1. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies .This website or its third-party tools use cookies, which are necessary to its functioning and required to achieve the purposes illustrated in the cookie policy.Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
  3. Follow Casinomeister on Twitter | Facebook | YouTube | Casinomeister.us US Residents Click here! |  Svenska Svenska | 
Dismiss Notice

Poll:Best Screenshot of the Month?



Candidates Revealed...Cast your vote!.
Dismiss Notice
REGISTER NOW!! Why? Because you can't do diddly squat without having been registered!

At the moment you have limited access to view most discussions: you can't make contact with thousands of fellow players, affiliates, casino reps, and all sorts of other riff-raff.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join Casinomeister here!

MG excessive downloads getting ridiculous

Discussion in 'Online Casinos' started by scrollock, Mar 29, 2006.

    Mar 29, 2006
  1. scrollock

    scrollock Senior Member

    Occupation:
    google
    Location:
    boro, uk
    i'm sure i'm not the only one affected by this, but now this has got to the point where i have been totally disenfranchised by MG..

    my computing situation is, i have one old PC, but does have a broadband connection, however the size of the casino software now means that my disc space is at a premium, not to mention my gaming experience is ruined by the latest download slowing my system down and then me having having to select which other software on my system needs to be deleted to make room for something i want.

    i also have a brand new lap-top which i use when i am away, it has a dial-up connection and wi-fi.

    to find a WI-FI spot usually means i have to rely on the battery for the laptop, but however the battery will run out before i have recieved yet another latest download.

    i could hook upto the mains and use the dial-up means that i have to wait an age for the a casino to download, and due to the size of the download and the rate that it is forced into your system, you are not even able to play the whole thing has downloaded, at the moment i aqm in the middle of downloading an MG and it has taken about 20 hours so far and only about 60%, till the whole thing has downloaded i cant play, but even more annoying is that when it has downloaded and i'm enjoying playing the thing, the whole thing will freeze up while yet another download comes!!

    i know the solution to this is, get a brand new computer for home and just put up with playing flash while i am away, but while the hell should i keep upgrading so MG can violate my system with its unwelcome seed.

    i dont have any of these problems on any the various situations above with any other casino software, so why MG are you forcefeeding our systems with all this unwanted virtual excrement.

    so MG can you give us the option of selecting which downloads we want ?

    its in your favour if you do, for example after installing a casino people can play away.

    not to mention all those people who are not now able to play MG because they dont have the latest system and the most fastest (hence more expensive) broadband connection.
     
    1 person likes this.
  2. Mar 29, 2006
  3. CasinoForumu

    CasinoForumu Dormant account

    Occupation:
    Manager
    Location:
    Bursa
    Colosseum casino has this option.Player can choose one of 900kb version or 6mb version.

    I think it is a great idea.In download page there can be boxes to check.So you able to decide which games do you want to play and you may download only these games.
     
  4. Mar 29, 2006
  5. BubbleG

    BubbleG Experienced Member

    Occupation:
    spark
    Location:
    Earth, man!
    You have a PC, laptop, broadband and gamble online. You telling me you cant afford a wireless router? This will get your laptop broadbanded within seconds. The full installation is 350mb apr, I suppose this is a relatively big download but once its done its done and everything is fine. I'd suggest one of two things, get a new harddrive or delete some porn. Neither would require any major upgrade or reinstall and option 2 is totally free :)
     
  6. Mar 29, 2006
  7. kimss

    kimss Senior Member

    Occupation:
    Software developer
    Location:
    Norway
    Well, the total size is not the only problem. Downloading the setup file usually goes broadband style, like 500KB/sec. But when the software is lauched, installing the games takes ages.

    I would love to see a packaged installer which contains all the games at once, even if that download would be 150MB to hose down. Atleast you would get all in one punch, instead of using an hour or two for the games to complete.

    I remember having a promotion-run at the casinoes a while back, and it was annoying all the time it took to download the single games.

    Sure there are updates to the games, so It would be hard for the casino to preship a complete installer, but then again they are making so much money on this so it shouldnt be that much of a problem I would think.
     
  8. Mar 29, 2006
  9. liquidsoap

    liquidsoap Dormant account

    Occupation:
    my self
    Location:
    home
    Well this is getting me really peved off.....

