"How To" Screenshots: fire away!

maxd

Complaints (PAB) Manager
Staff member
Joined
Jan 20, 2004
Location
Saltirelandia
Hi everyone,

I'm working on a new section for the FAQ wherein I want to detail the wonderful world of screenshots.
  • What applications should one use for screenshots, or not?
  • What caveats and gotchas should players know?
  • Any tricks and tips from the Casinomeister faithful?

So post your "takings screenshots" suggestions here, or questions if you've got 'em.

I expect this will evolve over time so I'll update the questions and answers as need be.

FWIW, I will incorporate Simmo's info posted here: How To Create A Screenshot.
 
Last edited:
Best Halloween Bonuses from Accredited Casinos

maxd

Complaints (PAB) Manager
Staff member
Joined
Jan 20, 2004
Location
Saltirelandia
Let me chip in with a few of my experiences:

  • some casino packages seem to hijack the PrintScreen button (under Windows) so you can't always count on that technique.
  • a good screen-grab application can be invaluable: I've used
    You do not have permission to view link Log in or register now.
    for years now and swear by it. Not free though, need to buy a license for it ($$).
  • if you're into freebie apps
    You do not have permission to view link Log in or register now.
    is good, though it is not as full-featured as something like SnagIt (nor as bloated!).
 

brianzz

Dormant account
Joined
Feb 2, 2006
Location
TN
I use snagit for vids and screen caps, the best part is you can set it up to screen cap and auto name and auto save so you don't even have to bother with going and pasting and saving and naming yourself. You don't necessarily have to buy it per say, just look around, it can be had. Very good program tho'.
 

WonderingSpirit

Casino critic
Joined
Nov 14, 2008
Location
Scandinavia
Windows vista has a built in snip tool. Thats the easiest way to take screenshots as you have full control of which areas you want to take screenshots of. There is also a marker to highlight part of the screenshot.
You do not have permission to view link Log in or register now.


You can choose rectangular screenshots or freeform like this
 
Last edited:

love2winalot

Dormant account
Joined
Feb 10, 2009
Location
Philippines/Visiting Las vegas
Hiya. Also, a lot of people do not know how to get their screen shot to appear on message boards. I use Photobucket. You go to their site, and the set up is free. They host all your pictures there for free.

At photobucket, you hit upload, and browz, to get the picture off your pc you want to upload. It takes about 5-10 seconds to do. Then, move your cusor over the picture, and boxes appear underneath it. Right click on, "link" and copy. Now come here, and click, "paste" and Weeeeeee.
 

BLUEWATER

Dormant account
Joined
Jan 20, 2006
Location
NoWhere
I already know how to do the screen shot. How do I do I post in the forum? Can you please give me advice? I have one ready to post the paint from my desktop.

Thanks
 

KasinoKing

WebMeister & Slotaholic..
webmeister
PABnonaccred
CAG
MM
Joined
Aug 25, 2004
Location
Bexhill on sea, England
I already know how to do the screen shot. How do I do I post in the forum? Can you please give me advice? I have one ready to post the paint from my desktop.

Thanks
When you post, look below the typing area for a button marked "Manage Attachments".
Click on that & then it is all pretty clear.
You need to make sure your picture is the right size first or strange things can happen!
I have a guide
You do not have permission to view link Log in or register now.
.

I hope it's a good one!
KK
 

maxd

Complaints (PAB) Manager
Staff member
Joined
Jan 20, 2004
Location
Saltirelandia
KK's thing sounds good. Here's a "once over lightly" guide through the posting process:

Start like you would for any other post, scroll down until you see the "Manage Attachments" button:

Attach Removed (Old not found)

This will open up the 'Manage Attachments" pop-up:

Attach Removed (Old not found)

Repeat steps 1: and 2: for each attachment you want to display (note that there are file dimension and size limits). When you're done click on "Close this window" (step 3).
 

maxd

Complaints (PAB) Manager
Staff member
Joined
Jan 20, 2004
Location
Saltirelandia

felicie

Dormant account
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Location
somewhere else
Here goes nothing.....[Felicie adds: just following the instructions so I could do a screen shot]
 
Last edited:

chayton

aka LooHoo
webmeister
PABnonaccred
CAG
Joined
Jun 5, 2006
Location
Edmonton Canada
Another thing worth mentioning - if you just hit Print Screen you print your entire screen, including your destop and other windows that may be active at the same time.

If you hold down the ALT key and then hit the Print Screen, it only captures the top 'active' window. So if you're playing at a casino and ALT+PrintScreen you get only the casino - if you're playing at a casino and get an error message window and use ALT+PrintScreen you get just the error message.

:thumbsup:
 

legenden1

Full Member
PABnonaccred
Joined
Nov 12, 2007
Location
Stockholm
I´m having trouble managing attachments due to lack of space (so it seems anyway). I have checked my profile and deleted old attachments from there and when I go into "Manage attachments" it says "0 of 97,7KB used". That´s too small to attach even one JPEG-file. I can see some of my old attachments lined up in this area but when I select them all there are no "Delete"-button. What can I do?
 

miket2112

Newbie member
Joined
Dec 31, 2005
Location
Tampa, Florida, United States
Same here

I am having the same problem. Can't free up space to post new screen shots. The old ones can't be deleted from the drag and drop menu in the attachment manager. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
 

Slotaholic

Full Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2011
Location
Sweden
I´m having trouble managing attachments due to lack of space (so it seems anyway). I have checked my profile and deleted old attachments from there and when I go into "Manage attachments" it says "0 of 97,7KB used". That´s too small to attach even one JPEG-file. I can see some of my old attachments lined up in this area but when I select them all there are no "Delete"-button. What can I do?


Well im having the same problem,cant find any delete button when i try to manage my old uploaded files.

Slotaholic
 

LaHutti

Sr. ÜberUnter Ass. Man.
PABaccred
PABnonaccred
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Location
East and West
It would really be a shame, if people start deleting screenshots from the screenie section. We'd get a long list of nothing in there. Better cough up some more space CM ;)
 

suomikala87

Senior Member
webmeister
PABnoaccred
Joined
Oct 1, 2011
Location
Northern Countries
It would really be a shame, if people start deleting screenshots from the screenie section. We'd get a long list of nothing in there. Better cough up some more space CM ;)

I think people are running into this problem only when they are still classified as Newbie Members as they have very limited space available. When you're classified as Full Member or up the problems with space are over as the limitations disappear :thumbsup:
 

LaHutti

Sr. ÜberUnter Ass. Man.
PABaccred
PABnonaccred
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Location
East and West
I was thinking it had to be something like that too :D


I think people are running into this problem only when they are still classified as Newbie Members as they have very limited space available. When you're classified as Full Member or up the problems with space are over as the limitations disappear :thumbsup:
 

randomiam

Meister Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2013
Location
australia
heres my bet

i use mwsnap it lets me take a pic or the whole screen just a even square or any area its freeware and simple to use
it you want to take a pic and not have to edit the casino name or user name out later it saves that time
also it has no bullshit bundled with it

www.mirekw.com/winfreeware/mwsnap.html
 

Wild Reels

Meister Member
webmeister
Joined
Feb 22, 2013
Location
United Kingdom
for anyone using win7 there's plenty of good stuff built in now, if you want a quick and easy tool of course you can use the print screen button, along with that there is also a small program called snipping tool that's able to screen shot a specific area which you can drag and drop out across the screen, saving you the trouble of editing the shot later on, useful for removing parts of the screen you dont want to share.

The program is normally in the Accessories folder,

you can read more about the various "snips" available here
You do not have permission to view link Log in or register now.
 
Top