1. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies .This website or its third-party tools use cookies, which are necessary to its functioning and required to achieve the purposes illustrated in the cookie policy.Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
  3. Follow Casinomeister on Twitter | Facebook | YouTube | Casinomeister.us US Residents Click here! |  Svenska Svenska | 
Dismiss Notice
REGISTER NOW!! Why? Because you can't do diddly squat without having been registered!

At the moment you have limited access to view most discussions: you can't make contact with thousands of fellow players, affiliates, casino reps, and all sorts of other riff-raff.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join Casinomeister here!

Microgaming: Dial up versus Broadband.

Discussion in 'Online Casinos' started by steveo, Oct 26, 2005.

    Oct 26, 2005
  1. steveo

    steveo Dormant account

    Location:
    Australia
    Hi everyone.
    I'm moving to a country with limited internet connectivity and will need to use dial up instead of broadband. I'm just wondering if anyone knows how dial up compares to Broadband for microgaming software.

    My computer has already installed all the software so what i'm asking is how many spins an hour I would get with the slots. Currently i get around 800-1000 spins an hour. If anyone has moved up from dial up to broadband or back down I would love to know how it has effected your amount of spins.

    Cheers guys.
    Steve
     
  2. Oct 26, 2005
  3. suzecat

    suzecat Dormant account CAG MM webmeister

    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    California

    Well, Stevo, let me put it this way...........on dial-up you can hit spin and then have time to use the restroom, grab a beverage, go outside and check the weather..........by then the wheel should start spinning. Of course, that is dial-up in a very remote part of the US, where you are going may be faster (or slower).:eek:
     
  4. Oct 26, 2005
  5. KasinoKing

    KasinoKing WebMeister & Slotaholic.. CAG MM PABnonaccred webmeister

    Occupation:
    House-Husband and Casino Advisor
    Location:
    Bexhill on sea, England
    Bit of a worry.
    What are you going to do if the answer is only 100-200 spins per hour - not move??? :eek2:
    From what I can remember of those dark ages before broadband is that an MG casino will take about 4-6hrs to download, but once installed I seem to remember it being OK to play. Good luck!
     
  6. Oct 26, 2005
  7. Casinomeister

    Casinomeister Forum Cheermeister Staff Member

    Occupation:
    Homemaker
    Location:
    Bierland
    You have the flash versions as well - and they should do okay.
     
  8. Oct 26, 2005
  9. Simmo!

    Simmo! Moderator Staff Member

    Occupation:
    Web Dev.
    Location:
    England
    Welcome to the UK Steveo :D
     
    1 person likes this.
  10. Oct 26, 2005
  11. Webzcas

    Webzcas Winter is Coming! Staff Member

    Occupation:
    Webmaster
    Location:
    Block S25, South Stand, Ashton Gate, BS3
    As you have the software installed, the actual bandwidth load playing the games on the download version presuming the games you are playing are already installed :) - is not very high at all. As long as you are not surfing the web, downloading other software/mail/etc you should find the casino is pretty responsive - as the majority of the work takes place on the Gaming Server and not the client - The Gaming Server just tells the client the result of the spin/hand etc.
     
  12. Oct 26, 2005
  13. scrollock

    scrollock Senior Member

    Occupation:
    google
    Location:
    boro, uk
    when i'm at home and playing on broadband, i manage about 1000-1200 spins an hour, but if i'm away and i'm using my laptop i will use my dial-up connection and can manage about 500-600 spins an hour
     
  14. Oct 26, 2005
  15. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Spin Rate

    I experimented with this a great deal when playing the Casino Action tournaments. I have Broadband, but I found that local PC settings made a considerable difference. For 5 Reel Drive, I could easily get 2000 spins per hour, however I could reach 3000 per hour with a few local tweaks.
    The bonus slots run slower, however, it is possible to remove the inbuilt spin delay, which is no longer available from Autoplay, and ramp them up to around 2000 per minute.
    Laptops are slower as they appear to have lower processor speeds, and limited cooling ability (my Nephew has one). Dial up may be a problem if you have the MG problem of a bad installation. This can cause the casino to continually download in the background, regardless of whether the full suite of games is installed. On dial-up this will "kill" the casino, and spin rates will be extremely low. Under normal conditions though, an MG will handle each spin with 3 data packets.
    Best tip would be to use the msconfig function and disable all tasks except the basics when playing the casino. With XP it should be possible to go one better by tuning an identity specifically for casino play.
    I will be attempting to play MG over Dial-up after buying my Mother a PC which I will use when staying with her. I am not sure whether XP gives the same trouble as my 98SE with the casino software.
     
  16. Oct 27, 2005
  17. GrandMaster

    GrandMaster Ueber Meister CAG

    Occupation:
    Mathematician by day, online gambler by night.
    Location:
    UK
    What exactly is your problem with internet connectivity in the UK?
     
  18. Oct 27, 2005
  19. spearmaster

    spearmaster RIP Ted

    Occupation:
    Devil's Advocate
    Location:
    Heaven
    Lower processor speed should generally not affect the speed of play unless we're talking a REAL slow processor (ie pre-Pentium). More likely to affect the speed of play (other than the connection) would be the lack of enough physical RAM (I recommend a minimum 256MB for any system from Win2K and beyond.)

    Regarding broadband vs. dialup, I think Scrollock's numbers look pretty reasonable. And as Webzcas has pointed out, the GUI is basically hosted on your computer - only small packets of data pass between your computer and the server while playing, so unless your dialup connection is really poor, you should still be able to get a reasonable play speed.
     
  20. Oct 27, 2005
  21. KasinoKing

    KasinoKing WebMeister & Slotaholic.. CAG MM PABnonaccred webmeister

    Occupation:
    House-Husband and Casino Advisor
    Location:
    Bexhill on sea, England
    Don't blink thou!!! :eek:
     
  22. Oct 30, 2005
  23. steveo

    steveo Dormant account

    Location:
    Australia
    thanks for all the replys. I leave in less then a week and will let everyone know how it goes.
    Cheers
     
  24. Nov 1, 2005
  25. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Oooooooooops

    That should be 2000 per HOUR!

    It was late at night when I posted that:D
     
  26. Nov 1, 2005
  27. silcnlayc

    silcnlayc Just one more spin pleez! CAG MM PABnonaccred PABaccred

    Occupation:
    IT Director of Operations
    Location:
    Left Hungary
    Sorry to say, when my cable went out, I did the "flash" version" and I had to log in a ton of times cause I kept getting timed out...was so frustrating...I finally quit after 2 hours of trying to play ...think I got about 15 spins in total!

    Got my cable back next day...thank goodnes! lol!:lolup:
     

Share This Page