    I went to Roxy Palace today, my favorite casino :thumbsup: :thumbsup:, and what happens it goes slow, i knew there were new games coming so i was like :D. But then it gets downloaded roxy looks all new and i look at the games, it undownloaded everyone of my games :eek2:, they must have updated each one, i was so peved, now i cant play the new games, i cant play any until i download them again...

    i just wanted to
    :sniper:
    :machinegu
    :axeman:
    :axeman2: to roxy palace
    but o well they are still my favorite :rolleyes:
     
  10. Mar 29, 2006
  11. GrandMaster

    GrandMaster Ueber Meister CAG

    Occupation:
    Mathematician by day, online gambler by night.
    Location:
    UK
    Even fast broadband is relatively cheap these days. Is there a reason why you cannot connect your laptop to broadband? A wireless router can be had for less than 50, Argos is currently selling one for 50 with a wireless network adapter thrown in. Or you could go for the cheap solution and use internet connection sharing with a piece of crossover ethernet cable costing 1.50.
     
  12. Mar 30, 2006
  13. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Undownload

    I noticed this too, lost all the games I had. I had a look and the cause is that this is a complete upgrade. The directory and file structure of the casino is different, so all the old files need to be downloaded again into the correct places. It does not seem any bigger though, but it looks like a lot of downloading for us as each MG adopts this new interface.

    My "away" PC at my Mum's house is on dial-up, so I am b******d:mad:

    It is time we had a download on demand system for the games. We can collect them bit by bit, rather than having to accept all at once. Many Broadband deals have monthly download limits, some as low as 1GB, that's 2 MG casinos a month plus their upgrades.
     
  14. Mar 30, 2006
  15. GrandMaster

    GrandMaster Ueber Meister CAG

    Occupation:
    Mathematician by day, online gambler by night.
    Location:
    UK
    I totally agree that you shold be able to select which games you want and not have to download the others. At the same time for a price a couple of spins on a slot machine you can get your broadband upgraded to unlimited or at least to one with a big enough limit.
     
  16. Mar 31, 2006
  17. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Broadband

    Upgrades are possible, however you are often tied into a 12 Month contract. Here, 15 gets the "Cheap" Broadband with the low 1Gb limits. Paying 25 (as I do), gets one with a large limit of 30Gb, and it is flexible so I can have a heavy spell avereged out with a light spell. The minimum cost to upgrade would be 120, as a 12 month tie-in would apply. The way MG are going though, it would probably be worth it.
    The annoyance is that I cannot choose WHEN to conduct the download. For users with a laptop who play away from home, all the souped up broadband will not help if the upgrade happens to trigger when they log on while away. I doubt MG will move with any great speed on this, so it is up to the casinos, or clever players, to come up with a technical work around for this if possible.
    In the short term, players can install the option of FLASH logon desktop icons for all their MG casinos on their laptops. When away, and presented with a big upgrade, resort to FLASH. This is probably what I will have to do on my away PC, while persuading my Mum that her experience will be much enhanced by broadband, and the phone will not get tied up!
     
  18. Mar 31, 2006
  19. GrandMaster

    GrandMaster Ueber Meister CAG

    Occupation:
    Mathematician by day, online gambler by night.
    Location:
    UK
    I have unlimited 2mb/s for 17.99 from Tiscali.
     
  20. Mar 31, 2006
  21. scrollock

    scrollock Senior Member

    Occupation:
    google
    Location:
    boro, uk
    GM whats this ethernet connection thingy and how does it work ? thanks in advance.

    i'm in the process of trying to play my first MG this month, 32red so i dont miss out on my monthly bonus, 3 hours later my laptop is still downloading the latest games, but what is pissing me off even more is that the rate it is being put in my computer i cant deposit any my because it keeps timing out.

    i know a solution is fairly cheap and easy to do, but why the hell should i come up with specific solutions so i can play at MG, when none of this is required elsewhere.

    and as MG makes the casinos even bigger,do i have just keep upgrading?

    FFS at this rate we will all need a mainframe to run MG eventually.

    come on MG, (excuse my language here) but things are really beginning to take the the piss now.
     
  22. Mar 31, 2006
  23. winbig

    winbig Keep winning this amount.

    Occupation:
    Bum
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    You seriously need to invest in a new hard drive. If < 400mb is going to make or break you with the space you have now, there's a serious problem going on. You can get an 80G fairly cheap nowdays, and if/when you upgrade or get a new computer, you can simply place that new hard drive in there and still use it....so it's definately not a wasted part.


