Improperly Aligned Content

Sedition

Dormant account
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Location
Not Absolute Poker
Hi,

I'm having a problem viewing the content of various rouged casinos, and I'm not sure whether it's just my browser or a positioning error in the code. I've found the problem in other sections too, but since it could be my browser (Firefox 2.0.0.6) I haven't documented any others.

Expired Image


Much too frustrating to try to read any content that looks like that.

Thanks.
 

Simmo!

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2004
Location
England
I used to have similar problems using Firefox on various websites and in the end moved back to IE. I really missed the tabbed browsing though :(
 

Sedition

Dormant account
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Location
Not Absolute Poker
I used to have similar problems using Firefox on various websites and in the end moved back to IE. I really missed the tabbed browsing though :(

Thanks for the reply man, I'll fire up IE to read them then :)

And yah, the tabbed browsing is like 99% of the reason why I love FF so much (and it seems to get hijacked far less than IE).. Sometimes I misplace my windows though, mass confusion :D

Btw, I forgot to mention that most of the content is aligned fine, just a few are a bit out of whack.
 

Trollet

Meister Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2005
Location
Sweden
Hi!
Try Avant Browser, it has alot of things and is great, if you ask me :)
But what do i know, more than that i used it :D

(((HUGS))) Trollet
 

SlotsWizard

Dormant account
Joined
May 11, 2006
Location
North of Antarctica
IE 7 has the tabs :)

Thanks lojo... before reading your post I was going to say, "Where have y'all been?" :thumbsup:

The one thing I really didn't like about IE7 when I first upgraded, is the inability to move the menu bar above the address bar... but I got used to it and ended up liking it.
 

lojo

Banned User - repetitive violations of <a href="ht
Joined
Jan 18, 2007
Location
USA
Internet Explorer 7 will run on Windows XP Service Pack 2 (SP2), Windows XP Professional x64 Edition, and Windows Server 2003 Service Pack 1 (SP1). Memory requirements listed
You do not have permission to view link Log in or register now.
are for Internet Explorer itself. Any machine with the recommended amount of memory for Windows (for example, 128 MB for Windows XP and 256 MB for Windows XP Professional x64) will meet the memory requirements for Internet Explorer 7.

Nope :)
 

lojo

Banned User - repetitive violations of <a href="ht
Joined
Jan 18, 2007
Location
USA
They prolly meant to say:
Windows XP Service Pack 2 (SP2) - 64 MB

Windows XP Professional x64 Edition - 128 MB
:)
 

heatherad

Dormant account
Joined
May 12, 2007
Location
Canada
128Mb for Windows XP:confused:

:lolup::lolup::lolup::lolup:

When I called a tech up last week to upgrade my system, he did indeed say that to run Windows XP would require 128MB. Even though I already have 128MB he suggested to add a few more just for safe measures. Guess he wants a few extra bucks!

This is from the microsoft website:Link Removed ( Old/Invalid)
At least 64 megabytes (MB) of RAM (128 MB is recommended)
 
Last edited:

vinylweatherman

You type well loads
Joined
Oct 14, 2004
Location
United Kingdom
When I called a tech up last week to upgrade my system, he did indeed say that to run Windows XP would require 128MB. Even though I already have 128MB he suggested to add a few more just for safe measures. Guess he wants a few extra bucks!

This is from the microsoft website:Link Removed ( Old/Invalid)
At least 64 megabytes (MB) of RAM (128 MB is recommended)

My pointis that you might be able to run Windows, but nothing else:D

My Windows 98 PC came with 64Mb, and it kept giving out of memory errors when I tried to use the printer. I would expect an XP system with only 128Mb would have trouble.
 

heatherad

Dormant account
Joined
May 12, 2007
Location
Canada
My Windows 98 PC came with 64Mb, and it kept giving out of memory errors when I tried to use the printer. I would expect an XP system with only 128Mb would have trouble.

