints - old section' started by vinylweatherman, Nov 30, 2005.

    Nov 30, 2005
  1. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Brilliant, 4 new games and 2 more dead casinos for me.

    Music Hall and UK Casino Club have now stopped working alltogether. Music Hall just didn't have the new games & support told me to uninstall it and reinstall from the new download - now it's broken completely. What are those inept fools at Microgaming doing about it? How long are they going to rest on their laurels as fewer and fewer of their casinos work properly? Are they going to release the repair kit they did for Fortune Lounge more widely?
    The fortune lounge kit didn't work though, so perhaps not. Annoyingly, I have money that I can no longer get at.
    Does anyone at Microgaming have a clue? This rule that their employees can't play the casinos has a negative side, they never experience these issues.
     
  2. Nov 30, 2005
  3. GrandMaster

    GrandMaster Ueber Meister CAG

    Occupation:
    Mathematician by day, online gambler by night.
    Location:
    UK
    If you just want to get your money back, you can always use the flash casino. I am surprised that so many people are having problems. I always had cheap generic PCs and I only had a problem with a casino once, VIP casino was using 99% of CPU time, but it got resolved quickly.
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2005
  4. Nov 30, 2005
  5. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    MG

    Flash is an option, yes.
    My biggest gripe is the lack of action on the part of MG in resolving this. It seems that not all are affected, so something must be different in the way the broken ones interact with the servers to cause this. It is the first time I have had this problem with the full install version, where it should not need to download the games in the first place. The 4 others I have in this group updated really smoothly. Without access to any source material or manuals, how do they expect users to address these problems themselves - believe me I have tried and I know a fair bit about computers.
    I would like to know what EXACTLY the casinos slip in on installation, I suspect that some slip in more than they say, and cause these problems either for their own, or other, casinos. I saw one complaint about Java slipped in with one MG causing it to fail. If I knew what was with the casino I would know what to look for when diagnosing faults. The "Help" available to users is poor when it comes to these issues as it is pretty basic. I have temporary custody of a new XP machine, and there are problems here too (not necessarily the same ones though), so it's nothing to do with my PC being too old.
    I have asked whether the configuration of my connection could be a factor, but MG don't have a clue what settings are OK, they say it should work on all connections if I disable my Firewall & Virus software.
    Microsoft have admitted to screwing up with a patch, but say it's fixed and would have affected very few users - I have downloaded this fix and got rid of the original bad patch to no avail. I have reinstalled Internet Explorer from scratch too! I have tried making Netscape the default browser, no luck!
    Worse, Music Hall are sponsoring SlotJunkies - and now I can't play that one till it's fixed.
     
  6. Nov 30, 2005
  7. GrandMaster

    GrandMaster Ueber Meister CAG

    Occupation:
    Mathematician by day, online gambler by night.
    Location:
    UK
    This reminds me of my ISP, whose solution to every problem is to delete cookies and temporary internet files.
     
  8. Nov 30, 2005
  9. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    EUREKA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I have solved the problem of the infinitely looping MG launcher!!!!!!!

    I am now in Music Hall again!!!!!!

    I will see if it works in the other screwed up casinos or just this one!!!
     
  10. Nov 30, 2005
  11. paul02085

    paul02085 Senior Member

    Occupation:
    Fishing :)
    Location:
    USA
    I remember bitching about MG software as far back as 2001 and it still is a pain in the u know where. I agree that the amazing thing is that they still havent fixed it. You would think with all the money they have made they could get the problem resolved, but nooooo.
     
  12. Nov 30, 2005
  13. Ivy29

    Ivy29 Dormant account

    Occupation:
    Internet Time Waster
    Location:
    Midwest
    Problems

    What is so strange to me is that it's not just one or two problems everyone is having, but a whole bunch of different symptoms.

    I got a CD from Ruby Fortune, and it installed up to the screen with the 100% lines and just hangs, never loads.

    The only one that I could download from the internet and install and run was the Bellrock one that I intalled from a link the rep left here. Saw 40 games I'd never seen before! But, it still won't download the new additions. That problem is universal for me, and has been since March.

