1. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies .This website or its third-party tools use cookies, which are necessary to its functioning and required to achieve the purposes illustrated in the cookie policy.Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Follow Casinomeister on Twitter | Facebook | YouTube | Casinomeister.us US Residents Click here! |  Svenska Svenska | 
Dismiss Notice
REGISTER NOW!! Why? Because you can't do diddly squat without having been registered!

At the moment you have limited access to view most discussions: you can't make contact with thousands of fellow players, affiliates, casino reps, and all sorts of other riff-raff.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join Casinomeister here!

Improperly Aligned Content

Discussion in 'Forum Suggestions, Announcements, & Feedback' started by Sedition, Sep 23, 2007.

    Sep 23, 2007
  1. Sedition

    Sedition Dormant account

    Occupation:
    Poker
    Location:
    Not Absolute Poker
    Hi,

    I'm having a problem viewing the content of various rouged casinos, and I'm not sure whether it's just my browser or a positioning error in the code. I've found the problem in other sections too, but since it could be my browser (Firefox 2.0.0.6) I haven't documented any others.

    [​IMG]


    Much too frustrating to try to read any content that looks like that.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Sep 23, 2007
  3. Simmo!

    Simmo! Moderator Staff Member

    Occupation:
    Web Dev.
    Location:
    England
    I used to have similar problems using Firefox on various websites and in the end moved back to IE. I really missed the tabbed browsing though :(
     
    1 person likes this.
  4. Sep 23, 2007
  5. Sedition

    Sedition Dormant account

    Occupation:
    Poker
    Location:
    Not Absolute Poker
    Thanks for the reply man, I'll fire up IE to read them then :)

    And yah, the tabbed browsing is like 99% of the reason why I love FF so much (and it seems to get hijacked far less than IE).. Sometimes I misplace my windows though, mass confusion :D

    Btw, I forgot to mention that most of the content is aligned fine, just a few are a bit out of whack.
     
  6. Sep 23, 2007
  7. Trollet

    Trollet Meister Member

    Location:
    Sweden
    Hi!
    Try Avant Browser, it has alot of things and is great, if you ask me :)
    But what do i know, more than that i used it :D

    (((HUGS))) Trollet
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. Sep 23, 2007
  9. lojo

    lojo Banned User - repetitive violations of <a href="ht

    Occupation:
    Tradesman
    Location:
    USA
    IE 7 has the tabs :)
     
    1 person likes this.
  10. Sep 23, 2007
  11. SlotsWizard

    SlotsWizard Dormant account webmeister

    Occupation:
    I currently work for the Wizard of Odds
    Location:
    North of Antarctica
    Thanks lojo... before reading your post I was going to say, "Where have y'all been?" :thumbsup:

    The one thing I really didn't like about IE7 when I first upgraded, is the inability to move the menu bar above the address bar... but I got used to it and ended up liking it.
     
  12. Sep 23, 2007
  13. Simmo!

    Simmo! Moderator Staff Member

    Occupation:
    Web Dev.
    Location:
    England
    Isn't IE7 Vista Dependent?
     
  14. Sep 24, 2007
  15. lojo

    lojo Banned User - repetitive violations of <a href="ht

    Occupation:
    Tradesman
    Location:
    USA
    Nope :)
     
  16. Sep 24, 2007
  17. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    128Mb for Windows XP:confused:

    :lolup::lolup::lolup::lolup:
     
  18. Sep 24, 2007
  19. lojo

    lojo Banned User - repetitive violations of <a href="ht

    Occupation:
    Tradesman
    Location:
    USA
    They prolly meant to say:
    Windows XP Service Pack 2 (SP2) - 64 MB

    Windows XP Professional x64 Edition - 128 MB
    :)
     
  20. Sep 24, 2007
  21. heatherad

    heatherad Senior Member

    Occupation:
    counsellor
    Location:
    Canada
    When I called a tech up last week to upgrade my system, he did indeed say that to run Windows XP would require 128MB. Even though I already have 128MB he suggested to add a few more just for safe measures. Guess he wants a few extra bucks!

