How To Create A Screenshot

Simmo!

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2004
Location
England
1. When viewing the pretty symbols that just fell in, hold down the ALT key and press the Print Screen key.

2. Goto Start/Programs/Accessories and open the Paint application.

3. Hold down the CTRL key and press V to paste the shot into Paint.

4. Save the file as a JPG file, for example, "pretty.JPG". NB: Its important you do this now to prevent quality degradation on resize.

5. From the Image menu in Paint, select Sketch/Skew and set the Horizontal and Vertical settings to 70%.

6. Save the file again but using a different name, for example, "Pretty1.JPG".

Now you are ready to upload it...:D

Simmo!
 
Last edited:

johnsteed

Ueber Meister
Joined
Apr 24, 2005
Location
N/A
Thank you!!!

Awesome Simmo!!!:thumbsup:

I know it's been explained a million times here through various threads, but the explanations are routinely vague, AND I'm using a Korean/English Keyboard (with Windows in Korean).:confused: Thank you greatly for the step-by-step procedure. I look forward to posting some screenshots now. Now, if I could post more Emma Peel screenshots:notworthy , that would make the world a FAR greater place.;)

Johnsteed
 

Macgyver

Dormant account
PABnononaccred
Joined
Feb 3, 2004
Location
North Carolina
Modified for T&C

I would modify Simmo's excellcent explanation just slightly when it comes to keeping T&C when you make a withdrawal:

1. When you have the relevant T&C in your main window, make sure that main window is maximized (click the middle square in the top right corner of your browser), which means that the window is the only thing you see on your screen.

2. If you're using Windows, put your cursor over the clock on the toolbar. The present date should appear near the clock.

3.Simply hit the PrtScn key (you don't have to hold the Alt key down for this).

4.Now, just follow Simmo's steps 2-6! :D

You now have a copy of the casino's T&C (along with the date clearly visible!) to send to them if/when they say that you violated them.

Depending on the length of the T&C, you may have to scroll down and repeat Steps 1-4 until you have all the T&C. Your choice! :thumbsup:
 

Simmo!

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2004
Location
England
Macgyver said:
I would modify Simmo's excellcent explanation just slightly when it comes to keeping T&C when you make a withdrawal:

1. When you have the relevant T&C in your main window, make sure that main window is maximized (click the middle square in the top right corner of your browser), which means that the window is the only thing you see on your screen.

2. If you're using Windows, put your cursor over the clock on the toolbar. The present date should appear near the clock.

3.Simply hit the PrtScn key (you don't have to hold the Alt key down for this).

4.Now, just follow Simmo's steps 2-6! :D

You now have a copy of the casino's T&C (along with the date clearly visible!) to send to them if/when they say that you violated them.

Depending on the length of the T&C, you may have to scroll down and repeat Steps 1-4 until you have all the T&C. Your choice! :thumbsup:

Weird you should mention this, i was thinking about this last night. I found an ActiveX control that takes in a direct paste from the ALT+Print Screen function and i was thinking it would be cool to have a little app that allowed users to capture T&C's :)
 

Macgyver

Dormant account
PABnononaccred
Joined
Feb 3, 2004
Location
North Carolina
Simmo! said:
Weird you should mention this, i was thinking about this last night. I found an ActiveX control that takes in a direct paste from the ALT+Print Screen function and i was thinking it would be cool to have a little app that allowed users to capture T&C's :)

The biggest thing for me was having some way to prove what day you found those T&C. With the date there in the window, it seemed the simplest way to prove when you printed the screen. :thumbsup:
 

tim5ny

Non-Gambler
Joined
Jun 8, 2003
Simmo! said:
1. When viewing the pretty symbols that just fell in, hold down the ALT key and press the Print Screen key.

2. Goto Start/Programs/Accessories and open the Paint application.

3. Hold down the CTRL key and press V to paste the shot into Paint.

4. Save the file as a JPG file, for example, "pretty.JPG". NB: Its important you do this now to prevent quality degradation on resize.

5. From the Image menu in Paint, select Sketch/Skew and set the Horizontal and Vertical settings to 75%.

6. Save the file again but using a different name, for example, "Pretty1.JPG".

Now you are ready to upload it...:D

Simmo!

Simmo... when I do this and skew it to 75% both dimensions, it's still too large to upload here. My desktop res. is 1024X768, my color is set the 32bit and the highest quality and I use the casino in fullscreen mode. Could this be why mine are too large still????
 

KasinoKing

WebMeister & Slotaholic..
webmeister
PABnonaccred
CAG
MM
Joined
Aug 25, 2004
Location
Bexhill on sea, England
Tim,
Your screen res will affect the screenshot size.
After point 5. click on 'Image' then 'Attributes' then check your screenie is less than 640 pixels wide & 480 high and 'size on disk' is under 100,000 bytes.

If it's bigger than this, then go 'edit', 'undo', & reduce it again to 70% or 65% instead until it's small enough! :thumbsup:
 

Simmo!