    I know someone who hasn't had a problem ever, went to reinstall a casino and got the dreaded loop, so if you get that figured out, Vinyl, I'm sure she'd appreciate knowing the fix. As expected, they have given her the song and dance list to try to fix it, but I'm not sure she's gotten it to work yet.
     
    1 person likes this.
  14. Dec 1, 2005
  15. twiddles

    twiddles Dormant account

    Occupation:
    Engineering
    Location:
    Canada
    May I ask how you solved it? :D
     
  16. Dec 1, 2005
  17. max1mike

    max1mike Dormant account

    Occupation:
    carpenter
    Location:
    USA
    ivy. sounds like you may have an issue with your firewall/anti-virus S/W.

    many times i try to launch an MG casino and it stalls, i go check and the process is being killed by my anti-virus proggy.

    simply go allow it to connect to the net and set your preferences to continue to allow it, you should have no problems getting the new games.

    then again, im a carpenter, so what the heck do i know from computers:D
     
  18. Dec 1, 2005
  19. twiddles

    twiddles Dormant account

    Occupation:
    Engineering
    Location:
    Canada
    I have tried everything! Even the useless clearing cookies and all that rubbish. Its very stupid that they can't get the fix right the first time, I am eager to hear what Vinylweathermans fix was so I can give it a bash.:p
     
  20. Dec 1, 2005
  21. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    The fix (verified twice so far)

    My fix has worked on another looper, so here it is:-

    1) Look for the folder that contains the casino.

    E.g c:\program files\crapptcasino

    It will contain a few system files and another folder also of the same name.
    Go into this second folder and it should contain loads of folders, a few for each game plus some more for other components.
    Scroll down till you find a simple file at the end (Other than a few stuck CAB files, it should be the only one). It should be called "Mupinfo" - no extension.

    Delete the bloody thing.

    Relaunch the casino from the desktop icon.

    The casino should then behave normally when in update mode, being that the loading screen will only relaunch ONCE, and the progress bar will run more slowly. Log in and allow the casino to download everything it wants to.

    It will download the Mupinfo file from the upgrade server, but it will then recognise that it has updated itself. It may take a while to update as it will have to rebuild itself more than just the new games, as well as having to rebuild the local Mupinfo (the downloaded one is just a skeleton to define the lobby and menus).

    This file may also hold the key to the other issues with MG casinos. It is written almost in "plain English", and appears to assign values and flags to customise the build to suit the operator. Understanding what these values are, and what they control, may lead to solutions for some of the other MG issues that some users are having. This file is very big though, too big for Notepad, but will open in Wordpad.
    I have noticed too that the casinos have put on a lot, they now seem to be 177Mb, from 95Mb in the Summer!!! - There is a price to pay for better quality graphics it seems. This increase cannot be put down simply to the new games themselves. (12-16 new games do not double the size of the installation). Space problems may become an issue for keen players with small hard drives.

    It would be interesting for you to post whether this fix has worked, or if it has not worked in any instance. It is a "dirty" fix, bit like hitting the TV with a bad picture and then thinking it fixed when it then works.
     
    1 person likes this.
  22. Dec 1, 2005
  23. Ivy29

    Ivy29 Dormant account

    Occupation:
    Internet Time Waster
    Location:
    Midwest
    Problems

    ETA: oops, forgot to direct this to MAX1MIKE

    I wish it were that simple. Thanks for the suggestion, but I feel like I've tried everything, too.

    I don't have a firewall. I have never had virus detectors, spy blocker off, pop up blocker off, tried from a freshly reformated hard drive, two different OS. I don't have anything fancy or high tech on here.

    That loading lockup where it gets to 100% might be okay another day when I try it. Been there before, that isn't that unusual.

    But, I can't download games through the casino itself. Period.

    I wish they'd have a zip file they could send me to add to my current casino that's installed for the update.