    This is from the microsoft website:You must register/login in order to see the link.
    At least 64 megabytes (MB) of RAM (128 MB is recommended)
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2007
  22. Sep 24, 2007
  23. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    My pointis that you might be able to run Windows, but nothing else:D

    My Windows 98 PC came with 64Mb, and it kept giving out of memory errors when I tried to use the printer. I would expect an XP system with only 128Mb would have trouble.
     
    1 person likes this.
  24. Sep 24, 2007
  25. heatherad

    heatherad Senior Member

    Occupation:
    counsellor
    Location:
    Canada
    Thats what I'm running now is Windows98 on 128Mb.
    Kills me that I have to upgrade because its been just about problem free until it was no longer supported.
    Im no computer whiz so I guess it won't hurt to add a few more Mb when I upgrade to XP :)
     
  26. Sep 24, 2007
  27. ternur

    ternur A damn fine cup of coffee CAG webby mm3

    Occupation:
    Lawyer
    Location:
    Finland
    It's a shame that people who build web sites are not willing to use proper, standard code, and are too lazy to test their work with at least IE & Gecko based browsers.

    If I see a site which is not working properly with Firefox, I'll just stay away from the place in the future.

    Just a thought.
     
  28. Sep 24, 2007
  29. lojo

    lojo Banned User - repetitive violations of <a href="ht

    Occupation:
    Tradesman
    Location:
    USA
    This is a vBulletin site, it's all 'preformatted' for the most part, not a build from the ground up site. It really is incumbant upon firefox to make their browser work.

    If it were a handmade site, dreamweaver or the like could read the browser and deliver a page the browser can read. Firefox ain't all that.. I dumped it after a couple of days of headaches.
     
  30. Sep 24, 2007
  31. Casinomeister

    Casinomeister Forum Cheermeister Staff Member

    Occupation:
    Homemaker
    Location:
    Bierland
    This site has been tested with all browsers and the code is good. I use Homesite. This Firefox error is the first that I've seen and I'm trying to get it to read the few messed up pages correctly. Believe me, I'm far from lazy.

    This is NOT a vBulletin site. The form encompasses about a half of Casinomeister. If you have not been perusing the other half -- well, you've been missing out on about half the info here.
     
    1 person likes this.
  32. Sep 24, 2007
  33. ternur

    ternur A damn fine cup of coffee CAG webby mm3

    Occupation:
    Lawyer
    Location:
    Finland
    Yes, I was just making a general observation. There are always problems with forum templates and actually with 'web authoring' software products as well.

    I personally build sites with a text editor and try to make them as standards compliant as possible. And then 'fix' them so IE will like them too :cool:. For the simple fact, that IE has poor support for standard html + css.
     
    1 person likes this.
  34. Sep 24, 2007
  35. ternur

    ternur A damn fine cup of coffee CAG webby mm3

    Occupation:
    Lawyer
    Location:
    Finland
    I was not making a comment about casinomeister, just a general observation about the wonderful world of web masters. Too many sites are simply coded for IE alone.

    Also, Firefox is far from being perfect. I personally favour it over IE though.
     
  36. Sep 24, 2007
  37. ternur

    ternur A damn fine cup of coffee CAG webby mm3

    Occupation:
    Lawyer
    Location:
    Finland
    I am. Lazy that is. The main reason I even posted something must have been the kind notice on top of the forum suggesting a post. Around 30 posts in 3 years as a member here qualifies as extremely lazy in my book.

    :)
     
    1 person likes this.
  38. Sep 24, 2007
  39. lojo

    lojo Banned User - repetitive violations of <a href="ht

    Occupation:
    Tradesman
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the correction. I saw it used style sheets throughout (where I looked) and assumed they were templates... but looking closer I see javascripting, etc. that probably wouldn't be part of a prepackage. I haven't done web development for several years so I guess I was talking out my *

    :D

    Would a doctype declaration clear it up?
     

Share This Page