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2004
Location
England
Yeah sorry it should have read 70%, not 75% Tim :) Edited the initial post.

Simmo!
 

Zacaroni

Dormant account
Joined
Oct 15, 2004
Location
Chattanooga, TN
Sorry Simmo, I already posted my version in another thread behind you without seeing this first.

The only beneficial shortcut I use is resizing. I like to keep the original size on my computer and this saves a step.

Many hosting sites will host for a limited time.

www.imageshack.us hosts forever and they have a 2 click 640 X 480 resize feature. Saves you about 30 nerd seconds and a fingernail, lol.

phpbb even has a MOD directly using ImageShack within the forum if the webmaster so desires.
 

max1mike

Dormant account
Joined
Oct 5, 2005
Location
USA
here ya go mr. steed.


ep.jpg
 

totty

Dormant account
Joined
May 18, 2006
Location
U.K.
Hi,

I tried mastering 'screenshots' a few weeks ago and failed miserably lol

I only joined the forum yesterday and read through this thread while I was waiting for my application to be accepted.

Within 5 minutes I had screenshots sorted and I went to bed a very happy bunny :)

So, I want to say thank you for the very clear instructions that were soooo easy to follow.
 

PackerBacker

America the Beautiful
Joined
Nov 20, 2005
Location
TX
I did all this with no problem, but can't get it uploaded into the thread. I tried insert image, but it asks for a url.
 

MrVan

Dormant account
Joined
May 4, 2006
Location
wisconsin
You have to add the attachment through the little drag down box with the paperclip on it (next to the smiley face and font stuff)
 

Macgyver

Dormant account
PABnononaccred
Joined
Feb 3, 2004
Location
North Carolina
Packerbacker,

I even took a screenshot to show you where it is ... you first click the "Reply" button to reply to the thread. Then, you click the "Manage Attachments" button and it will allow you to browse your hard drive for the image you want. :D
 

PackerBacker

America the Beautiful
Joined
Nov 20, 2005
Location
TX
when I preview the post, it doesn't show the pic, only the name and size. Is this correct?
 

venetian

Full Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2003
Location
Oklahoma
PackerBacker I use Irfanview it is the easiest thing to use for screenshots. I am a computer cripple and I found it easy enough. It is shareware so its free! Just hit your print screen key open the program through your icon on your desktop, hit edit, paste. Go back up to image, resize to 640 x 480 and then go to file and save as. Make sure you save it as a jpeg file. It sounds complicated but it is really easy. Good luck!
 

retlaw

Meister Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2005
Location
Earth
I tried to post a screenshot following Simmo's procedure but it doesn't work.

My original screenshot is 1.5Mb and if decrease it in size,until I am below the maximum admitted kB, it is too little to see the image.

Someone knows a solution?
 

lojo

Banned User - repetitive violations of <a href="ht
Joined
Jan 18, 2007
Location
USA
Hi retlaw,

Try
You do not have permission to view link Log in or register now.


  • alt/printscreen
  • open irfanview
  • Ctrl V to paste it in
  • (or if you've already saved it as a file -open, file name)
  • then 'image' resample/resize
  • choose 640x480pixels
  • file -save as filename.jpg
  • a flyout screen will appear, adjust the filesize to about 65 for clarity and
    small size, about 80k or less if you are on dial-up

When you go to post it there should be a paperclip icon next to the smiley face on your post editor, it is the 'manage attachments' button.
When there, browse to your file and click upload, wait for it to appear on the list and close window.

Good luck:thumbsup:
 

catrina m

Dormant account
PABaccred
Joined
Feb 8, 2007
Location
US of A
Gadwin print screen makes lovely ones for me and its a free download.

Very easy to use. Just search for it ( I hate the term google it, like its the only search engine out there)

[ Max says: get it here
You do not have permission to view link Log in or register now.
]

My screenshots are all made with Gadwin. Small FREE download, no adware.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

catrina m

Dormant account
PABaccred
Joined
Feb 8, 2007
Location
US of A
I tried to post a screenshot following Simmo's procedure but it doesn't work.

My original screenshot is 1.5Mb and if decrease it in size,until I am below the maximum admitted kB, it is too little to see the image.

Someone knows a solution?

Make sure to save it as .jpeg or .jpg, not .bmp
 

GaryTheScubaGuy

RIP Gary
webmeister
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Location
Malta
Creating a Screen Capture

Not sure how I came across this thread but I read through it and noticed the easiest way to accomplish this wasn't posted.

Anything beyond Windows Vista has a new accessory for this;

Click Start (Windows icon in lower left desktop) > Select Programs > Select Accessories > Select Snipping Tool

Drag the cross over the image, right click and save

You can either upload the image to the forum or put it on Flickr and once upladed, right click and copy the properties (location) information, then use the little picture icon in the bar you see here above to tell it where to pull the picture from.

Easy Peasy!

Gary
 
Last edited:
Top