    Plus if you're that short on space, it will definately improve performance by either reinstalling everything on the new and faster drive, or just moving some stuff off your current drive to the new one. If you do that, you can ebay the old drive and make up for some of the money you spent on the new one :thumbsup:
     
  24. Apr 2, 2006
  25. GrandMaster

    GrandMaster Ueber Meister CAG

    Occupation:
    Mathematician by day, online gambler by night.
    Location:
    UK
    You will need a free network card on each computer and a crossover ethernet cable of suitable length. (It is very important that it has to be a crossover cable.). If your broadband modem is connected to the network card in your desktop, then you will need to explore whether you can connect it to a USB port instead or you will need to install another network card (5 for a cheap one). Connect the computers with the cable and connect to the internet, select "Network connections" from the control panel, click on "Set up a home or small office network" and follow the instructions. This will enable your two computers to share your internet connection, and you will also be able to copy files between your computers very easily.
     
    1 person likes this.
  26. Apr 2, 2006
  27. Simmo!

    Simmo! Moderator Staff Member

    Occupation:
    Web Dev.
    Location:
    England
    It seems to be that MG could/should consider having a centralised registry module that records sounds, games and common files so that when we download an MG casino, it can pick up common stuff from previous installations.

    It seems silly to download the new games once at say one place, then all over again at a different casino later. If there were central registry settings for each component, all that would be needed on a "repeat download" is branding stuff, core code such as RNG pick-ups, and games subscriptions on a casino-by-casino basis. Would make the whole process easier.

    I have to say that these days, i am getting to the stage where the prospect of downloading a new MG is simply too offputting. Good for those with my loyalty - but not good for those who want to cross-promote properties or tempt people over.
     
  28. Apr 2, 2006
  29. winbig

    winbig Keep winning this amount.

    Occupation:
    Bum
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    With the days of broadband, I don't see why they don't just include an option to download the whole CD that most send out on request that includes all games.
     
  30. Apr 3, 2006
  31. AussieDave

    AussieDave Dodgy whacko backstabber

    Occupation:
    Gaming SEO Specialist & Casino Webmaster
    Location:
    Australia
    A few used to do this with Thumper. But can't find this option anywhere these days. I agree on the full download though, having the ability to pull down 500Kb/sec myself I could have the full MG games suite in a bit over 4.5 - 5 min tops.

    I'm wondering if it may have something to do with the bandwidth though. Imagine like 100 punters at any given time sucking 454Meg down @ ADSL/Cable speed.

    Funny thing is once I have the software down and the games are loading in the background they certainly don't come down at lightning speed, so I'm thinking maybe they throttle the downlaod speed to even the over all bandwith out.
     
  32. Apr 3, 2006
  33. winbig

    winbig Keep winning this amount.

    Occupation:
    Bum
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    This actually has to do with downloading from overseas. I know Sweden > USA is the worst..you're talking maybe 10K/s max, if that :p

    I think alot of the smaller countries have 1 DSL line coming in for everyone to use LOL (But not Sweden....You can get 10 or 100mb to your HOUSE no problem at all.)
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2006
  34. Apr 3, 2006
  35. scrollock

    scrollock Senior Member

    Occupation:
    google
    Location:
    boro, uk
    this is something i have suggested before and i think MG do it to a certain degree already, in that the all the files for every game are downloaded and then the casino software accesses the particular games for that casino.

    for example on one of my recent unistallations (think its was a grand prive, i didnt need to wait for them to be rogued!) i noticed that the bellerock slot was packaged in with the other games. so it seems that the MG software does have one big common file that is packaged into the download along with each casinos particular code.
     
  36. Apr 3, 2006
  37. Mousey

    Mousey Ueber Meister Mouse CAG

    Occupation:
    Pencil Pusher
    Location:
    Up$hitCreek
    It's the same for me. DSL and it still takes ages for games to download in the background. Actually seems only a very little faster than dialup.

    And what's with these casinos that had to download everything all over again with this update? Sheesh...
     
  38. Apr 17, 2006
  39. Mousey

    Mousey Ueber Meister Mouse CAG

    Occupation:
    Pencil Pusher
    Location:
    Up$hitCreek
    More new games and a problem

    MG is releasing yet another 4 games toward the end of April.

    Problem: Some of my casinos (like Mummy's and Jackpots in a flash and a couple of the Fortune Lounge casinos) have not updated with the most recent games (Moonshine, All Aces, etc.). Mummy's show the new games listed on the 'homepage' when I launch the software, but the new games never appear in my Games list and never download.

    I've uninstalled, downloaded, then reinstalled Mummy's to a new partition. It's still downloading all the existing games but so far no sign of the new ones. Are there still casinos out there who haven't released their updates yet? Or do I have something corrupted in the registry? I thought I remembered reading somewhere here in the forum about a similar problem but I can't find it.

    (BTW, first contact with CS tells me to uninstall, download, etc... which I've already done.)

    Thanks for any suggestions. I'm going to work shortly will check back this evening. Have a great day everyone!
     

Share This Page