    Sorry for repeating this for the billionth time, I'm surely a top ten bitcher about MG software by now.
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2005
  24. Dec 1, 2005
  25. satori

    satori Dormant account

    Occupation:
    Unknown
    Location:
    No forwarding address
    Thanks so much for not giving up on the problem.... I just tried your fix at Vegas Palms (which hasn't worked since September) and King Neptunes (which went belly up with this new installation) and they now are working fine.

    The only thing I did was to delete the mupinfo file and then launched the casino. I didn't make any other changes to my computer.. didn't delete temp files, etc. and didn't disable my anti-virus program either (AVG).
     
  26. Dec 1, 2005
  27. GemG7

    GemG7 Dormant account

    Occupation:
    .
    Location:
    US
    Deleting the mupinfo file worked for me too! Thank you so much :thumbsup:
     
  28. Dec 1, 2005
  29. twiddles

    twiddles Dormant account

    Occupation:
    Engineering
    Location:
    Canada

    Worked like a champion, thanks for that. Will be sure to tell all my buddies here in Africa!
    :thumbsup:
     
  30. Dec 1, 2005
  31. Ivy29

    Ivy29 Dormant account

    Occupation:
    Internet Time Waster
    Location:
    Midwest
    It worked! Thank you so much for sharing that fix!
     
  32. Dec 1, 2005
  33. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Looking Good

    It's amazing that something so simple is actually working. Puzzling why some users get this, and it is different casinos for different users, but always the same casino for the same user when they try all the usual rubbish about deleting, reinstalling, removing cookies etc that MG are so happy to trot out in their sleep. Sounds like they are trying to shift the blame onto the player for being daft enough not to think about configuring their security software and browsers. For casinos that go on about security and good practice - and then tell players to switch off their firewall and virus scanner and go on the internet to work the casino, it's a joke!
    A similar fix also seems to help with the "stuck game" problem, and the same fix may help casinos that simply hang rather than loop. Deleting this Mupinfo file forces the casino to repair itself rather than assume the information it has about its own installation is correct. For a single stuck game, delete all the folders for that game and relaunch. You will see it back in red inthe new style lobby. Click on it and it will download it again, and it should then launch. Safly, it may be necessary to do this each time you want to play that game. I have to do this nearly every time I want to play Wasabi-San at All Slots.
    I have taken snapshots of the Mupinfo file, before and after, to see if I can spot what is going on.
     
  34. Dec 1, 2005
  35. Ivy29

    Ivy29 Dormant account

    Occupation:
    Internet Time Waster
    Location:
    Midwest
    MG

    I'd say MG and their casinos owe you about a million dollars for this fix. They'd probably say the new lobby fixed it BUT I KNOW BETTER! Like you said, its just amazing that they couldn't figure this simple thing out--THEY CREATED IT!

    Not only did it fix the stuck new install load, I can now download games through the casino. SINCE MARCH I've been given the run around, it's always MY COMPUTER crap.

    The only one that I ever saw own up to the problems and come up with a solution that worked was the Bellerock rep here. I still couldn't download new games even though I was able to get a full install from his off-site link.

    I remember seeing an error message for that mupinfo file in the past, but I wouldn't have ever thought of deleting it.

    Thanks again!
     
  36. Dec 1, 2005
  37. bellerock

    bellerock Casino Representative

    Occupation:
    CSR Supervisor
    Location:
    South Africa
    Hi All,

    Vinylweatherman, fantastic! If this is the solution, and it appears to be, I can only thank you for your persistence in looking for a solution. I will inform MGS of your findings and have them investigate the offending file.

    Best regards,

    Belle Rock
     
  38. Dec 1, 2005
  39. Pinababy69

    Pinababy69 RIP Lisa

    Occupation:
    Crusader
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario - Canada
    Awesome Vinyl.....I personally have never had any problems (except with Jupiter Club), but can imagine the frustration for all the people who have been unable to play the download versions of the software. Unbelievable that the people who designed this software couldn't figure it out, and you come up with the fix all on your own. Kudos to you........now can ya fix Jupiter Club for me?
     

Share This Page