MGS & Windows 7

winbig

Keep winning this amount.
Joined
Mar 10, 2005
Location
Pennsylvania
Has anyone else had any problems with getting MGS casinos (after the lobby update) to run with Windows 7, or is it just me?

I just upgraded to 7 the other night and re-downloaded GoWild casino. Well, it won't run. :eek:

The loading screen comes up for about a second, and then the casino just quits. It doesn't even get to the login screen.

I have the latest flash player, my UAC controls are at the lowest setting possible, I don't have the windows firewall running, and I've even tried to run it in XP (SP3) compatibility mode as administrator. Nothing seems to work. I've even tried every possible screen resolution, thinking that was the cause, but nope....

I talked with GoWild via live chat last night, but the best they could do was let the tech team know about my problem and have them get back to me. I'm still waiting, so I thought I'd post here and see if anyone knew of a fix.

:rolleyes:
 

sjn

Experienced Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2008
Location
England
I have had no trouble with windows 7 and the mgs casinos. I really don`t know what to suggest as you seem to have already tried the obvious solutions.
 

De Beuker

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2009
Location
Netherlands
I'm also having problems with GoWild, on top of the resolutiontrouble the games refuse to download, it takes about 15 min. for 1 game to reach 98%, after that the download just stops.
I gave up on it.
At 32RED the games download just fine, there its the resolutionproblems only, so its not my internetconnection.
I'm on XP btw.
I'm getting so tired of all these Microgamingproblems, its all taking shitloads of time and frustration, just to lose some money?!?
Microgaming, IF IT AINT BROKE DON'T FIX IT!!!!!
 

vinylweatherman

You type well loads
Joined
Oct 14, 2004
Location
United Kingdom
I'm also having problems with GoWild, on top of the resolutiontrouble the games refuse to download, it takes about 15 min. for 1 game to reach 98%, after that the download just stops.
I gave up on it.
At 32RED the games download just fine, there its the resolutionproblems only, so its not my internetconnection.
I'm on XP btw.
I'm getting so tired of all these Microgamingproblems, its all taking shitloads of time and frustration, just to lose some money?!?
Microgaming, IF IT AINT BROKE DON'T FIX IT!!!!!
In the end, it hurts operators. I could have an afternoon on the computer, and might normally play MGS casinos, depositing and playing till I win, or get fed up. Alternatively, I could find my MGS casinos are screwed up because of some update. I spend the afternoon trying to get them to work, and give up when I fix them, or get fed up trying. I DON'T make any deposits, so operators stand to make NOTHING from me that day. MGS however, still get their money from the operator.

If SOME casinos work, and others don't, I may uninstall the ones that don't, and play only the ones that do. Once uninstalled, I would need an additional incentive to try again. The problem is that there is no announcement when something is fixed, so it could be a while before I try to reinstall a casino.

I will often try a few reinstalls at the time I am trying to fix it, but if this fails, I uninststall for ages on the assumption it will never work until something major changes, or I hear of someone else having the same issue, and finding a fix for it.
 

SkBurner

Newbie member
PABnonaccred
Joined
Aug 24, 2008
Location
UK
Winbig did you install Windows 7 on the same drive as your last version of Windows (XP or Vista)?

I had the same problem but found that all my previous files and casino installs were still in the C: directory in the Microgaming folder or under Windows.old (which is created when you upgrade). If it wasn't a clean install then your previous version of GoWild will still be on your hard drive. This seems to stop the casino loading.

I think I had to uninstall the new downlaod of the casino and then run it from the saved files I had in my C: drive. I know it bugged me for a few days...

Hope this is of help to you.
 

winbig

Keep winning this amount.
Joined
Mar 10, 2005
Location
Pennsylvania
Winbig did you install Windows 7 on the same drive as your last version of Windows (XP or Vista)?

I had the same problem but found that all my previous files and casino installs were still in the C: directory in the Microgaming folder or under Windows.old (which is created when you upgrade). If it wasn't a clean install then your previous version of GoWild will still be on your hard drive. This seems to stop the casino loading.

I think I had to uninstall the new downlaod of the casino and then run it from the saved files I had in my C: drive. I know it bugged me for a few days...

Hope this is of help to you.
I did a fresh install and not an upgrade, so that isn't the problem, but thanks :)

edit: I'll try the previous install I had for GoWild (in windows.old\program files\) and see if that does anything.

edit2: Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr, thanks. I forgot that MGS casinos are FRIGGIN RETARDED and install everything to C:\Microgaming by dafault instead of installing to the NORMAL INSTALLATION DIRECTORY OF ALL WINDOWS PROGRAMS in C:\program files\

stupid MGS.

off to delete C:\microgaming then reinstall and see what happens.

edit2: I think this will work, as I just started another MGS casino that was in that directory (Crazy Vegas) and it started to download the update before I cut it off, so it does seem that this will fix the problem. I guess things got mucked up when I re-downloaded and installed GoWild. I'll post whether or not it worked.
 

winbig

Keep winning this amount.
Joined
Mar 10, 2005
Location
Pennsylvania
God I hate MGS. That fixed it.

I wouldn't have even remembered that MGS installs itself to C:\ instead of C:\program files\ if you wouldn't have mentioned it. Thanks.

If MGS would actually follow the windows standard of installing itself in the CORRECT location of C:\program files\, people wouldn't have to try and figure out what's going on.

When people do a fresh reinstall of their OS, they expect, and do, re-install all of their programs from scratch, MGS included.

The games are all stored in the \documents and settings\ directory anyways, so why keep the core files in the root directory of C:\? They're going to have to re-download all of the games anyways when they run the casino again for the first time after a fresh OS install. :rolleyes:
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top