Thats what I'm running now is Windows98 on 128Mb.
Kills me that I have to upgrade because its been just about problem free until it was no longer supported.
Im no computer whiz so I guess it won't hurt to add a few more Mb when I upgrade to XP :)
 

ternur

Destroying castles in the sky
webby
CAG
mm3
Joined
Nov 25, 2004
Location
Finland
I used to have similar problems using Firefox on various websites and in the end moved back to IE. I really missed the tabbed browsing though :(

It's a shame that people who build web sites are not willing to use proper, standard code, and are too lazy to test their work with at least IE & Gecko based browsers.

If I see a site which is not working properly with Firefox, I'll just stay away from the place in the future.

Just a thought.
 

lojo

Banned User - repetitive violations of <a href="ht
Joined
Jan 18, 2007
Location
USA
It's a shame that people who build web sites are not willing to use proper, standard code, and are too lazy to test their work with at least IE & Gecko based browsers.

If I see a site which is not working properly with Firefox, I'll just stay away from the place in the future.

Just a thought.

This is a vBulletin site, it's all 'preformatted' for the most part, not a build from the ground up site. It really is incumbant upon firefox to make their browser work.

If it were a handmade site, dreamweaver or the like could read the browser and deliver a page the browser can read. Firefox ain't all that.. I dumped it after a couple of days of headaches.
 

Casinomeister

Forum Cheermeister
Staff member
Joined
Jun 30, 1998
Location
Bierland
It's a shame that people who build web sites are not willing to use proper, standard code, and are too lazy to test their work with at least IE & Gecko based browsers.

If I see a site which is not working properly with Firefox, I'll just stay away from the place in the future.

Just a thought.
This site has been tested with all browsers and the code is good. I use Homesite. This Firefox error is the first that I've seen and I'm trying to get it to read the few messed up pages correctly. Believe me, I'm far from lazy.

This is a vBulletin site, it's all 'preformatted' for the most part, not a build from the ground up site. It really is incumbant upon firefox to make their browser work...
This is NOT a vBulletin site. The form encompasses about a half of Casinomeister. If you have not been perusing the other half -- well, you've been missing out on about half the info here.
 

ternur

Destroying castles in the sky
webby
CAG
mm3
Joined
Nov 25, 2004
Location
Finland
This is a vBulletin site, it's all 'preformatted' for the most part, not a build from the ground up site. It really is incumbant upon firefox to make their browser work.

If it were a handmade site, dreamweaver or the like could read the browser and deliver a page the browser can read. Firefox ain't all that.. I dumped it after a couple of days of headaches.

Yes, I was just making a general observation. There are always problems with forum templates and actually with 'web authoring' software products as well.

I personally build sites with a text editor and try to make them as standards compliant as possible. And then 'fix' them so IE will like them too :cool:. For the simple fact, that IE has poor support for standard html + css.
 

ternur

Destroying castles in the sky
webby
CAG
mm3
Joined
Nov 25, 2004
Location
Finland
This site has been tested with all browsers and the code is good. I use Homesite. This Firefox error is the first that I've seen and I'm trying to get it to read the few messed up pages correctly. Believe me, I'm far from lazy.

I was not making a comment about casinomeister, just a general observation about the wonderful world of web masters. Too many sites are simply coded for IE alone.

Also, Firefox is far from being perfect. I personally favour it over IE though.
 

ternur

Destroying castles in the sky
webby
CAG
mm3
Joined
Nov 25, 2004
Location
Finland
Believe me, I'm far from lazy.

I am. Lazy that is. The main reason I even posted something must have been the kind notice on top of the forum suggesting a post. Around 30 posts in 3 years as a member here qualifies as extremely lazy in my book.

:)
 

lojo

Banned User - repetitive violations of <a href="ht
Joined
Jan 18, 2007
Location
USA
This is NOT a vBulletin site. The form encompasses about a half of Casinomeister. If you have not been perusing the other half -- well, you've been missing out on about half the info here.

Thanks for the correction. I saw it used style sheets throughout (where I looked) and assumed they were templates... but looking closer I see javascripting, etc. that probably wouldn't be part of a prepackage. I haven't done web development for several years so I guess I was talking out my *

:D

Would a doctype declaration clear it up?
 
Top